Is my vega 64 nitro+ bricked? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Is my vega 64 nitro+ bricked?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-16-2019, 09:29 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Jshel2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Is my vega 64 nitro+ bricked?

This started after windows decided to do an auto update and restart in the middle of a driver update. For a while, I could only boot when the bios switch is on low power (as opposed to boost). I tried to fix this by booting into windows with the bios that works switching to the boost bios after I got into windows and running restart64 and then trying to flash the bios using amdvbflash with one I downloaded from techpowerup, it now doesn't work at all. I tried running it on a different system with a second gpu, but now no motherboard even recognizes it. Did I brick it or is there anything I can do to bring it back, or do I have to buy a new one?
Jshel2000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-16-2019, 10:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Bad5ector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Halifax, Canada
Posts: 141
Rep: 13 (Unique: 10)
Sounds like a brick to me. If you have onboard or spare GFX card you might be able to flash the original BIOS back to the video card. I am perplexed as to why you would be messing around with a BIOS update at all. If the driver install was canceled in the middle of the install due to a Windows update, the worst that would happen is a corrupted graphics driver. Graphics drivers and Windows updates do not flash any BIOSes so when they are applied.

ShadowMoses
(21 items)
CPU
i7 7700K
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Maximus IX Formula LGA1151
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Founders Edition
RAM
Corsair Vengenace Lpx 32GB DDR4 3200MHZ
Hard Drive
Seagate ST1000DX001 SSHD 1TB 3.5in SATA3 64MB Cache Internal Solid State Hybrid Drive
Hard Drive
Kingston HyperX Predator 240GB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G1 80 Plus Gold Certified 1000W Fully Modular
Cooling
RAD - EK-CoolStream XE 360
Cooling
CPU Block - EK-Supremacy EVO - Nickel
Cooling
GPU Block - EK-FC Titan X Pascal - Nickel
Cooling
Pump / Res - EK-XRES 140 Revo D5 PWM (incl. sleeved pump)
Cooling
Fans - 3 x EK-Vardar F4-120ER (2200rpm)
Cooling
Coolant - EK-Ekoolant Pastel BLUE (concentrate 250mL)
Cooling
Tubing - EK-DuraClear 11,1/15,9mm
Case
Thermaltake Core P3 SE Snow Edition
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64Bit
Monitor
BenQ XL2720Z 27in LED 144HZ 1ms GTG FPS Gaming Monitor
Monitor
42" LG TV
Keyboard
Corsair Gaming K65 Lux RGB Compact Mechanical Keyboard
Mouse
Corsair Gaming M65 Pro RGB Optical Gaming Mouse
Mouse
Corsair Gaming MM300
▲ hide details ▲
Bad5ector is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-16-2019, 10:24 AM
404 Title Not Found
 
accskyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA- Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,322
Rep: 196 (Unique: 188)
First, were you sure the motherboards you tried it in were active pcie slots? In my x99 board there was one or two that didn't even work with a 28lane cpu.

If you're sure of that, my guess is that you blew something when switching the bios while running. Likely repairable, but certainly not an easy thing to find and replace.

900D
(14 items)
CPU
5820k
Motherboard
MSI X99 S Plus
GPU
Powercolor 290x
RAM
F4-3000C15Q-32GRBB
Hard Drive
512gb Samsung 950 Pro M.2
Power Supply
Seasonic 760w Platinum
Cooling
custom loop
Case
Corsair 900D
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
Asus VG248QE
Keyboard
Tesoro Durandal
Mouse
Moinix Naos 8200
Mouse
Razor Goliathus Speed
Audio
SB X-FI Titanium
▲ hide details ▲


accskyman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-16-2019, 10:52 AM
More Vcore
 
The EX1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,559
Rep: 107 (Unique: 99)
Which BIOS did you grab from techpowerup?

You should of RMA'd the card before flashing it. That right there voided the warranty. I do have a hard time believing that a failed software update would of hurt the hardware. The BIOS shouldn't of been affected.

