[Official] AMD Radeon VII Owner's Club - Page 147 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] AMD Radeon VII Owner's Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1461 of 1528 (permalink) Old 07-18-2019, 09:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
serave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 71
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by majestynl View Post
I got my VII on day 1 and when EK released their block i bought one immediately. After installing the block, the card ran for a day before it got DEAD
I reinstalled the stock cooler and sent it back for RMA. Few days later i got my new VII. Now few months later i still have not installed the block.
I have installed maybe 20+ VGAs in a CL but never had any fail. So im still afraid something happens again. Dunno it was the card or it was me this time



Agree! totally shat!
Man i really wonder how it goes that way tho, maybe something got short'd ?

As for me, i only messed around with the Krakens G10/2 and ghetto AIO zipties mod on my gpu. Planning to get the bykski block around 2 months time and praying that i dont share the same fate as your VII.


Quote: Originally Posted by bigjdubb View Post
I think the answer is no. There are power play table modifications (unsure what it is) that can be done.



Is everyone using the AMD software to do their overclocking?
I'm using Afterburner 4.6.1 and so far it works well, all i did was turn down the vcore to 990mv and 1850 target core so nothing much.

i7 6700K
Some random top down cooler.
2x8Gigs stick
Zotac GTX 1080Ti AMP
500 + 256GB SSD
RM750X White Ed
(other stuff)
serave is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1462 of 1528 (permalink) Old 07-18-2019, 07:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Did you check the thermals before the card died? Also what kind of thermal conductor did you use? If it was good and cool, With it working for a day and then dying it was probably a bad mount and die crack. I hate to admit I've done it before just over tightening screws.

I have a Radeon VII that i also grabbed an ek water block for when they came out. It has improved my user experience tremendously. The fans on the stock cooler are horribly loud at anything above 50% speed. It also seemed to crash far less while overclocking to similar temperatures. Though some driver updates came out the day I installed the water block, and i wasn't sure if it was being more reliable with lower temperatures or because AMD improved the drivers. To run stable i go with 1900mhz 1025mv, and 1100mhz on the memory.
i've been playing around with 2000mhz core clock, 1072mv, and 1100mhz on the memory. I seem to get through my benchmarks and stress tests just fine. Play for a day or two, and wake up to wattman resetting to default. I've got plenty of room to keep bumping the voltage up slowly, but I still kind of wonder if it's the drivers screwing with me.

EDIT: Serave, if you're not using AMD Wattman be sure to never open it. It will interfere with afterburner and other OC software.
Dian is offline  
post #1463 of 1528 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 05:10 AM
4th Gear: Snake
 
keikei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 9,827
Rep: 311 (Unique: 238)
Greetings,

giving ya'll a heads up as I will be putting up my card for sale here later this evening. I need to takes some pics, but i'm looking to sell it for $600.

PCMR
(18 items)
CPU
AMD RYZEN 7 1700
Motherboard
ASROCK TAICHI X370
GPU
ASROCK RX 570
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200
Hard Drive
WD Red 4TB NAS HDD (x2)
Hard Drive
8TB Seagate Barracuda HDD (x2)
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 860 EVO SSD 1TB
Hard Drive
WD Blue SSD 2TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1300 G2
Cooling
Noctua NH-U14S (CPU COOLER)
Cooling
Cooler Master JetFlo 120mm Blue LED Fan (X6)
Case
LIAN LI PC-V760B
Operating System
WINDOWS 10 64
Monitor
Dell UltraSharp UP2718Q - LED monitor - 4K - 27"
Keyboard
VORTEX POK3R WHITE EDITION
Mouse
LOGITECH G305 WIRELESS GAMING MOUSE
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598 Cs Headphones
Other
Real Arcade Pro. 4 Kai Joystick modded
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by keikei; 07-20-2019 at 07:15 AM.
keikei is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1464 of 1528 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 05:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
majestynl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 1,357
Rep: 96 (Unique: 46)
Quote: Originally Posted by serave View Post
Man i really wonder how it goes that way tho, maybe something got short'd ?

As for me, i only messed around with the Krakens G10/2 and ghetto AIO zipties mod on my gpu. Planning to get the bykski block around 2 months time and praying that i dont share the same fate as your VII.
Yeah i really don't know. Cant say something short'd. The installation is pretty straight forward. Have done it many times. I also did take the time. So no rushing etc..
The only thing i have done after installation is moding the PowerPlay tables as usual. Applied some OC and ran some benchmarks. OC was not stable so got some crashes. After few crashes windows didnt want to boot normal anymore. Card was still working. It was already late in the midnight so i left it for the next day. But the next day the card was killed and didn't start anymore.

Maybe the card was already dying but happened on the wrong moment

Quote: Originally Posted by Dian View Post
Did you check the thermals before the card died? Also what kind of thermal conductor did you use? If it was good and cool, With it working for a day and then dying it was probably a bad mount and die crack. I hate to admit I've done it before just over tightening screws.

