[150MHz bug] Min Memory Clock at GPU=100% load - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[150MHz bug] Min Memory Clock at GPU=100% load

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-07-2018, 04:42 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 31
Rep: 0
Smile [150MHz bug] Min Memory Clock at GPU=100% load

Low 2D GDI performance RADEON drivers v15.7 - v18.7.1 (any version)

Video card: Radeon R7 360 2G
OS: Windows 7 SP1

AMD forum:
https://community.amd.com/thread/230437
https://community.amd.com/thread/227931

Experiment #1 (Theme - Windows 7 Aero):

Display = No lags

GPU Core Clock = 560 - 690 MHz
GPU Memory Clock = 1500 MHz
GPU Load = 0 - 7 -24% (100% peak)

Experiment #2 (Theme - Windows Classic):

Display = Big lags

GPU Core Clock = 1070 MHz
GPU Memory Clock = 150 MHz
GPU Load = 100%

==================

My qwestion:
It is correct works switch of the Memory Clock on Classic theme?


Last edited by ruslbug2d; 08-07-2018 at 04:50 AM.
ruslbug2d is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-07-2018, 05:13 AM
AMD OC'ing Enthusiast
 
mattliston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,524
Rep: 104 (Unique: 82)
I never had any issues with my r7 370 2gb or my old rx480 8gb with drivers in that version ranges.


Go ahead and download fresh drivers, or you may wanna choose to run older 17.x.x drivers as the 360 is a bit old.



I would personally run DDU (display driver uninstaller) in safemode to cleanup drivers and re-install fresh.


Then I would right click my computer icon on desktop, hit properties, and if it asks, re-run the performance assessment thing that windows has.


This basically lets windows figure out your graphics card is a fully dedicated 3d card.




Then I would find install and run MSI Afterburner. It takes better control of the video card, and will probably prevent the AMD drivers from messsing with the clocks at all.
mattliston is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-07-2018, 06:16 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Formula383's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 348
Rep: 10 (Unique: 8)
this sounds like the software is detecting a clock failure and after such the clock speeds are reduced and the system must be restarted to restore clocks.

edit: what if you leave it in classic and restart the system? does it still perform badly?


Last edited by Formula383; 08-07-2018 at 06:20 AM.
Formula383 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-10-2018, 06:52 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 31
Rep: 0
mattliston

The problem occurs on Windows 7 only with RADEON drivers v15.7 - v18.7.1 (any version).

Let's check with you.What video card and OS do you currently have?

Formula383

I restarted the system many times. This is a 100% bug of AMD drivers.

Last edited by ruslbug2d; 08-10-2018 at 06:55 AM.
ruslbug2d is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-10-2018, 05:26 PM
AMD OC'ing Enthusiast
 
mattliston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,524
Rep: 104 (Unique: 82)
My 370 is collecting dust since I bought a 1080 TI.




I generally owned AMD GPU's, from 5770, 7870, 370, and finally the RX480.


I always did the DDU clean up and install, I wonder if that is what has kept me problem free.




EDIT


I recommend you download the current drivers, perform the DDU driver cleanup, reboot into safemode, and use a program such as ccleaner to clean the registry of any old entries, delete any AMD folders that may still be present, then reboot again, back into safemode, where you install the new drivers.


Upon first boot up with the new drivers, let the system idle at teh desktop for several minutes, then simply perform a normal restart.




Go from there. Please post results.
mattliston is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-15-2018, 08:30 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 31
Rep: 0
Переснял это видео более детально. Видно, что производительность в спектре фубара резко возрастает, когда окошко "Radeon Settings" хоть на 1 мм выглядывает. Как только его не видно - так карта впадает в ступор. Вот такие кривые алгоримы у АМД драйверов.
ruslbug2d is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-16-2018, 07:03 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 31
Rep: 0
mattliston

Everyone has this problem.
Set a classic theme Win7 and check it yourself.
ruslbug2d is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-17-2018, 05:19 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 31
Rep: 0
Reduced Windows performance and low FPS from the Radeon driver. On the "Standard VGA Graphics Adapter" - no problems.

Programs for the test:
2D Test with source code - https://github.com/JMKh3r/2DTest/releases/tag/1.3.0.0
SimpleGLUT with source code - http://rgho.st/87wYV9wgB

Radeon driver v15.7.1:
FPS = 4 - 1100 (huge drawdown FPS)
Very large lags when moving windows.

"Standard VGA Graphics Adapter":
FPS = 510-720
There are no lags when you move the window.

Increase 2D performance from nothing. If you place the "Radeon Settings" window underneath the spectrum window, so that at least 1mm of the window is visible outside the spectrum window, then the spectrum is accelerated tens of times and the FPS in simpleGLUT rises from 40-60 to 1100-1300. AMD drivers can not determine the resources, which the program requires, and mistakenly sets the video card to minimum performance.

Short video:
ruslbug2d is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-17-2018, 11:55 AM
AMD OC'ing Enthusiast
 
mattliston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,524
Rep: 104 (Unique: 82)
Quote: Originally Posted by ruslbug2d View Post
mattliston

Everyone has this problem.
Set a classic theme Win7 and check it yourself.

I am on classic theme, or at least I think I am.


basic light blue screen background with no orb for a start right?



Aero stuff slows down my AMD FX chip during daily use liek internet browsing or going through my harddrives and organizing. Dunno why, but the fancy theme crap makes it worse.


I do great in intensive games like GTA V with high settings at 1080p, can hit 100fps sometimes. I think the worst its been with the 1080 TI was 50-60 fps because I left some settings far too high
mattliston is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-20-2018, 09:10 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 31
Rep: 0
mattliston

GTA and other games use 3D acceleration.
I'm writing about 2D acceleration problems. Read carefully!



Compare 2D GDI performance - Discrette vs Integrated.

Test #1: Discrette graphic card - Radeon R7 360. Very low performance

Test #2: Integrated CPU Intel i5-6500 - HD 530. Normal performance

Resume: ABSUR!! Integrated CPU i5-6500 HD530 has higher 2D performance than the discrette Radeon R7 360.
ruslbug2d is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off