[Official] AMD Radeon VII Owner's Club - Page 129 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] AMD Radeon VII Owner's Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1281 of 1477 (permalink) Old 05-20-2019, 07:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
heavyarms1912's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 32
Rep: 0
has anyone figured out a a way to SoC frequency limit from 972 Mhz?

Rig1:: AMD 1920X + H110i GTX | X399-Taichi | G.Skill 8GBx2 DDR4 | EVGA RTX 2080 | BenQ BL3200PT| Corsair RM850X | Corsair K70 + G502 | Corsair A740
Rig2:: AMD 3700X | C6H | Ballistix 8GBx2 3600 CL14 | Radeon VII | EVGA 650GQ | Lian-Li O11D
heavyarms1912 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1282 of 1477 (permalink) Old 05-20-2019, 01:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
newls1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,108
Rep: 14 (Unique: 14)
how do you add more voltage to the memory?

Nothing! Waiting for the 9900k and 2080ti to come out
newls1 is offline  
post #1283 of 1477 (permalink) Old 05-20-2019, 02:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
heavyarms1912's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 32
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by newls1 View Post
how do you add more voltage to the memory?
why would you want to do that? We are anyways core limited on vii.

Rig1:: AMD 1920X + H110i GTX | X399-Taichi | G.Skill 8GBx2 DDR4 | EVGA RTX 2080 | BenQ BL3200PT| Corsair RM850X | Corsair K70 + G502 | Corsair A740
Rig2:: AMD 3700X | C6H | Ballistix 8GBx2 3600 CL14 | Radeon VII | EVGA 650GQ | Lian-Li O11D
heavyarms1912 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1284 of 1477 (permalink) Old 05-20-2019, 03:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
newls1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,108
Rep: 14 (Unique: 14)
Quote: Originally Posted by heavyarms1912 View Post
why would you want to do that? We are anyways core limited on vii.
was wondering cause it looked like a few posts back someone made mention about changing voltage on mem.. was just wondering. im not going to go OC my memory any faster then 1200mhz, so im not really concerned more or less was just trying to learn something new... thats all

Nothing! Waiting for the 9900k and 2080ti to come out
newls1 is offline  
post #1285 of 1477 (permalink) Old 05-20-2019, 06:15 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
heavyarms1912's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 32
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by newls1 View Post
was wondering cause it looked like a few posts back someone made mention about changing voltage on mem.. was just wondering. im not going to go OC my memory any faster then 1200mhz, so im not really concerned more or less was just trying to learn something new... thats all
even with default voltage you can go higher. I can go 1300+ with a soft_pp mod.

Rig1:: AMD 1920X + H110i GTX | X399-Taichi | G.Skill 8GBx2 DDR4 | EVGA RTX 2080 | BenQ BL3200PT| Corsair RM850X | Corsair K70 + G502 | Corsair A740
Rig2:: AMD 3700X | C6H | Ballistix 8GBx2 3600 CL14 | Radeon VII | EVGA 650GQ | Lian-Li O11D
heavyarms1912 is offline  
post #1286 of 1477 (permalink) Old 05-20-2019, 10:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Jesaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 48
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Well, good luck with high memory frequency.
I had an overclock, that stress tests in 3dmark, but fails in 30 seconds in Destiny 2
My stable overclock everywhere is 1.200v, 2030MHz, 1120 memory.
Jesaul is offline  
post #1287 of 1477 (permalink) Old 05-21-2019, 12:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 11
Rep: 0
Well, if you can go 1300+ Mhz stable on the HBM2 then you have the most golden sample HBM2 i have ever seen to this date.
lowrider_05 is offline  
post #1288 of 1477 (permalink) Old 05-21-2019, 01:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Australia Northern VIC
Posts: 324
Rep: 22 (Unique: 21)
Took my Radeon VII apart today and tried too install a old Storm G5 silver CPU block on it after drilling some new holes in the mount plate but the bolts are too fat and I cant find any bolts long enough ~70mm that are thin enough.
The only workaround I can think of at the moment is to try turn down the welder low enough and see if I can weld the thick and thin bolts together.

Last edited by Dasa; 05-21-2019 at 01:21 AM.
Dasa is offline  
post #1289 of 1477 (permalink) Old 05-21-2019, 03:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
newls1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,108
Rep: 14 (Unique: 14)
Quote: Originally Posted by Dasa View Post
Took my Radeon VII apart today and tried too install a old Storm G5 silver CPU block on it after drilling some new holes in the mount plate but the bolts are too fat and I cant find any bolts long enough ~70mm that are thin enough.
The only workaround I can think of at the moment is to try turn down the welder low enough and see if I can weld the thick and thin bolts together.
can you not walk down your local hardware store (lowes, home depot, etc... not sure what you have "down under") and look at what the hardware isle has. I know here in the states, lowes and home depot have a billion different nuts and bolts from SS, Brass, regular steel, galvanized, etc... starting from 3mm all the way up to HUGE. Surely you can find the right fasteners for what you need

Nothing! Waiting for the 9900k and 2080ti to come out
newls1 is offline  
post #1290 of 1477 (permalink) Old 05-21-2019, 04:27 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Australia Northern VIC
Posts: 324
Rep: 22 (Unique: 21)
Current bolts are 3.6mm
There is a Bunnings Warehouse 30k away but there website lists nothing under 6mm but I may go take a look around town tomorrow anyway.
Online Ebay stores list 3mm x 50mm which would be just long enough if I did away with the springs but still too fat to reuse the original backplate from behind the core on the Radeon VII and would take a week to arrive.

The laser cutters were going to charge me almost $200 to make a new mount plate for the old GPU block so that isn't worth it.
Dasa is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off