Preliminary view of AMD VEGA Bios - Page 26 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Preliminary view of AMD VEGA Bios

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #251 of 1394 (permalink) Old 08-20-2017, 07:20 PM
hex junkie
 
hellm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 814
Rep: 135 (Unique: 78)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blameless View Post

That's pretty odd...

Why would disabling voltage islands, which is a power saving feature, enable overvoltage?

maybe it didn't and overvoltage is renabled by AMD? OMG.. still, Polaris SoftPowerPlay overvoltage is working.. i check if it was me or not biggrin.gif

thx for telling me thumb.gif

update:
and it wasn't me.. i works again. ok, no need for that key then, but it wasn't all bull....

you have to hit manual voltage on wattman, and apply. afterwards, you can mod the VDDCLookup table, and on the next reboot, this will be the maximum voltage. But not before manual voltage is triggered.

again, i don't have a Vega.. someone needs to test this

update2:
still this is for the new 17.7.2 driver

..and AMD might have thrown us some candy.

as soon as manual setting is triggered in wattman, SoftPowerPlay completely overrides it all. This has the side effect, that clockrates can not be changed! Only by editing the SoftPowerPlay registry binary.

Means, if you want to run a high voltage with a high clockrate, you have to apply the voltage first, reboot, hit manual voltage, and then edit the core clock in the SoftPowerPlay table. but it works. smile.gif

Comandante R.B.R.T. (Red BIOS Rebellion Team)
Polaris BIOS Mod | Vega PowerPlay Mod | MorePowerTool
hellm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #252 of 1394 (permalink) Old 08-21-2017, 12:05 AM
Iconoclast
 
Blameless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 30,086
Rep: 3135 (Unique: 1869)
Thanks for the retest and clarification, hellm.

Hopefully I'll be getting my hands on a Vega 56 soon. When I do I'll be happy to test any registry modifications in question. Ideally I'd like to be able to control power limits, VID per DPM, clocks, and HBM voltage. I've been doing this on my Hawaii and Fiji parts with the firmware editing tools provided by gupsterg and others, but have been discouraged about the chances of being able to do the same with Vega due to the firmware lock. These discoveries about the extent of what the softpowerplay tables are capable of is giving me renewed hope.

...rightful liberty is unobstructed action according to our will within limits drawn around us by the equal rights of others. I do not add 'within the limits of the law,' because law is often but the tyrant's will, and always so when it violates the right of an individual. -- Thomas Jefferson
Blameless is offline  
post #253 of 1394 (permalink) Old 08-21-2017, 09:55 AM
hex junkie
 
hellm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 814
Rep: 135 (Unique: 78)
First of all, you will have to check [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\Class\{4d36e968-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}\, if the card is installed under 0000.
fix this
Spoiler!

Of course, you could also edit the .reg file.

The following SoftPowerPlay registry files are unmodified copies of the PowerPlay Table found in the BIOS.

MorePowerVega56.zip 1k .zip file
MorePowerVega64.zip 1k .zip file
MorePowerVega64LC.zip 1k .zip file

MorePowerVegaFE.zip 1k .zip file
MorePowerVegaFELC.zip 1k .zip file

MorePowerVega64devil.zip 1k .zip file
MorePowerVega64strix.zip 1k .zip file
MorePowerVega64nitro.zip 1k .zip file
MorePowerVega64giga.zip 1k .zip file

MorePowerVega56nitro.zip 1k .zip file
MorePowerVega56devil.zip 1k .zip file
MorePowerVega56giga.zip 1k .zip file
MorePowerVega56strix.zip 1k .zip file
MorePowerVega56msi.zip 1k .zip file
MorePowerVega56pulse.zip 1k .zip file
MorePowerVega56nano.zip 1k .zip file

Open the file by right click -> edit.

the header points to the sub tables
Spoiler!

to read:
UCHAR 00
USHORT 00 00
ULONG 00 00 00 00
and the data is stored in little endian. this means the hex value 0x10C is found as 0C 01
Vega64 PP table header
Spoiler!
max power limit (+50% = 0x32) for all Vega cards:

TDP, TDC...
Spoiler!

