[Official] AMD Radeon VII Owner's Club - Page 146 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] AMD Radeon VII Owner's Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1451 of 1524 (permalink) Old 07-12-2019, 05:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
serave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 71
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Ne01 OnnA View Post
That's progress.
BTW If on LC the VII is an Beast, close to 2080Ti in LOWs%
So no worry You have Great GPU afterall.

and 16GB HBM2...
Quote: Originally Posted by pdasterly View Post
R7 is a beast and i havent installed waterblock, running default out the box, no need to adjust, very powerful card
yeah man i do plan on putting it under water in the near future, just gotta wait for the Ryzen 3 parts to come now, im still on a 6700K and doing it now wouldn't be good

Quote: Originally Posted by keikei View Post
Dont be too hard on yourself. Nobody expected such performance to come out of a midtier card.
That's what i get for not too keen on reading and doing a bit of research and just pulling the trigger on what's good at that moment

Quote: Originally Posted by pmc25 View Post
Well it performed pretty much exactly as expected and advertised, as opposed to what a few people claimed it *wouldn't*.

If you're putting the RVII under water, it's still significantly faster in a lot of games.

Though I doubt it will be as extreme as with the RVII, of course water OCs could result in huge uplift for the 5700XT too. We'll see.

You can argue it's not worth the price increase, as with the 2080Ti over the RVII. Keeping the RVII on air, definitely not worth it for gaming only IMO.
Agreed, it undervolts like a champ even on air tho, not as bad as some people make it out to be IMO, im talking about the noise profile, temps, and overall drivers headache.

i7 6700K
Some random top down cooler.
2x8Gigs stick
Zotac GTX 1080Ti AMP
500 + 256GB SSD
RM750X White Ed
(other stuff)
serave is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1452 of 1524 (permalink) Old 07-12-2019, 02:34 PM
I <3 narcissists
 
bigjdubb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,573
Rep: 219 (Unique: 136)
Well I'm still glad I got the RVII even though it's been sitting in it's box for a few months. I should have a 3600 to pair with it pretty soon for a living room gaming computer. I'm really hoping that the software has evolved over the last few months because that's the reason I decided to take it out of my system, overclocking was needlessly annoying with things not working properly or reporting incorrectly. If it's still a pita to overclock it then I will demote it to work duty and let it live the rest of it's life never getting to stretch it's legs.

Gaming Rig
(12 items)
Couch Gaming Rig
(10 items)
Work rig
(11 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 3700x
Motherboard
Gigabyte X570 Master
GPU
EVGA RTX 2080ti FTW3
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ RGB
Hard Drive
HP EX920 m.2
Hard Drive
Intel SSD6 m.2
Hard Drive
Intel SSD6 m.2
Power Supply
EVGA G3
Cooling
CORSAIR H150I PRO
Case
LianLi PC-O11 Dynamic
Operating System
Win 10 Home
Monitor
LG 32GK650G
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
Asus x470i
GPU
Radeon VII
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ RGB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 evo
Power Supply
InWin A1
Cooling
NZXT M22
Case
InWin A1
Operating System
Win10 Home
Monitor
Vizio 4k TV
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard
Asrock X470 Taichi Ultimate
GPU
GTX 750
RAM
Patriot Viper
Hard Drive
HP EX920 M.2
Power Supply
EVGA G3
Cooling
CORSAIR H150I PRO
Case
NZXT Source 210
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
BenQ PD3200Q
Monitor
LG 32UD59
▲ hide details ▲


bigjdubb is offline  
post #1453 of 1524 (permalink) Old 07-12-2019, 04:48 PM
4th Gear: Snake
 
keikei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 9,817
Rep: 311 (Unique: 238)
Supposedly a leaked 5600 showed itself, if true, we may have a 5900 sooner rather than later. I dont think AMD would let Nvidia control the $700 tier by themselves if they have the card to go. I will keep the Vega VII, but i'm already looking forward to the highend Navi.

