[Official] Vega Frontier / RX Vega Owners Thread - Page 745 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] Vega Frontier / RX Vega Owners Thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7441 of 7682 (permalink) Old 03-22-2019, 06:15 PM
Not new anymore
 
tolis626's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Patras, Greece
Posts: 707
Rep: 35 (Unique: 32)
Quote: Originally Posted by VicsPC View Post
Yea was for all VEGA owners even the APUs had the issue.

I play on ultrawide (2560x1080) but Siege is VERY CPU demanding, its possible thats whats holding u back although a 390x might not be enough for 144hz at 1440p. Only thing id keep on high would be the shadows its pretty handy. PMed you a screenshot of my settings.
First off, thanks a lot!

Well, I think that the only difference between medium and high for shadows is the resolution of the shadows. Low disables dynamic shadows completely and could be a disadvantage when playing against other players.

Is it so CPU demanding that a 4.7GHz 4790k would bottleneck a 390x? I don't think so. Lowering my settings does give me higher FPS in a pretty predictable manner. I don't know if I could keep a steady 144Hz with a better GPU, but I don't think that >110FPS min would be unreasonable in most circumstances. Oh well... It IS an NVidia title...

PS : Just for my sanity, I did a quick search online and indeed, Siege isn't THAT demanding on the CPU. Basically it's my GPU that's the bottleneck, sadly. Oh well...

Phanteks Enthoo Primo, Asus Maximus VII Formula, MSI R9 390x, Intel Core i7 4790k @ 4.8GHz cooled by a Corsair H110. Corsair Vengeance Pro 16gb @ 2400MHz CL10 1.6V, EVGA SuperNova 1300G2, Samsung 840 Evo 500GB

Last edited by tolis626; 03-22-2019 at 06:28 PM.
tolis626 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7442 of 7682 (permalink) Old 03-22-2019, 07:42 PM
Mmmm donuts.....
 
VicsPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 566
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by tolis626 View Post
First off, thanks a lot!

Well, I think that the only difference between medium and high for shadows is the resolution of the shadows. Low disables dynamic shadows completely and could be a disadvantage when playing against other players.

Is it so CPU demanding that a 4.7GHz 4790k would bottleneck a 390x? I don't think so. Lowering my settings does give me higher FPS in a pretty predictable manner. I don't know if I could keep a steady 144Hz with a better GPU, but I don't think that >110FPS min would be unreasonable in most circumstances. Oh well... It IS an NVidia title...

PS : Just for my sanity, I did a quick search online and indeed, Siege isn't THAT demanding on the CPU. Basically it's my GPU that's the bottleneck, sadly. Oh well...
That's interesting, cuz i hit 60% on my 2700x without any problems lol, a friend of mine with his 1600x hits 100%. I played it with my 4690 and r9 390 but don't remember at all what i was getting for fps but was def no where near what I'm getting now, i was probably around the 80s/90s.

My 1700x build
(6 items)
CPU
1700x
Motherboard
ROG Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
Vega 64
RAM
Corsair 16gb 3200mhz CL16
Power Supply
Corsair RM1000
Case
Core X5
▲ hide details ▲
VicsPC is offline  
post #7443 of 7682 (permalink) Old 03-23-2019, 07:12 PM
Not new anymore
 
tolis626's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Patras, Greece
Posts: 707
Rep: 35 (Unique: 32)
Quote: Originally Posted by VicsPC View Post
That's interesting, cuz i hit 60% on my 2700x without any problems lol, a friend of mine with his 1600x hits 100%. I played it with my 4690 and r9 390 but don't remember at all what i was getting for fps but was def no where near what I'm getting now, i was probably around the 80s/90s.
As I said via PM, with a weird mix of low and ultra settings (basically, only ultra textures, medium LOD and shadows and everything else low) and 75% scaling, I manage to get 110-130FPS average on most maps. CPU doesn't seem to really be a factor. It will get stressed every now and then, but it doesn't seem to correlate with frame dips. Like, I get low fps sometimes on Hereford base, but during the time I get low fps (80-100) my CPU is practically doing nothing, so it's a GPU thing.

Mind you, my CPU is at 4.8GHz and my GPU is at 1160/1600MHz. The 4790k may be old, but it's no slouch at these speeds.

