STRIX VEGA 64 dont response to PT - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

STRIX VEGA 64 dont response to PT

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-12-2019, 04:11 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
xtremefunky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 21
Rep: 0
STRIX VEGA 64 dont response to PT

Hello Guys,

i just bought a VEGA 64 of ASUS. The STRIX OC Edition.
I also edited the Reg with the "Regeditor". Set the PT to 150% and the "normal" Watt consumption to around 300W and so on.
If i open Wattmann i can see, that the PT is setable to 150%, the DPM`s are accepted too.

So and now. Im Limited to around 312W. Why? Im Using CCC 18.12.2

The Voltage is around 1,13V and the Clock at 1500MHz = 312W
If i set the Voltage to around 1,05V it wil do around 1600MHz at 280W
So im absolutly limited by Watts. Temperatures are fine.

312W is also exact the same result with "only" 50% PT.

Btw. can I flash the LC Bios on my Strix...? will this work? The Strix should be a bit different so.... i dont know.

If anyone could help me, i would be very happy.

My goal is to set the Voltage to at least 1,2V (or better around 1,3V) and to get the max out of the card.
Im not really interessted in the power consumption if the temperatures are in a good condition.

Please help
Attached Files
File Type: zip VEGa.zip (136.3 KB, 6 views)
xtremefunky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-13-2019, 04:21 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
xtremefunky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 21
Rep: 0
Does no one have an idea?
Or im the only one with a STRIX OC here in overcklock?
If anyone have a STRIX OC and it works, please say me your AMD Version and a Copy of your Bios would be very nice!
xtremefunky is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-15-2019, 10:07 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
xtremefunky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 21
Rep: 0
Okay, I found out that the STRIX OC Vega Is locked.
I don’t know if every STRIX is locked, but some
Cards like mine are PowerTarget locked.
You cant get above 320W without any Bios mod.
It’s a pitty.
xtremefunky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-19-2019, 03:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Galactic Rebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Same card here, can confirm that it is VRM PT locked. Really annoying tbh, since it has a dual bios I assume flashing it would be pretty safe. If you do end up flashing the LC bios, let me know how it turns out. Thinking of flashing mine as well, mostly so I can maintain constant clocks.

VEN
(14 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard
ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VII HERO (X470)
GPU
ASUS ROG STRIX Radeon RX Vega64 8GB OC
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series (F4-3200C14D-16GTZR)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 PRO M.2 NVMe
Hard Drive
WD Black HDD
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
Cooling
NZXT Kraken x62
Case
Corsair Carbide Series Air 540 Silver Edition
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Monitor
AOC AGON AG241QX
Keyboard
CORSAIR K95 RGB PLATINUM
Mouse
Razer DeathAdder Chroma
Audio
HyperX Cloud Revolver
▲ hide details ▲
Galactic Rebel is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-22-2019, 09:51 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
xtremefunky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 21
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Galactic Rebel View Post
Same card here, can confirm that it is VRM PT locked. Really annoying tbh, since it has a dual bios I assume flashing it would be pretty safe. If you do end up flashing the LC bios, let me know how it turns out. Thinking of flashing mine as well, mostly so I can maintain constant clocks.
Sold mine and bought a real card. Nitro+
xtremefunky is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-26-2019, 04:48 AM
hex junkie
 
hellm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 776
Rep: 123 (Unique: 74)
Quote: Originally Posted by xtremefunky View Post
Sold mine and bought a real card. Nitro+



Comandante R.B.R.T. (Red BIOS Rebellion Team)
Polaris BIOS Mod | Vega PowerPlay Mod | VII PowerPlay Mod
hellm is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-27-2019, 07:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ht_addict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 641
Rep: 18 (Unique: 18)
Quote: Originally Posted by xtremefunky View Post
Hello Guys,

i just bought a VEGA 64 of ASUS. The STRIX OC Edition.
I also edited the Reg with the "Regeditor". Set the PT to 150% and the "normal" Watt consumption to around 300W and so on.
If i open Wattmann i can see, that the PT is setable to 150%, the DPM`s are accepted too.

So and now. Im Limited to around 312W. Why? Im Using CCC 18.12.2

The Voltage is around 1,13V and the Clock at 1500MHz = 312W
If i set the Voltage to around 1,05V it wil do around 1600MHz at 280W
So im absolutly limited by Watts. Temperatures are fine.

312W is also exact the same result with "only" 50% PT.

Btw. can I flash the LC Bios on my Strix...? will this work? The Strix should be a bit different so.... i dont know.

If anyone could help me, i would be very happy.

My goal is to set the Voltage to at least 1,2V (or better around 1,3V) and to get the max out of the card.
Im not really interessted in the power consumption if the temperatures are in a good condition.

Please help
I set my card to 1732/1125 @ 1095/950mv. Game like a champ at those settings
ht_addict is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-01-2019, 09:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Galactic Rebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by xtremefunky View Post
Sold mine and bought a real card. Nitro+
Nice, too bad you can't find any Nitro+ LE cards anymore. The LE would warrant me upgrading but not the SR

VEN
(14 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard
ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VII HERO (X470)
GPU
ASUS ROG STRIX Radeon RX Vega64 8GB OC
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ RGB Series (F4-3200C14D-16GTZR)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 PRO M.2 NVMe
Hard Drive
WD Black HDD
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
Cooling
NZXT Kraken x62
Case
Corsair Carbide Series Air 540 Silver Edition
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Monitor
AOC AGON AG241QX
Keyboard
CORSAIR K95 RGB PLATINUM
Mouse
Razer DeathAdder Chroma
Audio
HyperX Cloud Revolver
▲ hide details ▲
Galactic Rebel is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off