R3870x2 1440p? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

R3870x2 1440p?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-03-2019, 01:48 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
iNanox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Croatia
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
R3870x2 1440p?

i currently own "MSI R3870X2-T2D1G-OC" and looking into buying a new monitor with a little bit higher resolution
most of games i play (like csgo,lol,mc,wow..) run at 70+frames on a current 1080p monitor so i was wondering if 1440p is possible with +-60fps
i was looking into AOC Q3279VWFD8, AOC Q27P1 and maybe AOC AGON AG271QX but only thing that bothers me is 144hz of agon monitor since DVI can't handle that and idk if it will run on lower refresh rate.
thanks
iNanox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-03-2019, 02:08 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 15,480
Rep: 952 (Unique: 587)
Get a GPU, not a new monitor. Get a new monitor later.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(7 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill 16GB DDR4 4133
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Mousepad
X-Ray XL 26" x 14"
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
Audio
Monoprice Modern Retro
Audio
AudioSource LS100
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is online now  
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-03-2019, 02:25 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
iNanox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Croatia
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
well this one still does the job fine for my needs and temps are still looking good (max 70c while gaming) i just need a new monitor since the current one is starting to show it's age with washed out colors :/
i just want to know if the card could run 1440p panel over the dvi port? and which one of those monitors is the best one to get
iNanox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-03-2019, 03:21 PM
Hardware Princess
 
Hydroplane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Buffalo
Posts: 1,399
Rep: 22 (Unique: 20)
Wow, that is a classic lol. I used to have 4870x2 Quadfire but sadly both of mine artifacted to death long ago. It has a dual link DVI which will run 2560x1440 but only at 60 Hz. A 144hz monitor can be connected and will function but only up to 60 Hz so you'd be paying for functionality you couldn't use.

CHILLER DESTRUCTION
Build Log - White Voodoo
Z390 Station
(10 items)
White Voodoo
(14 items)
CPU
9900K @ 5.5 1.46v
Motherboard
EVGA Z390 Dark
GPU
Titan RTX 2085/8500
RAM
Trident Z 3200c14 @ 4133c16 1.5v
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 250gb
Power Supply
EVGA 1300 G2
Cooling
Dehumidifier
Case
Dimastech Test Bench
Monitor
AOC Agon AG251FZ 240Hz
Audio
Built-in Monitor Speakers (3 watt)
CPU
Intel Core i9-7980XE @ 4.3 GHz 1.10v
Motherboard
Asus Rampage VI Apex
GPU
Gigabyte Aorus Waterforce WB 1080 Ti SLI 2037/6318 1.09V
RAM
Trident Z 32GB (4x8GB) 3200C14 @ 3800C16 1.50V
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA 1600 T2
Cooling
HWLabs Nemesis GTR 420+280 Rads
Cooling
(7) Noctua NF-A14 iPPC-3000 PWM Fans
Cooling
EK-XRES 140 Revo D5 RGB PWM
Case
LD Cooling PC-V7 280/420
Operating System
Windows 10 LTSB
Operating System
Linux Mint 19.1
Monitor
NEC PA271W 2560x1440
Keyboard
Razer Blackwidow Chroma V2
CPU
Dual Intel Xeon L5520 2.26 GHz
RAM
48 GB Samsung DDR3-1066
Hard Drive
120 GB Samsung 750 Evo SSD
Hard Drive
2 TB Western Digital Green
Hard Drive
2 TB Hitachi 7200 RPM
Power Supply
650W Delta PSU
Case
1U Rackmount
Operating System
Ubuntu Server 16.04
▲ hide details ▲
Hydroplane is offline  
post #5 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-04-2019, 12:37 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
iNanox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Croatia
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
i serviced my regularly, i mean like thermal paste and cleaning dust.
still works like a charm the reason i asked for the 144hz monitor is because if i wanted to upgrade gpu in the future i can use it to the full capacity
and thanks alot for the reply
iNanox is offline  
post #6 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-04-2019, 01:33 AM
Tank destroyer and a god
 
Offler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,237
Rep: 84 (Unique: 65)
Quote: Originally Posted by iNanox View Post
i serviced my regularly, i mean like thermal paste and cleaning dust.
still works like a charm the reason i asked for the 144hz monitor is because if i wanted to upgrade gpu in the future i can use it to the full capacity
and thanks alot for the reply
Do you use the card for gaming?

--- Building in progress * AMD Threadripper 1900x * Asrock X399M Taichi * Radeon VII * Gskill Xflare / Samsung B-die 3200 14-14-14-32 * Samsung 970 PRO 512gb * Fractal Design Node 804 * Seasonic Prime Ultra 850 Titanium *
--- Desktop * AMD Phenom II x6 1090t @ 3,8GHz * ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0 * Gigabyte R9 FuryX * A-Data XPG 2.0 / Elpida Hyper MNH 1866 @ 1600 6-6-6-18 * LSI 9211-8i / Raid 0 / 5x Corsair Force 3 GS * Creative Xfi Fatal1ty * Intel I210-T1 * Steelseries 6Gv2 * Logitech MX518 * Samsung U28E590D *
Offler is offline  
post #7 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-04-2019, 02:48 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
white owl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: The land of Nod
Posts: 5,347
Rep: 135 (Unique: 102)
It will give you a display and run games poorly but it will work. You'll probably need to run it at 1080p if constant stuttering bothers you.

Quote: Originally Posted by SpeedyVT
If you're not doing extreme things to parts for the sake of extreme things regardless of the part you're not a real overclocker.
Quote: Originally Posted by doyll View Post
The key is generally not which brands are good but which specific products are. Motherboards and GPUs are perfect examples of companies having everything from golden to garbage function/quality.
Hot n Bothered
(12 items)
CPU
4790k 4.7Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z97 MkII 2
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 SC
RAM
16gb G.Skill Sniper 2400Mhz
Hard Drive
2x Kingston v300 120gb RAID 0
Hard Drive
WD Blue
Power Supply
Seasonic 620w M12 II EVO
Cooling
Cooler Master 212 Evo
Case
Corsair 450D
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Nixeus EDG27
Other
I have pretty lights.
▲ hide details ▲
white owl is offline  
post #8 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-04-2019, 03:31 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
iNanox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Croatia
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
i use it for gaming and browsing the net/watching vids,movies as i said it still works fine on my 1080p display giving me more than 70fps on most games i play and over 100 in csgo,lol,wf...
iNanox is offline  
post #9 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-04-2019, 03:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
senileoldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 290
Rep: 11 (Unique: 11)
yeah, it'll work. you can also buy a cheap rx580 for a little over $150 in most places.

I still remember the 3000 series and nvidia's 9000 series; liked a lot the flashy boxes with 3d art old cards used to come in, kek. The 8800 GTX was such a beast back then. It was the only card capable of running Crysis decently at the time, haha.
senileoldman is offline  
post #10 of 24 (permalink) Old 02-04-2019, 05:20 PM
Watercooled
 
lexer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Argentina
Posts: 865
Rep: 47 (Unique: 33)
With only 512Mb of effective VRAM it can be a issue at 2K even with basic games. You can try with a custom resolution like [email protected] and see if the DVI-D can handle it.

I7 8700K@4.7Ghz / Z370-A / 2X8GB 3200Mhz ADATA Spectrix D40 / 1TB Intel 600P / EVO 850 250GB / 4TB WD Gold / RTX 2080 GAMING OC / NZXT Noctis 450 ROG / EVGA G2 850W@ECO
Heatkiller REV 3.0 / XSPC EX360 / DDC 3.25 + EK-XRES / 3x Venturi HF-12 PWM
lexer is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off