Vega 64 struggling to hit peak clocks - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Vega 64 struggling to hit peak clocks

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 43 (permalink) Old 10-22-2018, 07:17 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
98uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 18,550
Rep: 823 (Unique: 636)
Quote: Originally Posted by Chaoz View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by 98uk View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by kd5151 View Post
undervolt it.
I'll give it a go. I'll need to do some testing to ensure that undervolting doesn't then it turn affect clock speeds if it can't draw the right power.
Undervolting is indeed recommended. My ref Sapphire 64 is flashed with LC BIOS and runs great on 1750MHz with 1V on Core and 1050MHz with 950mV on HBM with 50% power limit. Temps with my custom loop make it rarely go over 40°C.

Not every game makes it go to max clockspeed, only the more demanding games do.

Could be the Hot Spot temps that makes the card throttle down.
Awesome, thanks

I'll have a go at underclocking on stock speeds to begin with.

The speeds/voltages you quoted, are they widely achievable, or do you have what would be considered a well binned chip.

Just wondering if it's realistic to try the same settings as you right off the bat.

Just take a poo on his lawn, that'll sort it. Then say his slutty daughter did it. - ace8uk (2017)


98uk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 43 (permalink) Old 10-22-2018, 08:40 AM
PC Enthousiast
 
Chaoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Belgium
Posts: 465
Rep: 26 (Unique: 24)
Quote: Originally Posted by 98uk View Post
Awesome, thanks

I'll have a go at underclocking on stock speeds to begin with.

The speeds/voltages you quoted, are they widely achievable, or do you have what would be considered a well binned chip.

Just wondering if it's realistic to try the same settings as you right off the bat.
Unless you flash your 64 with the LC BIOS you won't achieve the same clocks on those voltages, as the ref 64 only clocks to 1560MHz on core. Same HBM clocks could be achieved.

My 64 seems to have a golden chip, as most people can't get the same clocks stable with such a low voltage.
I've seen one other person achieve the same settings stable.

You can always try, if it fails, just reboot and try again.

Here are my settings if you wanna give it a go:


Project Kuro
(18 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7-5820K @ 4.2 GHz
Motherboard
ASUS X99-E WS USB3.1
GPU
Sapphire RX Vega 64 LC BIOS flash
RAM
Kingston HyperX Savage 32GB DDR4-2666
Hard Drive
Toshiba XG3 256GB NVMe M.2 SSD
Hard Drive
Crucial MX300 750GB
Hard Drive
Crucial MX300 750GB
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
Custom Hardtube loop
Case
Hex Gear R80
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
LG 34UB88-B Ultra-wide
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MX Silent
Mouse
Corsair Dark Core SE
Mouse
Corsair MM600 Double-Sided mousepad
Audio
Logitech Z906 5.1 Surround
Audio
Corsair VOID RGB Wireless
Other
Cablemod ModMesh Pro sleeved cables Black/Navy Blue
▲ hide details ▲
Chaoz is offline  
post #13 of 43 (permalink) Old 10-22-2018, 08:44 AM
PC Evangelist
 
ZealotKi11er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 45,767
Rep: 1794 (Unique: 1173)
I think 1630MHz is fake. The actual clock speed is in the realm of 1570MHz. Also its just Vega doing Vega things. Best bet is keep the same clock speed and undervolt the card to 1050 mV. It will save power and have same performance. The extra clock speed is not needed unless you benchmark.

Yamato
(10 items)
Ishimura
(13 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard
ASUS TUF Gaming X570-Plus (Wi-Fi)
GPU
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FE
RAM
G.SKILL Trident Z RGB (2x8GB) DDR4 3200MHz CL14
Hard Drive
Samsung SM961 512GB
Hard Drive
HGST DeskStar NAS 6TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 P2
Cooling
Gamdias Chione M1A-280R
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C TG
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
CPU
Intel Core i7-3770K @ 4.8GHz
Motherboard
ASRock Z77E-ITX
GPU
AMD Radeon Vega Frontier Edition
RAM
AVEXIR Blitz 1.1 16GB DDR3-2400MHz CL10
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra II 960GB
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G3
Cooling
Corsair H100i GTX
Case
Fractal Design Define Nano S
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
Monitor
LG OLED55C7P
Keyboard
Cooler Master MasterKeys MK750
Mouse
Finalmouse Air58 Ninja
▲ hide details ▲


ZealotKi11er is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 43 (permalink) Old 10-22-2018, 10:01 AM
PC Enthousiast
 
Chaoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Belgium
Posts: 465
Rep: 26 (Unique: 24)
Quote: Originally Posted by ZealotKi11er View Post
I think 1630MHz is fake. The actual clock speed is in the realm of 1570MHz. Also its just Vega doing Vega things. Best bet is keep the same clock speed and undervolt the card to 1050 mV. It will save power and have same performance. The extra clock speed is not needed unless you benchmark.

How is it fake? It clocks just fine to 1630MHz on less demanding games.

Note that my GPU is now a 64 LC, not a 64 ref.

