[BIOS Mod] RX480 -> RX580 Conversions + How-to RX470/RX480 -> RX570/RX580 - Page 104 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[BIOS Mod] RX480 -> RX580 Conversions + How-to RX470/RX480 -> RX570/RX580

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1031 of 1037 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 03:12 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mynm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 621
Rep: 54 (Unique: 20)
Quote: Originally Posted by hellm View Post
hmm, thx for the info. I will look into it, but might take a few days..

Hi hellm, I have taken a look to your 480 msi bioses and the mrtang42 bios and I suggest you to changes the real msi 480 to 580 conversion bios VOI table from this:



46 00 03 01 01 03 12 00 08 96 10 00 00 00 00 00 8D 00 00 00 FF 00 01 07 0C 00 06 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 04 00 24 00 00 04 00 00 02 80 10 00 00 00 00 00 20 03 00 00 10 00 52 03 02 00 00 00 84 03 00 80 00 00 B6 03


To this:


46 00 03 01 01 03 12 00 08 96 10 00 00 00 00 00 8D 00 00 00 FF 00 01 07 0C 00 06 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 04 00 24 00 00 04 00 00 02 80 10 00 00 00 10 00 52 03 02 00 00 00 84 03 02 00 10 00 B6 03 00 80 10 00 E8 03


As the vddci config for the 480 gpus could not be working ok if you are using the 580 one, as you know.
mynm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1032 of 1037 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 01:31 PM - Thread Starter
hex junkie
 
hellm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 800
Rep: 127 (Unique: 77)
If you change it to the 480 version, as u suggest, it won't work. And since the only controller is the IR3567B, i mean the only one that could talk, we checked the i2c dump in the beginning. all fine.
And there is a reason to it. Since i took an IR3567B 580 BIOS with exact the same configuration as the targeted cards, it doesn't matter how VDDCI is implemented. As long as it is implemented legit and as it should be, which it was from the start. Would i mix it with an 480 VOI version, it not only wouldn't work properly (we tested this), it would screw up the way VDDCI is implemented. The card doesn't know what BIOS it had before.
For the post#2 original conversions, they all have the 480 table, of course. Same reason, cause the rest of the BIOS is 480, works as intended.

For the not recognized problem, i have an idea. I updated the vram info table to the 580 version, that could have caused issues. But then again, if the only issue is a confused gpuz.. or it is soime other reason we don't know yet. i will definitely look into it, as i said might take some time..

Comandante R.B.R.T. (Red BIOS Rebellion Team)
Polaris BIOS Mod | Vega PowerPlay Mod | MorePowerTool
hellm is offline  
post #1033 of 1037 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 03:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mynm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 621
Rep: 54 (Unique: 20)
If you see this buildzoid's video about the 480 msi pcb


I understand vddci isn't controlled by the IR3567B controller, I understand it is using another cotroller for the vddci and mvddc.

And the IR3567B config is only this part 01 03 12 00 08 96 10 00 00 00 00 00 8D 00 00 00 FF 00 where you have added the 8D register for the voltage offset.

The default bios is using this 01 03 0E 00 08 96 10 00 00 00 00 00 FF 00 so there is no confing for the IR3567B controller, as there is no one register added to it.


The problem I see into the vddci confiig is that the 480 config seems to be using only 850mv, but the 580 one is using 800mv and 850mv. The lower value for the 480 vddci VOI config is 850mv, and for the 580 one is 800mv, so we can't be sure if the 480 can use the 800mv min voltage and we can't know if it used or what voltage is using.


I remember one Vento041's conversion bios where he is using the stock 480 VOI into a 580 bios without problems.

The biggest problem is that we can't know if the vddci config is working ok without measuring it with a multimeter. If somebody could measure it will be great.

Edited:

I also forgest that maybe you will have to do a change into the asic init table:

The 480 one is:

8E 00 01 02 00 08 02 01 02 00 52 47 52 02 02 65 02 07 52 0D 55 00 02 52 0D 52 23 2C 25 02 01 3D 25 02 06 45 17 00 51 02 52 3D 52 39 02 0D 02 01 03 52 43 66 04 02 8C 02 2E 00 02 0D 02 01 00 52 43 02 05 02 04 00 52 03 52 43 02 F9 02 01 52 05 02 01 02 00 0E E5 02 08 52 0A 02 05 02 02 00 00 00 52 43 02 05 02 04 00 52 03 52 43 02 05 02 30 75 00 40 52 0B 02 05 02 04 00 52 03 52 43 02 01 02 01 0E E5 02 08 52 0B 0D 65 D0 05 02 5B