PCMR
(18 items)
CPU
AMD RYZEN 7 1700
Motherboard
ASROCK TAICHI X370
GPU
ASROCK RX 570
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200
Hard Drive
WD Red 4TB NAS HDD (x2)
Hard Drive
8TB Seagate Barracuda HDD (x2)
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 860 EVO SSD 1TB
Hard Drive
WD Blue SSD 2TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1300 G2
Cooling
Noctua NH-U14S (CPU COOLER)
Cooling
Cooler Master JetFlo 120mm Blue LED Fan (X6)
Case
LIAN LI PC-V760B
Operating System
WINDOWS 10 64
Monitor
Dell UltraSharp UP2718Q - LED monitor - 4K - 27"
Keyboard
VORTEX POK3R WHITE EDITION
Mouse
LOGITECH G305 WIRELESS GAMING MOUSE
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598 Cs Headphones
Other
Real Arcade Pro. 4 Kai Joystick modded
▲ hide details ▲
keikei is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1454 of 1524 (permalink) Old 07-12-2019, 07:29 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
serave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 71
Rep: 0
Ok, now i'm really TEMPTED to put the VII under water.


i7 6700K
Some random top down cooler.
2x8Gigs stick
Zotac GTX 1080Ti AMP
500 + 256GB SSD
RM750X White Ed
(other stuff)
serave is offline  
post #1455 of 1524 (permalink) Old 07-12-2019, 08:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
in that video the test rigs are different. an i7 8700k with the Radeon VII and an i9 9900k with the 2080ti. its hard to say what else might be different. But its not a good comparison video.
Dian is offline  
post #1456 of 1524 (permalink) Old 07-15-2019, 10:51 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Skinnered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 131
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
How is the performance of the VII in Skyrim(SSE) with a heavy enb btw? Would the massive amount of Vidram and bandwith be usefull?

Intel I7 [email protected]~4,8 ghz - EVGA X299 Dark - 32 GB GSkill 3200LL - 2 x Gigabyte Gaming OC 2080Ti - Philips Brilliance 275P4VYKEB 27" 5K
Skinnered is offline  
post #1457 of 1524 (permalink) Old 07-15-2019, 11:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
kmii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Hi there, I have a radeon VII since may and am wondering if we still can't edit the bios and if not, will it ever be possible ?
kmii is offline  
post #1458 of 1524 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 05:01 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
majestynl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 1,356
Rep: 96 (Unique: 46)
Quote: Originally Posted by serave View Post
Ok, now i'm really TEMPTED to put the VII under water.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kke4TbKYHao&t=1s
I got my VII on day 1 and when EK released their block i bought one immediately. After installing the block, the card ran for a day before it got DEAD
I reinstalled the stock cooler and sent it back for RMA. Few days later i got my new VII. Now few months later i still have not installed the block.
I have installed maybe 20+ VGAs in a CL but never had any fail. So im still afraid something happens again. Dunno it was the card or it was me this time

Quote: Originally Posted by Dian View Post
in that video the test rigs are different. an i7 8700k with the Radeon VII and an i9 9900k with the 2080ti. its hard to say what else might be different. But its not a good comparison video.
Agree! totally shat!


Last edited by majestynl; 07-17-2019 at 05:05 AM.
majestynl is offline  
post #1459 of 1524 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 09:43 AM
I <3 narcissists
 
bigjdubb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,573
Rep: 219 (Unique: 136)
Quote: Originally Posted by kmii View Post
Hi there, I have a radeon VII since may and am wondering if we still can't edit the bios and if not, will it ever be possible ?
I think the answer is no. There are power play table modifications (unsure what it is) that can be done.



Is everyone using the AMD software to do their overclocking?

Gaming Rig
(12 items)
Couch Gaming Rig
(10 items)
Work rig
(11 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 3700x
Motherboard
Gigabyte X570 Master
GPU
EVGA RTX 2080ti FTW3
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ RGB
Hard Drive
HP EX920 m.2
Hard Drive
Intel SSD6 m.2
Hard Drive
Intel SSD6 m.2
Power Supply
EVGA G3
Cooling
CORSAIR H150I PRO
Case
LianLi PC-O11 Dynamic
Operating System
Win 10 Home
Monitor
LG 32GK650G
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
Asus x470i
GPU
Radeon VII
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ RGB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 evo
Power Supply
InWin A1
Cooling
NZXT M22
Case
InWin A1
Operating System
Win10 Home
Monitor
Vizio 4k TV
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard
Asrock X470 Taichi Ultimate
GPU
GTX 750
RAM
Patriot Viper
Hard Drive
HP EX920 M.2
Power Supply
EVGA G3
Cooling
CORSAIR H150I PRO
Case
NZXT Source 210
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
BenQ PD3200Q
Monitor
LG 32UD59
▲ hide details ▲


bigjdubb is offline  
post #1460 of 1524 (permalink) Old 07-18-2019, 04:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
kmii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by bigjdubb View Post
I think the answer is no. There are power play table modifications (unsure what it is) that can be done.



Is everyone using the AMD software to do their overclocking?
that's what I thought :s as for your question yes I use wattman
kmii is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off