I have a Radeon VII that i also grabbed an ek water block for when they came out. It has improved my user experience tremendously. The fans on the stock cooler are horribly loud at anything above 50% speed. It also seemed to crash far less while overclocking to similar temperatures. Though some driver updates came out the day I installed the water block, and i wasn't sure if it was being more reliable with lower temperatures or because AMD improved the drivers. To run stable i go with 1900mhz 1025mv, and 1100mhz on the memory.
i've been playing around with 2000mhz core clock, 1072mv, and 1100mhz on the memory. I seem to get through my benchmarks and stress tests just fine. Play for a day or two, and wake up to wattman resetting to default. I've got plenty of room to keep bumping the voltage up slowly, but I still kind of wonder if it's the drivers screwing with me.

EDIT: Serave, if you're not using AMD Wattman be sure to never open it. It will interfere with afterburner and other OC software.
Sure, i always monitor everything. And particularly after modding/OC etc!
I have used Kryonaut as usual. Temps where perfect!

Anyways, it was a bad card or like you suggest a bad mount and the DIE cracked. Maybe i forced to much and there was to much pressure!

I got a new one from RMA. New card is performing better on stock. Hopefully i will install the block soon. On stock i can get easily 2150mhz!

majestynl is offline  
post #1465 of 1528 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 10:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
kicurry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 46
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
I have installed both a Eiswolf and a byksy on two cards. No issues , both run very cool. The Eiswolf runs cooler with pc case on it's side by 8 degrees. I always install the block then test in system without water connected to be sure it boots. then install rest of water system.
kicurry is offline  
post #1466 of 1528 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 10:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
kicurry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 46
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
If default voltage is less than 1050 mvolts pm me.
kicurry is offline  
post #1467 of 1528 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 03:57 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
majestynl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 1,357
Rep: 96 (Unique: 46)
Quote: Originally Posted by kicurry View Post
If default voltage is less than 1050 mvolts pm me.
My default from new card is 1045mv

majestynl is offline  
post #1468 of 1528 (permalink) Old 07-22-2019, 10:36 AM
I <3 narcissists
 
bigjdubb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,579
Rep: 219 (Unique: 136)
I think I'm going to finally pop the cooler off my VII and put the morpheus on. Has everyone been using a pad or just loading up the paste when they reinstall a heatsink on this card?

Gaming Rig
(12 items)
Couch Gaming Rig
(10 items)
Work rig
(11 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 3700x
Motherboard
Gigabyte X570 Master
GPU
EVGA RTX 2080ti FTW3
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ RGB
Hard Drive
HP EX920 m.2
Hard Drive
Intel SSD6 m.2
Hard Drive
Intel SSD6 m.2
Power Supply
EVGA G3
Cooling
CORSAIR H150I PRO
Case
LianLi PC-O11 Dynamic
Operating System
Win 10 Home
Monitor
LG 32GK650G
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
Asus x470i
GPU
Radeon VII
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ RGB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 evo
Power Supply
InWin A1
Cooling
NZXT M22
Case
InWin A1
Operating System
Win10 Home
Monitor
Vizio 4k TV
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard
Asrock X470 Taichi Ultimate
GPU
GTX 750
RAM
Patriot Viper
Hard Drive
HP EX920 M.2
Power Supply
EVGA G3
Cooling
CORSAIR H150I PRO
Case
NZXT Source 210
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
BenQ PD3200Q
Monitor
LG 32UD59
▲ hide details ▲


bigjdubb is offline  
post #1469 of 1528 (permalink) Old 07-22-2019, 12:02 PM
sudo apt install sl
 
WannaBeOCer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5,161
Rep: 168 (Unique: 120)
Quote: Originally Posted by majestynl View Post
My default from new card is 1045mv
How far can you undervolt it at 1900Mhz?

Silent
(20 items)
CPU
Core i9 9900K... CoffeeTime! @ 4.2Ghz w/ 1v
Motherboard
Maximus VIII Formula
GPU
Radeon VII @ 1900Mhz/1250Mhz w/ 1v
RAM
TeamGroup Xtreem 16GB 3866Mhz CL15
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 500GB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1200w P2
Cooling
EK Supremacy Full Copper Clean
Cooling
XSPC D5 Photon v2
Cooling
Black Ice Gen 2 GTX360 x2
Cooling
EK-Vector Radeon VII - Copper + Plexi
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Tempered Glass Edition
Operating System
Clear Linux
Monitor
Acer XF270HUA
Keyboard
Cherry MX Board 6.0
Mouse
Logitech G600
Mouse
Alugraphics GamerArt
Audio
Definitive Technology Incline
Audio
SMSL M8A
▲ hide details ▲
WannaBeOCer is online now  
post #1470 of 1528 (permalink) Old 07-23-2019, 06:27 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by bigjdubb View Post
I think I'm going to finally pop the cooler off my VII and put the morpheus on. Has everyone been using a pad or just loading up the paste when they reinstall a heatsink on this card?
I can only speak for the EK water block, but i just used paste and it seems to be making a fairly good even contact (without doing any real tests and just looking at the "smear" when i remove the block). Though note I couldn't get very good mounting pressure with the stock heatsink even with a lot of thermal paste and had to resort to a pad for decent results. Saw a video on GN (i think) where the guy was having similar trouble with mounting pressure/contact. But the die has been epoxied and is flat enough for paste.
Dian is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off