The 580 one is:

95 00 01 02 00 08 02 01 02 00 52 47 52 02 02 65 02 07 52 0D 55 00 02 52 0D 52 23 2C 25 02 01 3D 25 02 06 45 17 00 51 02 52 3D 52 39 02 0D 02 01 03 52 43 66 04 02 8C 02 2E 00 02 0D 02 01 00 52 43 02 05 02 04 00 52 03 52 43 02 0D 02 02 03 52 43 02 F9 02 01 52 05 02 01 02 00 0E E5 02 08 52 0A 02 05 02 02 00 0E 06 52 43 02 05 02 04 00 20 03 52 43 02 05 02 30 75 00 40 52 0B 02 05 02 04 00 52 03 52 43 02 01 02 01 0E E5 02 08 52 0B 0D 65 D0 05 02 5B

The 04 says that the values is related to the vddci like into the VOI table. And it sets the value for the VOI, acording to some tests I did with a multimeter with my 380.

So I think that you will have to changes the seconf 20 03 (800mv) to 52 03 (850mv).

Your config for the VOI with the 580 values is :

46 00 03 01 01 03 12 00 08 96 10 00 00 00 00 00 8D 00 00 00 FF 00 01 07 0C 00 06 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 04 00 24 00 00 04 00 00 02 80 10 00 00 00 00 00 20 03 00 00 10 00 52 03 02 00 00 00 84 03 00 80 00 00 B6 03

My sugested vales are the 480 ones:

46 00 03 01 01 03 12 00 08 96 10 00 00 00 00 00 8D 00 00 00 FF 00 01 07 0C 00 06 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 04 00 24 00 00 04 00 00 02 80 10 00 00 00 10 00 52 03 02 00 00 00 84 03 02 00 10 00 B6 03 00 80 10 00 E8 03

The problem is that the asic init table selects the min and max value for the vddci acording to the green value, but the values that actually are setting the voltages are the orange ones. So the 480 don't have a 00 00 00 00 for 20 03 (800mv)and maybe it can't support that voltage. So I think that is better to set the 480 vddco config.

Last edited by mynm; 09-12-2019 at 01:18 AM.
mynm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1034 of 1037 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 03:56 AM - Thread Starter
hex junkie
 
hellm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 800
Rep: 127 (Unique: 77)
As i said, wouldn't make much sense to mix anything. Also, if vddci is controlled by the same controller as gddr5 voltage, well that one doesn't speak, meaning doesn't have a serial interface, so it can't be set by BIOS or anything. Also, i think it is a single buck controller, whatever..

Here is the thing, i guess you think of some sort of controller, that is card specific and has to be programmed like on the original BIOS. That is not the case. In fact, you would screw all up by mixing the different ways; and that is beyond the 480/580 thing. Because the difference in 480/580 version is not related to the different ways to implement it; it fits with the other 480/580 stuff, AMD changed this with Polaris20

Again, not the 480 or 580 can do anything, it is the same GPU. I know what is electrically on the card, there is no mysterious controller missing.

You aúntderstand what i am trying to say? Not 480/580 asic_init matters, it just mattersd if the asic_init is the right one for the given voi table, and that is the case if you don't change it and cross BIOS versions. So, vddci is implemented in the right way.

Comandante R.B.R.T. (Red BIOS Rebellion Team)
Polaris BIOS Mod | Vega PowerPlay Mod | MorePowerTool
hellm is offline  
post #1035 of 1037 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 04:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mynm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 621
Rep: 54 (Unique: 20)
Yes, the problem is that I'm not sure if the vddci controller have these especific voltages programmed on it and you only can select between then, and the vddci config needs these especific orange vales to set these especific voltages. So in these case your BIOS is wrongly setted.
And we can't know it without measuring the vddci with a multimeter.

But if you have info about it and you are sure it is not the case, it wouldn't be a problem.
mynm is offline  
post #1036 of 1037 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 11:23 AM - Thread Starter
hex junkie
 
hellm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 800
Rep: 127 (Unique: 77)
I am sure.

Comandante R.B.R.T. (Red BIOS Rebellion Team)
Polaris BIOS Mod | Vega PowerPlay Mod | MorePowerTool
hellm is offline  
post #1037 of 1037 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 11:40 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mynm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 621
Rep: 54 (Unique: 20)
Quote: Originally Posted by hellm View Post
I am sure.

Ok . Is a sad for my to don't have my 380 or a 480 to test this with a multimeter and be sure it's ok. I'm not going to put in risk my 590 or losting its warranty. If you are sure it's ok I don't have more to say.
mynm is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off