Sapphire RX580 4gb Nitro+: Flashed my Custom BIOS. 2-3 weeks after being stable it now crashes at start. Stock bios appears to work fine. - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Sapphire RX580 4gb Nitro+: Flashed my Custom BIOS. 2-3 weeks after being stable it now crashes at start. Stock bios appears to work fine.

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 10-16-2017, 04:54 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
richardcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
So, I made a custom BIOS for my RX 580, it was getting 30mh/s dual mining with DCR and everything was great, life was good. 2 or 3 weeks into it, failed my first card, couple days later, the second card failed as well. Both had similar mods: 2000mhz memory speed with custom straps, undervolted on bios and lower core clock.

About the problem:
1) if i open claymore to start mining now I get almost immediately a black screen
2) i tried a new custom bios I made, flashed it giving about stock figures voltages and powetune, also decreasing memory speed to 1900mhz --- same thing. Fails immediately or soon after starts mining. No change.

I tried switching BIOS on switch and it seems to work fine. I played a game for about 10 minutes. Also mined for >1h now and also good... I will run furmark later for a while and see how it works. At 1750mhz it seems to be fine so far, but stock rom is that disappointing 24mh/s.

Here's the BIOS I made and was using on one of the cards til it failed (ran fine for 2 or 3 weeks great hashrate): http://xonedigital.com/dump/bios1.jpg


This is the stock bios i made backup and recently re-flashed: http://xonedigital.com/dump/bios-stock.jpg



I think I have a decent understanding for OC'ing in general, all my other RX models are doing fine for longer than these cards, but I have very limited knowledge in electronics. I'm confused. What I don't get is: It seems the card damaged something, because it worked great for 2-3 weeks and now it fails almost immediately with the same bios. How can it be damaged if I only used lower voltages? Shouldn't it damage ONLY if I used higher voltages and temperatures? From what I read, it seems that the memory is what's causing trouble as I've seen the type of squary artifact on the screen after the problem started when using my modded bios. How can my memory be bad now if it wasn't running at higher voltage? I even undervolted 100mv... Could it still be damaged? The card ran cooler than stock as it was undervolted. Does running memory at higher than stock speeds and tighter timings decrease its lifespan even if undervolted?

Appreciate your inputs.

Thanks!
richardcore is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 10-18-2017, 10:56 PM
More Vcore
 
The EX1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,557
Rep: 107 (Unique: 99)
Did you check for memory errors after altering fhe memory timings and clocks? Just because the card ran, doesn't mean the memory wasn't throwing tons of errors out. Use HWINFO to check for memory errors in case you haven't. If you ran the card 24/7 for weeks with memory that was tossing up millions of errors, I can see that causing degredation.

Test Bench
(14 items)
CPU
1920X Threadripper
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Zenith Extreme
GPU
ASUS RX 560 Strix
GPU
ASUS RX 560 Strix
GPU
ASUS RX 560 Strix
RAM
G.Skill Tridentz DDR4
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue M.2
Power Supply
EVGA 1600 G2
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S TR4-SP3
Cooling
Corsair SP120s
Cooling
Corsair AF140
Case
Corsair 780T White
Operating System
UNRAID
Monitor
ASUS VG245H
Monitor
ASUS VG245H
Monitor
ASUS VG245H
Keyboard
RAZER Black Widow Ultimate
Keyboard
RAZER Black Widow Ultimate Overwatch Edition
Keyboard
Logitech G15
Mouse
Razer Naga
Mouse
Steelseries Warcraft MMO Mouse
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
Razer Kraken 7.1
Other
USB Hubs/extensions/cables
CPU
Intel Core i7 6950X
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Rampage V Edition 10
GPU
nVidia Titan Xp Collector's Edition Galatic Empire
RAM
Corsair Special Edition Blackout Dominator DDR4
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO M.2 NVM.e
Hard Drive
Crucial MX300 SSD
Hard Drive
OCZ SSD
Power Supply
Corsair HX1000i Platinum
Power Supply
Custom red sleeved cables
Cooling
EK RGB Monoblock
Cooling
Alphacool Monsta 360mm Radiator-White
Cooling
Hadwarelabs NEMESIS GTX 560mm Radiator
Cooling
Noiseblocker 120mm PWM fans-White
Cooling
Noiseblocker eLoop 120mm fan-Red
Cooling
Noctua Industrial 140mm fans
Cooling
Phobya Slim 180mm fans
Cooling
Swiftech D5 Pump
Cooling
Bitspower D5 pump top
Cooling
Bitspower D5 pump mod kit
Cooling
Singularity Computers Ethereal Dual Reservoir mounts
Cooling
Monsoon Free Center compression fittings
Cooling
Bitspower Deluxe White fittings
Cooling
Primochill Grillz Hex radiator grill
Cooling
Primochill Advanced LRT Tubing
Cooling
Koolance in-line filter
Cooling
XSPC G 1/4 temperature sensor
Cooling
Silverstone PWM fan hub
Cooling
EK M.2 Heatsink - Nickle
Cooling
FrozenQ LFX Reservoirs - White
Cooling
FrozenQ LFX Aluminum Reservoir collars
Case
Silverstone TJ11
Case
Custom acrylic panels
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Alienware AW3418DW Ultrawide
Keyboard
GALAX HOF
Mouse
Razer Starcraft II Edition Mouse
Mousepad
GALAX RGB Mousepad
Audio
ASUS Supreme FX Hi-Fi DAC
Audio
Sennheiser Game Zero - White
Other
NZXT USB 2.0 internal hub
Other
NZXT Hue+
Other
Darkside LEDs and extensions
CPU
Ryzen R7 1800X
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Crosshair VI
GPU
Powercolor RX Vega 64 Red Devil
GPU
RX Vega 64 Limited Edition
GPU
RX Vega 64 Limited Edition
RAM
GALAX HOF Limited Edition DDR4
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black
Optical Drive
ASUS Blu-Ray/DVD-RW
Power Supply
EVGA 750 GQ
Power Supply
EVGA 750 GQ
Cooling
Deepcool Captain 240mm
Case
Primochill Praxis Wet Bench
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲


The EX1 is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 10-20-2017, 06:15 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
richardcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by The EX1 View Post

Did you check for memory errors after altering fhe memory timings and clocks? Just because the card ran, doesn't mean the memory wasn't throwing tons of errors out. Use HWINFO to check for memory errors in case you haven't. If you ran the card 24/7 for weeks with memory that was tossing up millions of errors, I can see that causing degredation.

Yeap, I did check it. None of my GPUs run with errors, some of them will get like 6 to 20 in 15min or so. So that wasn't it. I'm running the stock bios fine for couple days now and it seems stable. The old bios is a no go, memory clocks that go high will immediately fail the card.
richardcore is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off