Preliminary view of AMD VEGA Bios - Page 132 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Preliminary view of AMD VEGA Bios

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1311 of 1400 (permalink) Old 02-25-2019, 02:58 PM
sudo apt install sl
 
WannaBeOCer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5,762
Rep: 179 (Unique: 123)
Quote: Originally Posted by majestynl View Post
yeah i got lucky with it. Its not the best around but definitely not the worst

That's [email protected] yours cant OC that well.. Probably you already did, but just asking it:
Did you flash the latest vBios? and what are the tJunction peaks at 1800mhz and 1050mv
Yeah I flashed the v106 bios, tJunction peaks around 88c at 1050mV.

Silent
(20 items)
CPU
Core i9 9900K... CoffeeTime! @ 5.1Ghz w/ 1.36v
Motherboard
Maximus VIII Formula
GPU
Radeon VII @ 2100Mhz/1250Mhz w/ 1218mV
RAM
TeamGroup Xtreem 32GB 3200Mhz CL15
Hard Drive
HP EX950 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1200w P2
Cooling
EK Supremacy Full Copper Clean
Cooling
XSPC D5 Photon v2
Cooling
Black Ice Gen 2 GTX360 x2
Cooling
EK-Vector Radeon VII - Copper + Plexi
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Tempered Glass Edition
Operating System
Clear Linux
Monitor
Acer XF270HUA
Keyboard
Cherry MX Board 6.0
Mouse
Logitech G600
Mouse
Alugraphics GamerArt
Audio
Definitive Technology Incline
Audio
SMSL M8A
▲ hide details ▲
WannaBeOCer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1312 of 1400 (permalink) Old 02-25-2019, 03:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
majestynl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 1,367
Rep: 98 (Unique: 48)
Quote: Originally Posted by WannaBeOCer View Post
Yeah I flashed the v106 bios, tJunction peaks around 88c at 1050mV.
hmm 88c is oke. And are you increasing the power limit? Its really strange you cant OC above stock Boost clocks.
Have you tried to log data with HwInfo while trying to OC?

majestynl is offline  
post #1313 of 1400 (permalink) Old 03-05-2019, 07:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
jaggafeen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 13
Rep: 0
when i run battlefield 5 ultra at 5120x2160 using stock settings on wattman (power slider all the way down -20) i get 104 degrees junction temperature is this normal or is my card toasty?
jaggafeen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1314 of 1400 (permalink) Old 03-06-2019, 12:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
CarbonFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 82
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Back at it @hellm with 19.3.1

Did some quick testing at lunch. If this is fixing my stability issues, we can probably push further again
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture2.PNG
Views:	59
Size:	147.6 KB
ID:	257762  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	60
Size:	143.9 KB
ID:	257764  


Last edited by CarbonFire; 03-06-2019 at 09:09 PM.
CarbonFire is offline  
post #1315 of 1400 (permalink) Old 03-09-2019, 05:35 AM
hex junkie
 
hellm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 815
Rep: 135 (Unique: 78)
Quote: Originally Posted by CarbonFire View Post
Back at it @hellm with 19.3.1

Did some quick testing at lunch. If this is fixing my stability issues, we can probably push further again
missed 35k graphics score by 3 points! i don't think anyone came near this score so far
https://www.3dmark.com/search#/?mode...VII&gpuCount=1
https://hwbot.org/benchmark/3dmark_-...=0#interval=20

Comandante R.B.R.T. (Red BIOS Rebellion Team)
Polaris BIOS Mod | Vega PowerPlay Mod | MorePowerTool
hellm is offline  
post #1316 of 1400 (permalink) Old 03-09-2019, 08:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
CarbonFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 82
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by hellm View Post
missed 35k graphics score by 3 points! i don't think anyone came near this score so far
https://www.3dmark.com/search#/?mode...VII&gpuCount=1
https://hwbot.org/benchmark/3dmark_-...=0#interval=20


I got a run over 35K, but without the CPU turned up:
https://www.3dmark.com/fs/18619679

Working on Superposition:
https://benchmark.unigine.com/result...574ccb9abee3cf

And TimeSpy:
https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6525910

Is there any way to improve the memory? Voltage, timings, or more than 1 target frequency?
CarbonFire is offline  
post #1317 of 1400 (permalink) Old 03-09-2019, 12:10 PM
hex junkie
 
hellm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 815
Rep: 135 (Unique: 78)
There is. I am not the person to talk to for this, though. Buildzoid made a vid about mem timings, i believe.

oh, wait, not system memory, vmem! right.. ugh, i think there might be. Since the driver can override it, there should be a way. I didn't heard about any successful attempts to make use of this so far. So, whatever wattman is offering.. but we can't change timings with the PowerPlay mod.

Comandante R.B.R.T. (Red BIOS Rebellion Team)
Polaris BIOS Mod | Vega PowerPlay Mod | MorePowerTool

Last edited by hellm; 03-09-2019 at 12:15 PM.
hellm is offline  
post #1318 of 1400 (permalink) Old 03-19-2019, 02:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
lmolenaar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by hellm View Post
It is definitely locked. All the byte-code in the BIOS is still there, and this code cleary changed with non-UEFI and UEFI v105 BIOS.

Also, there has to be some lock to prevent sold out VII for cheap Radeon Instinct workstation cards.

Whatever, we still have PowerPlay, and the newest version has more to offer than on Vega64/56.
...

And here are some tables i made:
Spoiler!
Could somebody please explain how I as n00b should approach these Powerplay tables? Are these already increasing clock speeds/mV values or do they only enable (remove software limits) them so I can manually try to find out what my card is capable of by baby step increases in wattman?
lmolenaar is offline  
post #1319 of 1400 (permalink) Old 03-20-2019, 01:20 PM
hex junkie
 
hellm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 815
Rep: 135 (Unique: 78)
try page 1 and 26.
or translate this site from german to your favorite language. however, i believe his style of writing is not really compatible..
https://www.tomshw.de/2019/02/27/rtg...ofis-igorslab/

Comandante R.B.R.T. (Red BIOS Rebellion Team)
Polaris BIOS Mod | Vega PowerPlay Mod | MorePowerTool
hellm is offline  
post #1320 of 1400 (permalink) Old 03-23-2019, 09:56 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
KL0nLutiy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
KL0nLutiy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off