Vega64 PowerTune Table
Spoiler!
The voltages are found at the exact same place for all of the Vega cards.
Spoiler!
For P-State 7 Vcore:

B0 04 -> 0x4B0 -> 1200mV
examples:
C9 04 -> 0x4C9 -> 1225mV
E2 04 -> 0x4E2 -> 1250mV
FB 04 -> 0x4FB -> 1275mV
...

the clockrates, easiest way is to search for the hex-value, i guess. P-State 7 clockrate should also be followed by 00 07.

00 71 02 -> 0x27100 -> 160000 -> 1600MHz (FE)
18 6D 02 -> 0x26D18 -> 159000 -> 1590MHz (56)
You have to multiplicate with 100, take the hex value and reverse it to "little endian".
HBM:
Vega 56:
80 38 01 -> 0x13880 -> 80000 -> 800MHz
Vega 64, FE:
24 71 01 -> 0x17124 -> 94500 -> 945MHz

Fan Table
always starts with "0B" (RevId), after "01 18 00 00 00 00 00 00 00" which is the thermal controller table.
Spoiler!
Devil64 fan table
Spoiler!

For the voltages, you have to switch to manual voltage and apply them first, or everything will be at stock.

To adjust voltages just edit the SoftPowerPlay again and add it to the registry. For the clockrates, you have to reset with Wattman first and then apply manual voltage setting again.

+142% power limit, 220W, 400A
MorePowerVega56_142.zip 1k .zip file
MorePowerVega64_142.zip 1k .zip file

only for very good cooling solutions, not stock aio, the lower shutdown temp is to prevent the pump from taking damage!
+142% power limit, 264W, 400A, shutdown temp 89°C (=56,64)
MorePowerVega64LC_142.zip 1k .zip file

There is also an editor now:
Vega64SoftPowerTableEditor
with FE it is still buggy, afaik
Attached Files
File Type: zip MorePowerVega56.zip (1.1 KB, 1088 views)
File Type: zip MorePowerVega64.zip (1.1 KB, 1336 views)
File Type: zip MorePowerVegaFE.zip (922 Bytes, 409 views)
File Type: zip MorePowerVega56_142.zip (1.1 KB, 574 views)
File Type: zip MorePowerVega64_142.zip (1.1 KB, 785 views)
File Type: zip MorePowerVega64LC.zip (1.1 KB, 578 views)
File Type: zip MorePowerVegaFELC.zip (1.1 KB, 231 views)
File Type: zip MorePowerVega64LC_142.zip (1.1 KB, 532 views)
File Type: zip MorePowerVega64devil.zip (1.1 KB, 262 views)
File Type: zip MorePowerVega64strix.zip (1.1 KB, 456 views)
File Type: zip MorePowerVega64nitro.zip (1.1 KB, 517 views)
File Type: zip MorePowerVega64giga.zip (1.1 KB, 350 views)
File Type: zip MorePowerVega56nitro.zip (1.1 KB, 268 views)
File Type: zip MorePowerVega56giga.zip (1.1 KB, 328 views)
File Type: zip MorePowerVega56strix.zip (1.1 KB, 284 views)
File Type: zip MorePowerVega56msi.zip (1.1 KB, 425 views)
File Type: zip MorePowerVega56devil.zip (1.1 KB, 195 views)
File Type: zip MorePowerVega56pulse.zip (1.1 KB, 419 views)
File Type: zip MorePowerVega56nano.zip (1.1 KB, 99 views)

Comandante R.B.R.T. (Red BIOS Rebellion Team)
Polaris BIOS Mod | Vega PowerPlay Mod | MorePowerTool

Last edited by hellm; 04-03-2018 at 06:05 PM.
hellm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #254 of 1394 (permalink) Old 08-22-2017, 08:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ba1b0a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 7
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Thanks Hellm for the help. I can verify that these reg edits work with the latest beta FE driver. I have no way to really test whether or not the voltage increase is doing anything though, but it is applying and showing in watttool. Since the latest beta driver does not include wattman I have been using the latest afterburner beta to adjust fan curves, which is also showing clock speeds set in registry. At 1.3Volts and 200% power limit I still can't hit 1750mhz stable, my guess is that the voltage setting isn't actually doing anything but I have not probed the card to verify, either that or my gpu maxes out around 1730mhz. I'll continue testing.
ba1b0a is offline  
post #255 of 1394 (permalink) Old 08-22-2017, 08:47 PM
hex junkie
 
hellm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 814
Rep: 135 (Unique: 78)
WattTool is also able to set those voltages. At least with Polaris. You can't change the voltage u entered in SoftPowerPlay there, too.
Again, you first have to apply them, before this works.