Test Bench
(14 items)
CPU
1920X Threadripper
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Zenith Extreme
GPU
ASUS RX 560 Strix
GPU
ASUS RX 560 Strix
GPU
ASUS RX 560 Strix
RAM
G.Skill Tridentz DDR4
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue M.2
Power Supply
EVGA 1600 G2
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S TR4-SP3
Cooling
Corsair SP120s
Cooling
Corsair AF140
Case
Corsair 780T White
Operating System
UNRAID
Monitor
ASUS VG245H
Monitor
ASUS VG245H
Monitor
ASUS VG245H
Keyboard
RAZER Black Widow Ultimate
Keyboard
RAZER Black Widow Ultimate Overwatch Edition
Keyboard
Logitech G15
Mouse
Razer Naga
Mouse
Steelseries Warcraft MMO Mouse
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
Razer Kraken 7.1
Other
USB Hubs/extensions/cables
CPU
Intel Core i7 6950X
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Rampage V Edition 10
GPU
nVidia Titan Xp Collector's Edition Galatic Empire
RAM
Corsair Special Edition Blackout Dominator DDR4
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO M.2 NVM.e
Hard Drive
Crucial MX300 SSD
Hard Drive
OCZ SSD
Power Supply
Corsair HX1000i Platinum
Power Supply
Custom red sleeved cables
Cooling
EK RGB Monoblock
Cooling
Alphacool Monsta 360mm Radiator-White
Cooling
Hadwarelabs NEMESIS GTX 560mm Radiator
Cooling
Noiseblocker 120mm PWM fans-White
Cooling
Noiseblocker eLoop 120mm fan-Red
Cooling
Noctua Industrial 140mm fans
Cooling
Phobya Slim 180mm fans
Cooling
Swiftech D5 Pump
Cooling
Bitspower D5 pump top
Cooling
Bitspower D5 pump mod kit
Cooling
Singularity Computers Ethereal Dual Reservoir mounts
Cooling
Monsoon Free Center compression fittings
Cooling
Bitspower Deluxe White fittings
Cooling
Primochill Grillz Hex radiator grill
Cooling
Primochill Advanced LRT Tubing
Cooling
Koolance in-line filter
Cooling
XSPC G 1/4 temperature sensor
Cooling
Silverstone PWM fan hub
Cooling
EK M.2 Heatsink - Nickle
Cooling
FrozenQ LFX Reservoirs - White
Cooling
FrozenQ LFX Aluminum Reservoir collars
Case
Silverstone TJ11
Case
Custom acrylic panels
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Alienware AW3418DW Ultrawide
Keyboard
GALAX HOF
Mouse
Razer Starcraft II Edition Mouse
Mousepad
GALAX RGB Mousepad
Audio
ASUS Supreme FX Hi-Fi DAC
Audio
Sennheiser Game Zero - White
Other
NZXT USB 2.0 internal hub
Other
NZXT Hue+
Other
Darkside LEDs and extensions
CPU
Ryzen R7 1800X
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Crosshair VI
GPU
Powercolor RX Vega 64 Red Devil
GPU
RX Vega 64 Limited Edition
GPU
RX Vega 64 Limited Edition
RAM
GALAX HOF Limited Edition DDR4
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black
Optical Drive
ASUS Blu-Ray/DVD-RW
Power Supply
EVGA 750 GQ
Power Supply
EVGA 750 GQ
Cooling
Deepcool Captain 240mm
Case
Primochill Praxis Wet Bench
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲


The EX1 is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-16-2019, 11:40 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Jshel2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by The EX1 View Post
Which BIOS did you grab from techpowerup?

You should of RMA'd the card before flashing it. That right there voided the warranty. I do have a hard time believing that a failed software update would of hurt the hardware. The BIOS shouldn't of been affected.
unfortunately I got the card used so an rma wasn't an option. I flashed the bios because I was told that flashing the bios would fix it, but it didn't. I may just get a new card because I can get one new now.
Jshel2000 is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-16-2019, 11:43 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Jshel2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Bad5ector View Post
Sounds like a brick to me. If you have onboard or spare GFX card you might be able to flash the original BIOS back to the video card. I am perplexed as to why you would be messing around with a BIOS update at all. If the driver install was canceled in the middle of the install due to a Windows update, the worst that would happen is a corrupted graphics driver. Graphics drivers and Windows updates do not flash any BIOSes so when they are applied.
I have another system with a spare gpu, but the problem is that when I run it on one of those systems, it never works, and I don't know how to flash the bios on a gpu that doesn't exist to my pc. When I used a spare gpu my bios said the pcie slot my card was in was unoccupied.
Jshel2000 is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-16-2019, 12:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,459
Rep: 66 (Unique: 61)
Find your bios. Download ATIFLASH to flash bios.

https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/...del=RX+Vega+64
https://www.techpowerup.com/download/ati-atiflash/

Does your CPU have an iGPU in it? Force the motherboard to use iGPU for displaying graphics. Much easier than using multiple GPUs.

