[WIP]RX460 to RX560 conversion pack (Asus, Gigabyte, MSI, Powercolor, Sapphire and XFX) - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[WIP]RX460 to RX560 conversion pack (Asus, Gigabyte, MSI, Powercolor, Sapphire and XFX)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 261 (permalink) Old 06-29-2017, 02:41 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
tonibm19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 10
Rep: 1
This is a pack that contains the needed BIOSes for the conversion of several cards. If you try it, please make sure you have the right ram size and type.

Download(MEGA)

Tested
-Sapphire RX460 Nitro+ to Sapphire RX560 Pulse (Micron memory) --> Sapphire/4G Micron folder --> CONFIRMED WORKING (See first comment here)
-Gigabyte rx460 4gb to rx560 has worked in one pc. See the comments below (first page).
-Some people have reported Powercolor 2gb and msi 2gb to work with Sapphire RX560 pulse 2gb bios (Sapphire/2G Hynix folder).

Untested, may work, we need to try
-Sapphire RX460 4gb single fan to Sapphire RX460 Pulse 4gb --> Sapphire/4G Micron folder
-Sapphire RX460 2gb (dual or single fan) to Sapphire RX460 Pulse 2gb --> Sapphire/2G Hynix folder
-Gigabyte RX460 (Windforce) OC 4gb/2gb to Gigabyte RX560 Gaming OC 4gb/2gb --> Gigabyte/2G Elpida or 4G Micron/Hynix folder
-MSI RX460 4gb to MSI RX560 Aero ITX 4gb --> MSI/4G Micron or Hynix folder

Tutorial (remember you must run all the bats in admin mode)
1. Extract the desired folder (example: Sapphire/2G Hynix) from the zip, depending on your RX460 model and memory size/type.
2. Run backup bios.bat --> VERY IMPORTANT STEP, it's very useful to backup your stock BIOS, in case something goes wrong.
3. Are you ready? Take a deep breath and run flash RX560 bios.bat --> MAKE SURE YOU'RE IN THE RIGHT FOLDER for your GPU.
4. Restart and lets hope it works.
5. Report your experience here so we can update the tested liist with your results. Remember to write your RX460 model and folder used for the conversion.

If something goes wrong
Don't worry, your card is not broken yet, we can fix this. 2 things can happen:
-Artifacts, frequent reboots, instability, etc THE CARD WORKS, BUT BAD --> go to the folder in which you ran backup bios.bat and run restore backup.bat as an admin.
-No output, THE CARD DOESN'T SEEM TO WORK --> Use your iGPU or another GPU in a second PCIE slot and flash your RX460 back to it's stock bios (which should be in the folder where you ran backup bios.bat)

Explanation of files
-RX560.rom --> The needed RX560 bios for the specified AIB and RAM size/model, is different in every folder and you can see it's information by reading the next file I explain.
-BIOS info.txt --> Provides information about the RX560 BIOS that is found in that folder with a TechPowerUp database link.
-backup bios.bat --> Will backup your current BIOS to a RX460.backup file.
-RX460.backup --> In case you have used backup bios.bat, this file is your salvation in case something goes wrong.
-restore backup.bat --> Restores your GPU to it's stock BIOS (if you ran backup bios.bat)
-flash RX560 bios.bat --> Does the magic and tries to upgrade you for free to an RX560.
-AtiFlash exe and some .sys --> Files needed for this to work.
tonibm19 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 261 (permalink) Old 06-29-2017, 11:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Madpacket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 98
Rep: 7
I have a 4GB Gigabyte 460 (no 6 pin PCIe) that's already had the CU's unlocked. I noticed the new Gigabyte 560 has a 6 pin power adapter so I'm a little apprehensive to flash it to a 560 BIOS. However, I probably will anyway as my curiousity can't be ignored smile.gif Will update if successful.
Madpacket is offline  
post #3 of 261 (permalink) Old 06-29-2017, 01:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Pimpmuckl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 33
Rep: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madpacket View Post

I have a 4GB Gigabyte 460 (no 6 pin PCIe) that's already had the CU's unlocked. I noticed the new Gigabyte 560 has a 6 pin power adapter so I'm a little apprehensive to flash it to a 560 BIOS. However, I probably will anyway as my curiosity can't be ignored smile.gif Will update if successful.

I'm in the same boat, was curious about that as well. But, since I have a 2nd GPU ready in case something goes wrong, I might as well take the plunge. Will report back hopefully later!

Edit: Black screen after loading into Windows. Boot works, but nothing thereafter.

Edit2: So it worked on one PC, even with drivers installed, but not on the other. The second I searched for drivers via WU or gotten the ones from AMD it would simply blackscreen. Pretty weird.

PC1 is a 5820k and MSI X99 SLI, PC2 is Ryzen 1700 and C6H.

Card was WindForce with 4gb Micron.

Ryzen 1700 1.35v 3.9GHz, Corsair 2x16GB 3000MHz 14-15-14-15 Dual Rank Hynix AFR die, C6H 6401
Pimpmuckl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 261 (permalink) Old 06-29-2017, 03:47 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Madpacket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 98
Rep: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pimpmuckl View Post

I'm in the same boat, was curious about that as well. But, since I have a 2nd GPU ready in case something goes wrong, I might as well take the plunge. Will report back hopefully later!

Edit: Black screen after loading into Windows. Boot works, but nothing thereafter.

Thanks for trying. I assume you tried DDU'ing your existing drivers and re-installing the latest?

I won't get a chance to test this out until the weekend.

What brand of memory does your 460 have?
Madpacket is offline  
post #5 of 261 (permalink) Old 06-30-2017, 06:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
hacker9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
i flashed msi rx 460 2gb to sapphire 560 2gb with 6 pin connector, but the 460 still working good , need to increase power limit to reach 1300mhz though
hacker9001 is offline  
post #6 of 261 (permalink) Old 07-02-2017, 01:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
hacker9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
update: i had to undervolt and decreased the clock of msi rx 460 to 1250 mhz, on 1300mhz with 50%+ power limit the card draws over 90W without the power connector
hacker9001 is offline  
post #7 of 261 (permalink) Old 07-02-2017, 09:57 AM
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 9,935
Rep: 803
AlphaC is offline  
post #8 of 261 (permalink) Old 07-02-2017, 08:38 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
hacker9001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
Quote:

flash to 560 helps the oc, i can reach 1300 mhz no problem , unlocked is unable though
hacker9001 is offline  
post #9 of 261 (permalink) Old 07-03-2017, 05:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 88
Rep: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by hacker9001 View Post

flash to 560 helps the oc, i can reach 1300 mhz no problem , unlocked is unable though

Hi

I'm waiting for an RX460 should be here tomorrow, and I was planing to update to RX560 BIOS hoping for unlocked stream processors.

What I like to now is before the update if your cards unlocks with modded RX460 BIOS?

Thanks

skull.gif [Official]AMD RX 480/ 470/ 460 Owners Club skull.gif
aGeoM is offline  
post #10 of 261 (permalink) Old 07-03-2017, 06:11 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
tonibm19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 10
Rep: 1
UPDATE:
-Added new BIOSes (Asus, Powercolor and XFX)
-Updated Tested
tonibm19 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off