[MOD] Sapphire RX 480 Nitro+ OC to Sapphire RX 580 Pulse - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[MOD] Sapphire RX 480 Nitro+ OC to Sapphire RX 580 Pulse

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 56 (permalink) Old 05-17-2017, 02:42 PM - Thread Starter
AMD BIOS Alchemist
 
Vento041's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 404
Rep: 52 (Unique: 32)
Quote:
Originally Posted by aGeoM View Post

Hi

Thanks for providing a very comprehensive MOD with a lot of valuable information. Been follow, and learning.
However I got a question when we replace "VRAM_Info" from a BIOS to another the vendor ID doesn't come with it? I'm asking because you Hexedit it..
Grazie

You got these info from a "section" called: "What was done until version 0.03 came out (Click to show)". All those changes was reverted with v 0.03.


Btw, Yep, vendor ID should come with "VRAM_Info" table.

Zephyr R.B.R.T. (Red BIOS Rebellion Team)
(*) ATOMTableResize (*) R_Timings - Encode/Decode RX/R9 Memory Straps
(*) Sapphire RX 480 Nitro+ OC - Better Custom BIOS (*) SimpleBiosDiff
(*) Extremely short guide on EDC errors (*) jYABE - Yet Another Bios Editor (early stage of development)
Bought a XFX RX 590 Fatboy! Looking for IR 35217 datasheet! Selling my Hybrid RX 480 Nitro+ OC 8GB.


Vento041 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 56 (permalink) Old 05-17-2017, 03:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
aGeoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 91
Rep: 8 (Unique: 5)
Sorry, I got confused.

It's easier just to use "VRAM_Info" with table adjustment if needed.

I'm trying to use an RX580 BIOS as "host" for memory timing modification on a HD6950 by inserting the VRAM_Info in there, mod with Polaris Editor and port back to 6950 bios, mod done all went ok, just need to flash BIOS as soon as possible to see if it was successful or not.

One thing about GOP, yesterday I used GOPUpdater on the HD6950 witch had no GOP and it worked, booted in Protected UEFI mode, so I though if I disable the GOP on my "RX580" (00 to 80) and replace all GOP with "FF" it will work, but no it didn't.
I have GOP working got it from
this BIOS, modded by gupsterg but it is an older one.

skull.gif [Official]AMD RX 480/ 470/ 460 Owners Club skull.gif
aGeoM is offline  
post #13 of 56 (permalink) Old 05-17-2017, 04:53 PM
hex junkie
 
hellm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 801
Rep: 129 (Unique: 77)
O
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vento041 View Post

From Hawaii Bios Editing ( 290 / 290X / 295X2 / 390 / 390X ) (yes, it works also with Polaris bios)
Btw... from "how to find the vram_info table?" I can understand that you are not so "used" to this kind of things, so be careful to not screw up your card (which card do you have?)! Also, if you are modding things like "tables lenght" you need to be extra careful!

thx, i copied the vram_info, pasted it, used lard's table calc and fixed checksum. someone should try this now.. biggrin.gif

thx again thumb.gif

Comandante R.B.R.T. (Red BIOS Rebellion Team)
Polaris BIOS Mod | Vega PowerPlay Mod | MorePowerTool
hellm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 56 (permalink) Old 05-18-2017, 07:05 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
EMYHC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 103
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Hi @Vento041 this is my Sapphire rx 580 modded bios for rx 480,can you find the registry for IMC voltage please?thank you very much! Rx580pulsetorx480.zip 110k .zip file
Attached Files
File Type: zip Rx580pulsetorx480.zip (110.1 KB, 17 views)
EMYHC is offline  
post #15 of 56 (permalink) Old 05-18-2017, 07:28 AM - Thread Starter
AMD BIOS Alchemist
 
Vento041's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 404
Rep: 52 (Unique: 32)
Quote:
Originally Posted by EMYHC View Post

Hi @vento041 this is my Sapphire rx 580 modded bios for rx 480,can you find the registry for IMC voltage please?thank you very much! Rx580pulsetorx480.zip 110k .zip file

You are lucky it's should be at same offset as my bios biggrin.gif 9c8b - 9c8c

You have a badflash backup solution right? Which card do u have?

I'll probably make a guide on how to find it, usually is at offset 1D from the beginning of PowerPlay table, but it can be somewhere else, still have to see a bios with a different IMC voltage location, but the ATOM bios structure allows it, so it's possible.

Zephyr R.B.R.T. (Red BIOS Rebellion Team)
(*) ATOMTableResize (*) R_Timings - Encode/Decode RX/R9 Memory Straps
(*) Sapphire RX 480 Nitro+ OC - Better Custom BIOS (*) SimpleBiosDiff
(*) Extremely short guide on EDC errors (*) jYABE - Yet Another Bios Editor (early stage of development)
Bought a XFX RX 590 Fatboy! Looking for IR 35217 datasheet! Selling my Hybrid RX 480 Nitro+ OC 8GB.