1. DDU drivers and uninstall MSI Afterburner if you use it + shutdown
2. Reinstall GPU
3. ATIFLASH the bios you downloaded after Window reboots + shutdown
4. Clear motherboard CMOS or have GPU be default display option
5. Reinstall your main display cable to GPU
6. Hopefully it worked


^That worked for me after a couple bad bios flashes. Could use MSDOS if that doesn't work.

Last edited by boot318; 04-16-2019 at 12:15 PM.
boot318 is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-16-2019, 12:16 PM
I Love this Hobby!
 
Gunderman456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7,702
Rep: 611 (Unique: 504)
Win 10 strikes again. The video bios would not have been the problem just a corrupt driver which you could have uninstalled or if refused used DDU to uninstall. Then you could have reinstalled the driver. I'm not sure who gave you that original advise but that was the wrong approach to the problem. You should be able to reflash the card but since no mobo recognizes that there is even a card reflashing it might pose a problem.

-Guide to 1st Case Modding for Better GPU(s) Performance/Cooling-
https://www.overclock.net/case-mod-wo...ing-guide
-Guide to 2nd Case Modding for Better GPU(s) Performance/Cooling-
https://www.overclock.net/case-mod-wo...e-fan-mod
Fast n' Cheap
(17 items)
Bit'O'Heaven
(16 items)
CPU
RYZEN 7 3700X
Motherboard
ASUS TUF GAMING X570-PLUS
GPU
MSI Radeon RX 5700 XT
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 32GB (2x16GB) DDR4 3600 16-19-19-39 CL 16 1.35V
Hard Drive
Corsair Force Series Gen.4 PCIe MP600 500GB NVMe M.2 SSD
Hard Drive
Seagate BarraCuda ST3000DM008 3TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
Optical Drive
LG 16X SATA Blu-Ray Internal Rewriter with 3D Playback and M-DISC Support BH16NS40
Power Supply
Fractal Design Ion+ 860P 80 PLUS Platinum Certified 860W Full Modular
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Case
Veddha GriderCase alpha V1
Operating System
Win 10 Pro 64bit
Monitor
Nixeus EDG 27" IPS Freesync 1440p 144Hz
Keyboard
Redragon K589 SHRAPNEL RGB Mechanical Keyboard
Mouse
Logitech G502 Hero
Mousepad
ALLSOP Redmond Mouse Pad
Audio
Cambridge Soundworks 5.1
Other
PulseLabz Challenger Gaming Chair
CPU
Intel i7 4770k @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VI Rog Gene
GPU
Gigabyte AMD R9 290 @ Core 1160MHz & Memory 1350MHz
RAM
G.SKILL Trident X DDR3 16GB 2400MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 PRO 256GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
Optical Drive
Pioneer Black Blu-ray 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA G2 1300W 80PLUS Gold Fully Modular
Cooling
Corsair H60 Push/Pull
Case
Fractal Design Arc Midi R2
Operating System
Win 7 Pro 64bit
Monitor
Samsung 245BW 24" 1200p 60Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G15
Mouse
Logitech MX518
Mousepad
Corsair Vengeance MM200
Audio
Yamaha HTR-5830 Polk Audio 3.0
CPU
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.6GHz
Motherboard
ASRock Z77E-ITX mITX
GPU
Sapphire AMD HD 7990 @ Clock 900MHz & Memory 1100MHz
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X DDR3 8GB 1600MHz @ 1866MHz
Hard Drive
Crucial SSD CT128M4SSD3 128GB mSATA SATA III 6GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda HDD 1TB
Optical Drive
LG DVD R/W
Power Supply
Corsair Professional Series Gold AX850 Fully Modular
Cooling
Corsair Cooling Hydro Series H100
Case
BitFenix Prodigy Mini-ATX Black Case
Operating System
Win 7 Pro 64bit
Monitor
Samsung TV 52"
Keyboard
Logitech K330 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M215 Wireless
Mousepad
Corsair Vengeance MM200
Audio
Yamaha RX-V681 PSB/PolkAudio 5.1
▲ hide details ▲


Gunderman456 is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-16-2019, 01:50 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Jshel2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by boot318 View Post
Find your bios. Download ATIFLASH to flash bios.

https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/...del=RX+Vega+64
https://www.techpowerup.com/download/ati-atiflash/

Does your CPU have an iGPU in it? Force the motherboard to use iGPU for displaying graphics. Much easier than using multiple GPUs.

