Switched from DVI-D to DP. Now when monitor wakes up, windows plays new hardware sound every time? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Switched from DVI-D to DP. Now when monitor wakes up, windows plays new hardware sound every time?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 03-30-2019, 04:48 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
sirgallium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 13
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Switched from DVI-D to DP. Now when monitor wakes up, windows plays new hardware sound every time?

It's really annoying I don't know if anybody else has experienced this before, but every time my monitor comes back from blank screen after 10 minutes or whatever, the computer acts like it's discovering it for the first time again and makes the new hardware plugged in sound with Windows 7.

RX-480

Win7-64bit

LG 144hz display (having trouble finding the model number right now)
sirgallium is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 03-30-2019, 05:25 AM
Missing the Old days
 
Cerberus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, Virginia
Posts: 4,658
Rep: 247 (Unique: 214)
just a shot in the dark, have you tried plugging in the monitor while the computer is on? maybe windows is just being dumb and not remembering it.. try unplugging and replugging then shutdown


"But I, being poor, have only my dreams. I have spread my dreams beneath your feet. Tread softly because you tread on my dreams."
Folding Rack
(10 items)
Work Folder
(7 items)
CPU
AMD r7 2700x
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
Nvidia Titan X Pascal
GPU
Zotac GTX 980 AMP!
RAM
PNY Anarchy-X 2x8GB 3200Mhz
Hard Drive
256GB Plextor M8Pe m.2
Power Supply
Corsair RM750X
Case
big metal box
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 x64
Monitor
DELL S2716DG
Keyboard
Logitech G910
Mouse
Logitech G602
Mouse
Steelseries Mat
Audio
Logitech G602
Other
steam controller
CPU
AMD r7 1700x
Motherboard
MSI X470 Gaming Plus
GPU
GIGABYTE GTX 1080
GPU
GIGABYTE GTX 1080
RAM
Geil EVO 1x4GB DDR4
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB
Power Supply
Silverstone ST-1000PT
Case
4U Rosewill
Operating System
Ubuntu 18.04LTS
Monitor
Headless
CPU
AMD FX8350
Motherboard
BIOStar TA970
GPU
AMD FURY X
GPU
Zotac GTX 960
RAM
Gskill 2x8GB DDR3
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2TB
Power Supply
Corsair 650w
▲ hide details ▲


Cerberus is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 03-30-2019, 05:40 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
sirgallium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 13
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I will try that. I also realized it could be the USB hub of my monitor because my mouse is plugged into it.
sirgallium is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off