RX580 - Crossfire / Setup questions - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

RX580 - Crossfire / Setup questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 05-06-2019, 06:21 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
NEK4TE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: I am Canadian!
Posts: 569
Rep: 11 (Unique: 8)
RX580 - Crossfire / Setup questions

Hello,

I just installed 2x RX580 Nitro to my system.

Question 1)
How can i make sure that Crossfire is working properly?


Question 2)
For some reason in GPUz it doesn't provide same driver version:
Primary card:


Secondary card:


Is this normal?


Question 3)

Primary card is working on PCIe x16 where secondary is workong on PCIe x8 (is this going to be bottleneck?)


Thank you for your time and help.
NEK4TE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 05-06-2019, 06:26 PM
PC Evangelist
 
ZealotKi11er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 45,480
Rep: 1789 (Unique: 1170)
1) It says Enabled in GPUs so all is good. Run something like 3DMark FireStrike and see the score.
2) Same driver version from the GPU-Z image.
3) What MB/CPU do you have?

Ishimura
(13 items)
Yamato
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7-3770K @ 4.8GHz
Motherboard
ASRock Z77E-ITX
GPU
AMD Radeon Vega Frontier Edition
RAM
AVEXIR Blitz 1.1 16GB DDR3-2400MHz CL10
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra II 960GB
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G3
Cooling
Corsair H100i GTX
Case
Fractal Design Define Nano S
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
Monitor
LG OLED55C7P
Keyboard
Cooler Master MasterKeys MK750
Mouse
Finalmouse Air58 Ninja
CPU
Intel Core i7-6700K @ 4.6GHz
Motherboard
ASUS Z170 Deluxe
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Hybrid
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-3000 CL15
Hard Drive
Samsung SM961 512GB
Hard Drive
HGST DeskStar NAS 6TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 P2
Cooling
Cooler Master Nepton 280L
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C TG
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
▲ hide details ▲


ZealotKi11er is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 05-06-2019, 07:21 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
NEK4TE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: I am Canadian!
Posts: 569
Rep: 11 (Unique: 8)
Thank you for your time and responding to this.

CPU is i7 3930K
Mobo is: RAMPAGE IV EXTREME

Due to size of GPU's i had to use one x16 and one x8 , as i needed room for Intel DA2 (SFP+ card) that went into x16.

Not sure if this x8 will be bottleneck now or not :/

As for driver model, you are correct, sorry about this.

Need to see where to find 3DMark to download and test.

Thanks
NEK4TE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 05-06-2019, 08:38 PM
No.2 in Gaming
 
MrPerforations's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Milton Keynes,England
Posts: 1,935
Rep: 79 (Unique: 58)
hello,
from what I have read, you need to open the AMD™ Radeon™ Adrenaline™ driver, click the gaming tab and them add your games, edit the profile and then select the Crossfire™ mode as user-pre-defined and find and select your game.
then run GTA V and find that you don't need to do any of that, same goes for quiet a few games.
but I believe you do need a profile for the AMD™ Crossfire™ to work, but depends on the game/software writers.

if its 80% of both cards in AMD™ Crossfire™ (not sure if it one or both cards), you should have an effective clock of 2288mhz.
the gpu ram does not stack in AMD™ Crossfire™, its 8GB of GDDR high speed graphics memory being used two times, not 16GB of GDDR high speed graphics memory, but I have read that Microsoft™ DX12 can support GDDR high speed graphics memory stacking if the software supports it.

enjoy your AMD™ Crossfire™, I am on my third set up.


Best regards,
MrPerforations

CPU
AMD Ryzen™ 1700 3.75ghz
Motherboard
MSI™ X370 Gaming Pro Carbon™
GPU
MSI™ Radeon™ Vega 56 Air Boost OC
GPU
MSI™ Radeon™ Vega 56 Air Boost OC
RAM
Avexir™ Blitz™ 3200 CL16 @ 3200
Hard Drive
Seagate™ 2TB Barracuda™
Optical Drive
ASUS™ DRW-24D5MT
Power Supply
EVGA™ Supernova™ 1000 G2
Cooling
XSPC™ Raystorm™ 750 2x EX360 Radiators
Case
Coolermaster™ Cosmos Pure Black
Operating System
Windows™ 10 x64
Monitor
Electriq™ VM280UHD 4k
Keyboard
RII™ K66 Red Switch mechanical keyboard
Mouse
EasySMX™ Red Gaming mouse
Audio
Creative labs™ sb x-fi titanium
Audio
Logitech™ 540x 5.1
▲ hide details ▲