1. DDU drivers and uninstall MSI Afterburner if you use it + shutdown
2. Reinstall GPU
3. ATIFLASH the bios you downloaded after Window reboots + shutdown
4. Clear motherboard CMOS or have GPU be default display option
5. Reinstall your main display cable to GPU
6. Hopefully it worked

^That worked for me after a couple bad bios flashes. Could use MSDOS if that doesn't work.
I have a 2700x with no igpu, but I have a second gpu from another system. Would that do? Also, this may be a dumb question, but I can't see the gpu in the bios no matter what the switch is on, so it will always default to anything but the vega if it exists. How do I do anything to the vega if my hardware doesn't recognize it at all? Am I missing something?
Jshel2000 is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-16-2019, 09:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,459
Rep: 66 (Unique: 61)
Quote: Originally Posted by Jshel2000 View Post
I have a 2700x with no igpu, but I have a second gpu from another system. Would that do? Also, this may be a dumb question, but I can't see the gpu in the bios no matter what the switch is on, so it will always default to anything but the vega if it exists. How do I do anything to the vega if my hardware doesn't recognize it at all? Am I missing something?
Windows device manager didn't detect a r9 290x I had either with a bad bios. Luckily when I tried to flash with ATIFLASH it semi-detected and it flashed the bios (I had a iGPU tho).

https://www.overclock.net/forum/67-a...16-2016-a.html

Go to "ATIFlash From DOS Guide"

The Setup:

1) Create a bootable MSDOS (Win98) USB KEY by following this guide HERE.
2) Download ATIFLASH.EXE and unzip it to your boot USB from HERE. BE SURE TO RENAME the ATIFLASH.exe program to "atiflash" or it will not work correctly!
3) Before attempting to flash ANY BIOS files to your card be sure to use GPU-Z to save a back-up of your current file in-case the flash does not work.
4) Create a backup folder on your machine. Store a copy of all the BIOS files that you have saved. Do not edit or change your "stock" BIOS files.
5) Save / rename the new BIOS file that you wish to flash as 0_NEW.ROM on to your MSDOS USB. Notice we append _NEW to the filename. Do that for any additional BIOS Files on your USB stick. Not overwriting them.

Booting To ATIFlash:

1) Reboot your computer that has the Graphics cards attached and press F10 or similar to bring up a boot choice menu. Select the MSDOS USB drive you just created. You will see the CMD prompt from Win98.

Completing The Flash:

1) TYPE the following into the CMD: "ATIFLASH.EXE -f -p 0 0_NEW.ROM" (gpu slot 0).
2) The first number in the command is the PCIE SLOT number of your first card. So if you have a card in your top PCIE SLOT the number will be 0. If you have a motherboard with 4 PCIE slots the numbers will be 0-3. So just make sure to know what slot your card(s) are in while flashing.
3) You can do this for other cards attached (Crossfire) also as follows:

ATIFLASH.EXE -f -p 1 1_NEW.ROM (gpu slot 1)
ATIFLASH.EXE -f -p 2 2_NEW.ROM (gpu slot 2)
And so on...

4) Wait for the confirmation message which will display various details about your card.
5) ATIFlash will tell you to reboot. Go ahead and flash any other cards using the correct name for their files. (Ex. 1_NEW.ROM)
6) After rebooting back into Windows your screen may flash a few times, do not worry, this is normal. The card is just completing it's BIOS update.
7) After the screen is done flashing be sure to check CCC and make sure that none of your settings have reset as for some reason CCC likes to do that after you flash the BIOS.
8) You are done!


Flashing via MSDOS you have the option of flashing a card in a PCIE Slot. If that doesn't work I don't know what to do. Maybe the card is KIA but it is worth a shot. If you have an older MB I would try that to do the flashing process on that. Newer hardware can be finicky. I wished you backed-up the known good bios to be honest.

@Gunderman456 You are right.
boot318 is offline  
Reply

Tags
Amd , Graphics , help me , Troubleshooting , vega 64

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off