Project Kuro
(18 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7-5820K @ 4.2 GHz
Motherboard
ASUS X99-E WS USB3.1
GPU
Sapphire RX Vega 64 LC BIOS flash
RAM
Kingston HyperX Savage 32GB DDR4-2666
Hard Drive
Toshiba XG3 256GB NVMe M.2 SSD
Hard Drive
Crucial MX300 750GB
Hard Drive
Crucial MX300 750GB
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
Custom Hardtube loop
Case
Hex Gear R80
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
LG 34UB88-B Ultra-wide
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MX Silent
Mouse
Corsair Dark Core SE
Mouse
Corsair MM600 Double-Sided mousepad
Audio
Logitech Z906 5.1 Surround
Audio
Corsair VOID RGB Wireless
Other
Cablemod ModMesh Pro sleeved cables Black/Navy Blue
▲ hide details ▲
Chaoz is offline  
post #15 of 43 (permalink) Old 10-22-2018, 10:59 AM
PC Evangelist
 
ZealotKi11er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 45,767
Rep: 1794 (Unique: 1173)
Quote: Originally Posted by Chaoz View Post
How is it fake? It clocks just fine to 1630MHz on less demanding games.

Note that my GPU is now a 64 LC, not a 64 ref.
It should not go to the top clock in less demanding games. My FE LC clock speed is 1600 and runs 1583-1587. Never seen it hit 1600. Its close but not exactly.

Yamato
(10 items)
Ishimura
(13 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard
ASUS TUF Gaming X570-Plus (Wi-Fi)
GPU
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FE
RAM
G.SKILL Trident Z RGB (2x8GB) DDR4 3200MHz CL14
Hard Drive
Samsung SM961 512GB
Hard Drive
HGST DeskStar NAS 6TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 P2
Cooling
Gamdias Chione M1A-280R
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C TG
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
CPU
Intel Core i7-3770K @ 4.8GHz
Motherboard
ASRock Z77E-ITX
GPU
AMD Radeon Vega Frontier Edition
RAM
AVEXIR Blitz 1.1 16GB DDR3-2400MHz CL10
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra II 960GB
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G3
Cooling
Corsair H100i GTX
Case
Fractal Design Define Nano S
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
Monitor
LG OLED55C7P
Keyboard
Cooler Master MasterKeys MK750
Mouse
Finalmouse Air58 Ninja
▲ hide details ▲


ZealotKi11er is offline  
post #16 of 43 (permalink) Old 10-22-2018, 05:02 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
sinnedone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,537
Rep: 74 (Unique: 57)
You need to undervolt. Reference cards not only have cooling problems, but power draw. Both will cause the card to back off on clocks.

1st. Set wattman to custom and power limit to +50%

2nd. Set you max fan speed to the fastest that you can tolerate.

3rd. Play with voltage in the P6 and P7 states.

4th. After you find the lowest voltage you can run on core start turning up the clock speed on HBM until you find the max stable frequency.


Stock P7 voltage is 1.20mv so say your cars is stable at 1.15mv and you keep temperatures down you will see sustained higher clocks.

sinnedone is offline  
post #17 of 43 (permalink) Old 10-23-2018, 03:14 PM
PC Enthousiast
 
Chaoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Belgium
Posts: 465
Rep: 26 (Unique: 24)
Quote: Originally Posted by ZealotKi11er View Post
It should not go to the top clock in less demanding games. My FE LC clock speed is 1600 and runs 1583-1587. Never seen it hit 1600. Its close but not exactly.
never said it clocked to max clock in less demanding games. Re-read my comment.

Project Kuro
(18 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7-5820K @ 4.2 GHz
Motherboard
ASUS X99-E WS USB3.1
GPU
Sapphire RX Vega 64 LC BIOS flash
RAM
Kingston HyperX Savage 32GB DDR4-2666
Hard Drive
Toshiba XG3 256GB NVMe M.2 SSD
Hard Drive
Crucial MX300 750GB
Hard Drive
Crucial MX300 750GB
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
Custom Hardtube loop
Case
Hex Gear R80
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
LG 34UB88-B Ultra-wide
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MX Silent
Mouse
Corsair Dark Core SE
Mouse
Corsair MM600 Double-Sided mousepad
Audio
Logitech Z906 5.1 Surround
Audio
Corsair VOID RGB Wireless
Other
Cablemod ModMesh Pro sleeved cables Black/Navy Blue
▲ hide details ▲
Chaoz is offline  
post #18 of 43 (permalink) Old 10-25-2018, 02:07 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
98uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 18,550
Rep: 823 (Unique: 636)
So, an update since i know you guys could barely sleep without knowing what happened.

Short of it, at all stock, the card was pinned to 300w (according to MSI AB). This appears to be some kind of limit, because card would be throttling to about ~1530mhz.

Playing around in AB, with 50% power limit, I set -50mV which seems to have taken it down to about ~280w and boosted clocks to ~1580mhz. I'll play around stonet more tomorrow.

I don't see any option in AB to undervolt memory though and that is hotter than the core!

Just take a poo on his lawn, that'll sort it. Then say his slutty daughter did it. - ace8uk (2017)


98uk is offline  
post #19 of 43 (permalink) Old 10-26-2018, 10:14 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
98uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 18,550
Rep: 823 (Unique: 636)
So, this is about the best I could get. Raising either memory or core voltages higher would cause it to crash.

I know in turn I could raise the voltages, but I prefer to have lower voltage/power use and more stable clocks. I can already play BF1 at all ultra, 1440p and 120% render scale.



Nice bump in scores on Heaven too from 100mhz increase in memory speed. Also, total card power usage dropped from about 300w under load to 246w :



to:


Just take a poo on his lawn, that'll sort it. Then say his slutty daughter did it. - ace8uk (2017)


98uk is offline  
post #20 of 43 (permalink) Old 11-01-2018, 01:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ht_addict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 646
Rep: 18 (Unique: 18)
Having fun with undervolting. Had some good results with settings I found online.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Vega64.png
Views:	65
Size:	5.13 MB
ID:	228568  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Vega64a.png
Views:	73
Size:	3.11 MB
ID:	228570  


ht_addict is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off