Last edited by MrPerforations; 05-06-2019 at 09:08 PM.
MrPerforations is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 05-07-2019, 04:34 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
NEK4TE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: I am Canadian!
Posts: 569
Rep: 11 (Unique: 8)
Hello,

Thank you for responding.

I will look into profile's , as i just installed couple of games.

As for VRAM, i do understand how it works.

Thank you again.
NEK4TE is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 05-07-2019, 11:21 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
NEK4TE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: I am Canadian!
Posts: 569
Rep: 11 (Unique: 8)
I was able to run some 3DMark Basic Edition tests, my result:




When i click on compare, it shows:



Is this good result? I did not overclock any of the cards, etc.
Only driver (latest) install.

Thanks again
NEK4TE is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 05-08-2019, 07:29 AM
No.2 in Gaming
 
MrPerforations's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Milton Keynes,England
Posts: 1,935
Rep: 79 (Unique: 58)
yes,
but have you maxed out the power target setting in AMD™ Adrenaline™ wattman overclocking software on that run please?
add a profile for the benchmark and then set the texture to performance, the Crossfire™ to 3dmark NEXT as that's DX12,vsync off, changing the tessellation to manual and set none will give higher scores but its meant to test that and should be left on as off is regarded by 3dmark as cheating.
that's why some scores look really high compared to yours or mine, they cheats.

oh and vsync off, if you have a AMD™ Radeon™ freesync™ panel then you should use enhanced sync for games in AMD™ Adrenaline™ profile and set the panel to freesync™, in games you select no vsync as vsync is not needed.

CPU
AMD Ryzen™ 1700 3.75ghz
Motherboard
MSI™ X370 Gaming Pro Carbon™
GPU
MSI™ Radeon™ Vega 56 Air Boost OC
GPU
MSI™ Radeon™ Vega 56 Air Boost OC
RAM
Avexir™ Blitz™ 3200 CL16 @ 3200
Hard Drive
Seagate™ 2TB Barracuda™
Optical Drive
ASUS™ DRW-24D5MT
Power Supply
EVGA™ Supernova™ 1000 G2
Cooling
XSPC™ Raystorm™ 750 2x EX360 Radiators
Case
Coolermaster™ Cosmos Pure Black
Operating System
Windows™ 10 x64
Monitor
Electriq™ VM280UHD 4k
Keyboard
RII™ K66 Red Switch mechanical keyboard
Mouse
EasySMX™ Red Gaming mouse
Audio
Creative labs™ sb x-fi titanium
Audio
Logitech™ 540x 5.1
▲ hide details ▲



Last edited by MrPerforations; 05-08-2019 at 07:50 AM.
MrPerforations is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 05-08-2019, 07:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Destrto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 2,208
Rep: 77 (Unique: 60)
Inside the Adrenaline software, under the system tab, it should show one card as Primary/Linked/Discrete, and the other as Secondary/Linked. I believe.

I ran in to this issue as well when I tried 2 R9 380 cards. If it does not show this, then you will need to reinstall your Graphics drivers for it to update.
Destrto is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 05-08-2019, 09:08 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by NEK4TE View Post
Hello,

Question 3)

Primary card is working on PCIe x16 where secondary is workong on PCIe x8 (is this going to be bottleneck?)


Thank you for your time and help.
With a 580 there wont be a bottleneck. I went from dual x16 to x16 and x4 and the performance was the same with Crossfired RX 480's.

The problem will be with game support. The number of games that support Crossfire is small and the degree of performance scaling varies.
Somar2230 is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 05-08-2019, 09:39 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
doritos93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,273
Rep: 119 (Unique: 84)
https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.red...in_24_games_5/

Guy collected his xfire results with dual V64. This should be useful for you OP.



doritos93 is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off