Phanteks Enthoo Primo, Asus Maximus VII Formula, MSI R9 390x, Intel Core i7 4790k @ 4.8GHz cooled by a Corsair H110. Corsair Vengeance Pro 16gb @ 2400MHz CL10 1.6V, EVGA SuperNova 1300G2, Samsung 840 Evo 500GB
tolis626 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7444 of 7682 (permalink) Old 03-27-2019, 11:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DDSZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Russia
Posts: 103
Rep: 36 (Unique: 21)
I recently bought Strix V56, and there is a problem with it: as soon as I disable CSM in MoBo bios and connect monitor using DisplayPort, monitor starts flashing (turning on and off every second), and its happening until Windows starts up (driver loads up?)
The same cable&monitor works just fine with my old R9290 and CSM disabled.
Any ideas how to get that fixed?

R7 2700 (1839SUS) / C7H / 2x8GB 3200MHz (MFR) / 500GB 970 EVO / R9 290u / RM750i / S340e

Last edited by DDSZ; 03-28-2019 at 02:57 AM.
DDSZ is offline  
post #7445 of 7682 (permalink) Old 03-27-2019, 11:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
faizreds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 121
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Joining the vega family with my Sapphire Vega56 Nitro+.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20181107_220923.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	6.29 MB
ID:	261812  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20181107_221024.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	5.04 MB
ID:	261814  


Ryzen system
(15 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix B350-F Gaming
GPU
Sapphire R9 290 Tri-x
RAM
GSkill Trident Z RGB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue
Power Supply
Cooler Master V750
Cooling
Thermalright TY-143
Cooling
AMD Wraith Spire
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Dell U2515H
Keyboard
Tecware Phantom
Mouse
Logitech G402
Mouse
Razer ExactMat X control
Audio
Superlux HD681 Evo
Audio
Edifier XM6BT
▲ hide details ▲
faizreds is offline  
post #7446 of 7682 (permalink) Old 03-28-2019, 02:46 AM
No.2 in Gaming
 
MrPerforations's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Milton Keynes,England
Posts: 1,935
Rep: 79 (Unique: 58)
hello,
got me two in the sale and just got two bykski waterblocks for them for £130 for both.
but im not impressed with them performance wise as I went 4k and I need better stuff already, which is a stupid price.
I had a crossfire and then I brought a crossfire that was twice as powerful but most games use only one card so I got, the same power.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190319_223255 (1).jpg
Views:	12
Size:	1.88 MB
ID:	261830  


CPU
AMD Ryzen™ 1700 3.75ghz
Motherboard
MSI™ X370 Gaming Pro Carbon™
GPU
MSI™ Radeon™ Vega 56 Air Boost OC
GPU
MSI™ Radeon™ Vega 56 Air Boost OC
RAM
Avexir™ Blitz™ 3200 CL16 @ 3200
Hard Drive
Seagate™ 2TB Barracuda™
Optical Drive
ASUS™ DRW-24D5MT
Power Supply
EVGA™ Supernova™ 1000 G2
Cooling
XSPC™ Raystorm™ 750 2x EX360 Radiators
Case
Coolermaster™ Cosmos Pure Black
Operating System
Windows™ 10 x64
Monitor
Electriq™ VM280UHD 4k
Keyboard
RII™ K66 Red Switch mechanical keyboard
Mouse
EasySMX™ Red Gaming mouse
Audio
Creative labs™ sb x-fi titanium
Audio
Logitech™ 540x 5.1
▲ hide details ▲



Last edited by MrPerforations; 03-28-2019 at 02:49 AM.
MrPerforations is offline  
post #7447 of 7682 (permalink) Old 03-28-2019, 03:23 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
RAZZTA01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 61
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
vega64 nitro+ put under Water!

Hi, just wanted to share my actual build. I finally put my vega64 under water. I also put a new rad in the build (external rad): MORA3 with 4X180 fans @700rpm. Noise problems disappeared!! Very important to me.
Also, cooling performance improved a lot.
I upload some pics. The one with the benchmark is also working while playing games.
I am starting to tweak it now. Anyone on water that could share with me his max setup in wattman?
Hacve a nice day!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WhatsApp Image 2019-03-23 at 16.53.38.jpeg
Views:	15
Size:	136.2 KB
ID:	261832  

Click image for larger version

Name:	WhatsApp Image 2019-03-26 at 22.35.54.jpeg
Views:	17
Size:	183.0 KB
ID:	261834  

Click image for larger version

Name:	WhatsApp Image 2019-03-27 at 22.54.39.jpeg
Views:	33
Size:	339.5 KB
ID:	261836  

Click image for larger version

Name:	WhatsApp Image 2019-03-27 at 22.58.16.jpeg
Views:	14
Size:	156.0 KB
ID:	261840  


Last edited by RAZZTA01; 03-28-2019 at 03:30 AM. Reason: added hwinfo of max achieved ingame playing Assetto
RAZZTA01 is offline  
post #7448 of 7682 (permalink) Old 03-29-2019, 03:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
sinnedone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,532
Rep: 74 (Unique: 57)
Your GPU Hotspot is hitting 87C. Something is not right there if you are water cooling that card.
I would re mount checking thermal compound spread or high/low spots.

sinnedone is offline  
post #7449 of 7682 (permalink) Old 03-29-2019, 04:00 AM
Mmmm donuts.....
 
VicsPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 566
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by sinnedone View Post
Your GPU Hotspot is hitting 87C. Something is not right there if you are water cooling that card.
I would re mount checking thermal compound spread or high/low spots.
It's because they're doesnt seem to be much case flow, we've been over this with other people who have high hotspot temps and try to repaste, it doesn't help. Mine mounted the same way he has with 3 140mm intake fans above the card my hotspot doesnt go past 70°C, usually stay in the mid 60s. I would love to know a definitive answer on where the hotspot measurement actually is but I've yet to see one.

My 1700x build
(6 items)
CPU
1700x
Motherboard
ROG Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
Vega 64
RAM
Corsair 16gb 3200mhz CL16
Power Supply
Corsair RM1000
Case
Core X5
▲ hide details ▲
VicsPC is offline  
post #7450 of 7682 (permalink) Old 03-29-2019, 04:28 AM
AMD Overclocker
 
Alastair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Benoni (South Africa)
Posts: 6,015
Rep: 258 (Unique: 161)
Quote: Originally Posted by VicsPC View Post
It's because they're doesnt seem to be much case flow, we've been over this with other people who have high hotspot temps and try to repaste, it doesn't help. Mine mounted the same way he has with 3 140mm intake fans above the card my hotspot doesnt go past 70°C, usually stay in the mid 60s. I would love to know a definitive answer on where the hotspot measurement actually is but I've yet to see one.
Hotspot temp is the hottest part on the GPU die. This has been documented extensively on the Radeon 7 and reviews on the R7

GHOST rev 3.5
(29 items)
Rura Penthe
(12 items)
CPU
AMD FX-8370 @ 4.95GHz 1.5V 2700MHz NB/3000MHz HTT
Motherboard
ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
GPU
Sapphire R9-Fury 3840
GPU
Sapphire R9-Fury 3840
RAM
Corsair Vengeance 2133 4x4GB @ 2000 9-9-10-27 1CR
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 PRO 1TB
Hard Drive
WD Blue 500GB
Hard Drive
WD Blue 1 TB
Hard Drive
Samsung Spinpoint HD502HI
Power Supply
Antec High Current Pro Platinum 1300W
Cooling
XSPC D5 Bay Res
Cooling
1x CoolerMaster Storm Force 200
Cooling
2x EK-FC Fury X fullcovers
Cooling
XSPC Raystorm CPU Block
Cooling
EKWB Coolstream PE360
Cooling
6x CoolerMaster Jetflo's 120mm
Cooling
Laing D5 Vario
Cooling
EK-FC Terminal Dual Parallel
Cooling
2x EK-FC Fury X Backplates
Cooling
EKWB Coolstream CE280
Cooling
6 Corsair ML140's
Case
NZXT Phantom 820 Black
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
Monitor
Dell SE2717H
Keyboard
Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Mouse
Mionix Naos 7000
Mouse
Mionix Alioth
Audio
GX Gaming SW-G2.1 3000
Audio
Kingston Hyper X Cloud Core
CPU
AMD Athlon 860K
Motherboard
Asus A88X-Pro
GPU
MSI R6850 Cyclone Power Edition
GPU
MSI R6850 Cyclone Power Edition
RAM
G-Skill Ares 2133 CL10 8GB (2x4GB)
Hard Drive
Seagate ST1000VX003
Optical Drive
Samsung HD502HI
Power Supply
Seagate M12II 620W
Cooling
Arctic Cooling Freezer A30
Case
Corsair Carbide SPEC-02
Operating System
Windows 10 Home Edition 64bit
Keyboard
Razer Lycrosa
CPU
Intel Celeron G1840
Motherboard
MSI Z97-Guard Pro
GPU
Gigabyte RX580 Gaming 4G
GPU
Gigabyte RX570 Gaming 4G
GPU
XFX RX480 reference edition 8G
GPU
Gigabyte RX570 Gaming 4g
GPU
Gigabyte RX570 Gaming 4G
RAM
G-Skill Ares F3-1600C9D
Hard Drive
Samsung 750 Evo 120GB
Power Supply
Gigabyte XP1200M
Cooling
Stock
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
▲ hide details ▲
Alastair is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off