Vento041 is offline  
post #16 of 56 (permalink) Old 05-18-2017, 08:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
EMYHC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 103
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vento041 View Post

You are lucky it's should be at same offset as my bios biggrin.gif 9c8b - 9c8c

You have a badflash backup solution right? Which card do u have?

I'll probably make a guide on how to find it, usually is at offset 1D from the beginning of PowerPlay table, but it can be somewhere else, still have to see a bios with a different IMC voltage location, but the ATOM bios structure allows it, so it's possible.

No badflash,i want raise my IMC voltage to 1150 for test performance,my VRM are really cool with Grizzly Minus Pad,so i wanna try this mod...my card is a Sapphire rx 480 nitro+ 8Gb rolleyes.gif
EMYHC is offline  
post #17 of 56 (permalink) Old 05-18-2017, 03:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mynm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 623
Rep: 54 (Unique: 20)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vento041 View Post

You are lucky it's should be at same offset as my bios biggrin.gif 9c8b - 9c8c

You have a badflash backup solution right? Which card do u have?

I'll probably make a guide on how to find it, usually is at offset 1D from the beginning of PowerPlay table, but it can be somewhere else, still have to see a bios with a different IMC voltage location, but the ATOM bios structure allows it, so it's possible.

I think that what you think is the IMC is only limiting the minimun core voltage for the memory clocks like I said here: https://www.overclock.net/t/1621800/would-appreciate-help-in-finding-editing-the-voltage-offset-in-the-rx480-bios/50#post_26001261 .

In EMYHC's bios it's like this: Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)


Edited: I have included in the image the table that I think it's pointing to same of the VDDC voltages is named like MM dependency table here: https://github.com/torvalds/linux/blob/master/drivers/gpu/drm/amd/powerplay/hwmgr/pptable_v1_0.h

I don't know what it's doing, but changing the pointed voltages in VDDC table could be changing the pointed voltages for that table, so that's why I think that it's better to only change the pointers.
mynm is offline  
post #18 of 56 (permalink) Old 05-21-2017, 05:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
xAD3r1ty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 35
Rep: 0
@Vento041

Hello, I'm not sure if this is the right place to talk about this , I've been having curiosity about the 580 bios for some time now, not for further overclocks, but for the power savings, I also have an RX 480 Nitro+ 8GB.

I've been running mine at 1300mhz / 1000mv and 2000mhz / 950mv Stable for 2 months now, And i wanted to try the 580 bios for the idle power savings and "other" optimizations, I tried to flash the 580 Nitro limited edition as some people told me, The first thing i noticed was how my idle power comsumption seemed to be "bugged" / stuck at 28w, Not sure if this is a misread or really 28w, When i play it fixes itself and i can see actual power draw, but what surprised me was how less power comsumption i was getting and cooler temperatures while in load.

For instance, playing DOOM uncapped would give me 75W power draw and cooler temps while on 480 bios i'd get around 95-100w and worse temps.

How can i know how accurate is this? or are the readings from the 580 bios lying ?

I used the same Watt Tool profile from my 480 to the 580 with one difference, I put -50% power limit in the 580 bios and i was still able to maintain the 1300mhz clock, can't go -60% because Watt Tool doesn't seem to support it.

Would flashing this modified bios have a fully functional 580 bios with fixed readings?
xAD3r1ty is offline  
post #19 of 56 (permalink) Old 05-21-2017, 06:13 AM - Thread Starter
AMD BIOS Alchemist
 
Vento041's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 404
Rep: 52 (Unique: 32)
@xAD3r1ty

The stock 580 Nitro limited edition should not be used with an RX 480 Nitro+ OC since it use a completely different voltage regulator. I did the same mistake with the 0.02 version of this bios (even if for some reason everything worked fine anyway, god bless IR3567B auto-adjustment mechanisms). I changed most of the mods done work from the v0.03 version. If you want you can try even the v0.03.1 I did it this morning (Italy time) and didn't had time to test it but it should work!

Zephyr R.B.R.T. (Red BIOS Rebellion Team)
(*) ATOMTableResize (*) R_Timings - Encode/Decode RX/R9 Memory Straps
(*) Sapphire RX 480 Nitro+ OC - Better Custom BIOS (*) SimpleBiosDiff
(*) Extremely short guide on EDC errors (*) jYABE - Yet Another Bios Editor (early stage of development)
Bought a XFX RX 590 Fatboy! Looking for IR 35217 datasheet! Selling my Hybrid RX 480 Nitro+ OC 8GB.


Vento041 is offline  
post #20 of 56 (permalink) Old 05-21-2017, 12:53 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
xAD3r1ty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 35
Rep: 0
Okay thanks! But doesn't flashing modified bios make me unable to install amd drivers? or i need to do something first? Also, i see that you increased the power limit in your modified bios, won't this increase the power draw of my card?
xAD3r1ty is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off