[BIOS Mod] RX480 -> RX580 Conversions + How-to RX470/RX480 -> RX570/RX580 - Page 103 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

[BIOS Mod] RX480 -> RX580 Conversions + How-to RX470/RX480 -> RX570/RX580

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1021 of 1075 (permalink) Old 05-13-2019, 11:24 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Greetings hellm, I got a POWERCOLOR RED DEVIL RX 480/8GB, I downloaded and flashed your Original 480-580 bios mod, did some benchmark and looks stable, But when Idle I see that the sensors from Radeon Overlay, GpuZ and HwInfo shows that when idle is constant 30W. Is that normal? Even tho I'm going to attatch some screenshots. Thanks in advance, and great work for all these years with it.

EDIT: I tested the bios with games and after 10-15min of gameplay the textures in-game started to fail, they show terrain, dust, snow, etc in other colors, and some characters too, roof and lights started to flick and shine a lot so i had to flash back the stock Bios. What could be causing this in the mod bios?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	descarga.png
Views:	12
Size:	465.9 KB
ID:	269642  

Attached Images
   

Last edited by BlackGarnett; 05-15-2019 at 09:41 AM.
BlackGarnett is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1022 of 1075 (permalink) Old 05-18-2019, 08:10 AM - Thread Starter
hex junkie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 848
Rep: 136 (Unique: 78)
hey, sorry my answer took a while..

@mynm12345
no idea. But i suggest to keep the temp below that value, temp limits are there for a reason. Also take a look at your VRM temperature.

@adiif1
the answer is in the thread, sorry i can't say on what page.. look for IMC voltage, because that second voltage is a voltage floor, can't go under that value with your vcore.

@BlackGarnett
same here, your answers are in the thread, i suggest to read it backwards and search for power limit or something. The 30% is indeed a software bug, and there are more infos about temperature, power limits and so on. I made sure the VRM is working as it should, so any change would be through different voltage and power limit, at least at maximum load.

Comandante R.B.R.T. (Red BIOS Rebellion Team)
Polaris BIOS Mod | Vega PowerPlay Mod | MorePowerTool
hellm is offline  
post #1023 of 1075 (permalink) Old 06-09-2019, 05:18 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
overpower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Amintaio, Greece
Posts: 269
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I have an rx 480 already modded to 580. I'm using msi afterburner mostly to turn off the always off fans (by fan settings to minimum 30%). I have an issue, which from google search I found to be common. My middle fan wont spin. If I try to spin in my self, it will start spinning until I turn off the pc. While the pc is booting, the middle fan will start again spinning for the bios screen and then until it get into windows and get the settings from msi ab is too late and only the other 2 fans will spin at the min settings.

So I can remove the 0 fan using hex editor as I saw at the 1st post.
Will it work in my case? I want to set it to spin always at 25-30%. Is it possible for only the middle fan or all 3 fans are connected via 1 port on the gpu?

Strix 480 8gb oc version

@hellm
overpower is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1024 of 1075 (permalink) Old 06-10-2019, 08:23 AM - Thread Starter
hex junkie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 848
Rep: 136 (Unique: 78)
I am guessing you modded your 480 by simply flashing the original 580 strix BIOS? If the fan profile doesn't fit your card, the middle fan might be affected somehow. I believe it is getting less voltage than the other two, and that would be more cost effectiv with a simple voltage divider. Also the BIOS doesn't have multiple PWM settings or something.

I made the conversions for a reason, most of all wrong vrm settings can be really bad. Wrong fan settings are only getting on your nerves..

Try one of my BIOS files or mod your own, don't blind flash a BIOS from another card. Even if it looks very similar.

Comandante R.B.R.T. (Red BIOS Rebellion Team)
Polaris BIOS Mod | Vega PowerPlay Mod | MorePowerTool
hellm is offline  
post #1025 of 1075 (permalink) Old 07-07-2019, 01:10 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mynm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 623
Rep: 54 (Unique: 20)
@hellm


I have tested three compatible 580 nitro bios with my 590 nitro, two of them where working without problems and driver patch isn't needed when doing a bios mod, with the 590 is needed.

The problem I see is that I can't reach my stock 1545mhz core clock with the same voltage. So maybe they have done some improvements to the 590 bioses to gain highest core clocks, or maybe into drivers.