Comandante R.B.R.T. (Red BIOS Rebellion Team)
Polaris BIOS Mod | Vega PowerPlay Mod | MorePowerTool
hellm is offline  
post #256 of 1394 (permalink) Old 08-23-2017, 12:53 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
jstefanop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 83
Rep: 12 (Unique: 5)
Does anyone on here have an RX Vega yet? Need to confirm whether RX series has (hopefully does not have) same hardware BIOS check that Vega FE does.
jstefanop is offline  
post #257 of 1394 (permalink) Old 08-23-2017, 12:58 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
buildzoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 287
Rep: 38 (Unique: 23)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ba1b0a View Post

Thanks Hellm for the help. I can verify that these reg edits work with the latest beta FE driver. I have no way to really test whether or not the voltage increase is doing anything though, but it is applying and showing in watttool. Since the latest beta driver does not include wattman I have been using the latest afterburner beta to adjust fan curves, which is also showing clock speeds set in registry. At 1.3Volts and 200% power limit I still can't hit 1750mhz stable, my guess is that the voltage setting isn't actually doing anything but I have not probed the card to verify, either that or my gpu maxes out around 1730mhz. I'll continue testing.

What temps are you hitting?

For 1750 I think you will need like 40-50C on the core.

Keep Calm and Raise Vcore

3960X 4.8Ghz 1.45V | 4x4GB RipjawsX 2400 10-12-12-34-2T | Rampage IV Extreme | R9 Fury Tri-X 1145/570 1.3V core | Cooler Master V1000
buildzoid is offline  
post #258 of 1394 (permalink) Old 08-23-2017, 03:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ba1b0a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 7
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Ah, they might explain why it is stable at first but crashes after a little warmup. My fan profiles are keeping temps below 65 under heavy load.
ba1b0a is offline  
post #259 of 1394 (permalink) Old 08-23-2017, 03:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Nuke33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 123
Rep: 26 (Unique: 15)
Thank you very much hellm ! thumb.gif

I can confirm those regmods work on Vega64 with the latest 17.8.1 driver from 22.08.
I have got a Vega 64 Liquid and did not overclock but undervolted and kept its clockrates at default.

Managed to get as low as [email protected] Checked it with the power monitor of my AX760i.
I had to set all clocks down to the lowest wanted voltage or it would not undervolt any further. In case of Vega64 P5 is 1050mv, so nothing lower than that applies. You can set it but it does not do anything. If you modify the powerplay entry for P5 so it is 1000mv, P6 and P7 can be undervolted to 1000mv, If you want to go even lower you have to change P4 to 950mv and so on.

Power consumption improved drastically.
It now consumes around 280W at uncapped OCCT 2560x1080 DirectX11 Level7 Errorcheck. Before undervolt it would consume 390W and downclock to 1402mhz
If anyone knows a program that can squeeze even more power from graphicscards, please let me know. To my knowledge this is the highest I can get.
Clocks are 1750mhz and +50% PT with no dips, steady flat line.

Battlefield 1 maxed out at 99%GPU load consumes around 200W. biggrin.gif


My lowest was [email protected] stable but then HBM downclocks to 800mhz and can´t be raised again. At least not really only cosmetically. It shows 945mhz if you exchange the next lowest HBM clocks with the max HBM clock in the powerplay table. But comparing performance it is the same as 800mhz HBM.
My guess is that HBM voltage is somehow linked to minimal core voltage, since at 900mv core wattman sets 900mv HBM voltage automatically.
Maybe the driver thinks it is a Vega56 now?rolleyes.gif
Nuke33 is offline  
post #260 of 1394 (permalink) Old 08-23-2017, 03:38 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Nuke33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 123
Rep: 26 (Unique: 15)
*deleted - double post*
Nuke33 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off