I remember that some one have tested a 590 bios into a 580 without success, in this thread or the polaris bios mod thread.
I think that maybe the cause could be that 590 bioses have much lower voltages for the same clocks than the 580 ones.
Also it seems that the worst 580 comes with lower clocks like 1340mhz vs 1411 or 1450 for the good ones.

But on the 590 gpus the differences bettwen clocks are lower, 1545mhz to 1580, and they are using powerplay usCKSOffsetandDisable values to adjust the voltages. The values are bettwen D and 32 (on 580 bioes are 0), so the default voltages are increased between +12.5mv and +50mv.

So if you know anybody how wants to test or anybody here wants to test a 590 bios into a 580, 570 or 480, 470, I think it's bettes to use the bioses with the highest usCKSOffsetandDisable values, and decrease the clocks to the 580 stock ones , or maybe lower, and then adjust the clocks and usCKSOffsetandDisable values.

Edited: about using a 590 bios for 480 or 470 gpus, it could be more difficult as 590 have diferent values for vddci into voltage object info table and asic init table. So some changes into this tables will be have to be maded. My 590 have the same config as the 580 one, so using a 590 bios into a 580 could be easy.

Also I think some of this thread 480 to 580 bioses conversion have some mistakes in the vddci configuration. Hellm knows it, but the problem is that you have to use a multimeter to know vddci values, so it will be helpfull if somebody have one and can test it.

Edited: I have tried the bios name conversion from 590 to 580, only the stock 590 bios named to 580. And it can be done changing E6 01 to E6 07 and Polaris30 to 20. But I have black screens in games with the stock clocks, I have to test if with lower clocks if it's ok.

I also have tried the stock 590 bios named to 480 changing E6 01 to C6 07 and and Polaris30 to ELLESMERE, but it is reconiced like a 580.

So maybe the drivers is doing some thing to the 590 gpus to can achieve higher clocks or some feature is needed for the 590.

Edited: I have tested the stock 590 bios named to 580 with 1500mhz instead of the stock 1545mhz and is working ok. I don't have tested how near to 1545mhz I can go and I think that is not wort to test it. The gpu should be stable with the stock cloks. So for bios moding it seems that is better to use the driver patch than the rename to 580 or using a 580 bios, at least untill it don't stops working.

Last edited by mynm; 07-14-2019 at 04:18 AM.
mynm is offline  
post #1026 of 1075 (permalink) Old 07-30-2019, 06:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
MixedC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 239
Rep: 7 (Unique: 6)
I am removing this post to prevent confusion.
...and leaving this piece of information for others who may face this issue.

If you experience weird throttling at temperatures such as 60C,70C and nothing else matters, even thought your sensors doesn't report high temps and you have enough power-limit headroom, it is still because of high temps but sensors doesn't catch it. Changing thermal paste gets rid of the throttling issue.

Last edited by MixedC; 08-01-2019 at 06:28 PM.
MixedC is offline  
post #1027 of 1075 (permalink) Old 09-09-2019, 11:05 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mrtang42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 10
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I have a msi rx 480 gaming x 8G. After I flash your original conversion rx480-580 bios for MSI. GPUZ and amd driver both report that the memory type is unknown. Could you double check it? Thank you!
mrtang42 is offline  
post #1028 of 1075 (permalink) Old 09-09-2019, 01:07 PM - Thread Starter
hex junkie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 848
Rep: 136 (Unique: 78)
You double checked you vram in the first place? You want to share your original BIOS file?

Comandante R.B.R.T. (Red BIOS Rebellion Team)
Polaris BIOS Mod | Vega PowerPlay Mod | MorePowerTool
hellm is offline  
post #1029 of 1075 (permalink) Old 09-09-2019, 03:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mrtang42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 10
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
@hellm , Thank you for your reply. My MSI RX480 GAMING X has samsung vram. I think samsung is the only brand it comes with.
The bios in the first post works fine. Only the bios from the second post has the memory type unknown issue.


original bios from here:

https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/...80-8192-170727

Last edited by mrtang42; 09-09-2019 at 04:19 PM.
mrtang42 is offline  
post #1030 of 1075 (permalink) Old 09-10-2019, 12:28 PM - Thread Starter
hex junkie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 848
Rep: 136 (Unique: 78)
hmm, thx for the info. I will look into it, but might take a few days..

Comandante R.B.R.T. (Red BIOS Rebellion Team)
Polaris BIOS Mod | Vega PowerPlay Mod | MorePowerTool
hellm is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off