Freesync out of sync. Broken Freesync. - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Freesync out of sync. Broken Freesync.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-26-2019, 12:44 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Synoxia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 500
Rep: 4 (Unique: 3)
Freesync out of sync. Broken Freesync.

I want to see other fellas with this problem and see if it can be fixed somehow.

Example of correct freesync behaviour or atleast, better behaviour of what happens to me, still waiting for someone with working do a test with RTSS cap (known for perfect frametimes)
CORRECT FREESYNC BEHAVIOUR ON MY SAME MONITOR
What actually happens with my Freesync

Some history on this issue started in 2016 for other users (if not allowed to post links to reddit/otherforums please remove them)
https://forums.guru3d.com/threads/fr...merate.406386/
https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comment...amd_even_know/

My posts on this issue
https://forums.guru3d.com/threads/lf.../#post-5682876
https://forums.guru3d.com/threads/fr....424805/page-2


Hardware/Os info:
Asus CH7 Hero x470 motherboard
Ryzen 2700x
Vega 64 strix gpu
Viewsonic XG2401 monitor

OS win 10 1903 x64, latest chipset drivers (new AMD installer), latest GPU driver (19.6.2), latest motherboard BIOS (2304), latest GPU bios

What i tried so far
Reinstalling clean drivers with DDU won't work.
Changing refresh rates with CRU won't work.
Changing freesync range with CRU won't work.
Reflashing GPU bios won't work.
Flashing another motherboard bios won't work.
Enabling/Disabling/Stock HPET settings won't work.
Unplugging/Plugging monitor won't work.
Installing Monitor drivers won't work.
Reset Monitor OSD settings won't work.
Using stock motherboard settings won't work.
Disabling any Overclock won't work.

Last edited by Synoxia; 07-04-2019 at 09:41 AM.
Synoxia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-26-2019, 12:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Worldwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 283
Rep: 20 (Unique: 19)
DId you try a different display port cable? A crappy one can have undesired effects.

https://www.displayport.org/cables/h...get-a-bad-one/

"Recently VESA has experienced quite a few complaints regarding troublesome DisplayPort operation that ended up being caused by improperly made DisplayPort cables. These “bad” DisplayPort cables are generally limited to non-DisplayPort certified cables, or off-brand cables. To further investigate this trend in the DisplayPort cable market, VESA purchased a number of non-certified, off-brand cables and found that an alarmingly high number of these were configured improperly and would likely not support all system configurations. None of these cables would have passed the DisplayPort certification test, moreover some of these cables could potentially damage a PC, laptop, or monitor. We have not seen problems with the cables supplied by major computer brands, or major computer accessory brands, nor have we seen any problems with any of the cables that have been DisplayPort certified."
Worldwin is offline  
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-26-2019, 01:04 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Synoxia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 500
Rep: 4 (Unique: 3)
I am using the included monitor's one. Should i really buy another one? 1.4 or 1.2?
Synoxia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-26-2019, 01:08 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Xinoxide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: 32725
Posts: 6,212
Rep: 278 (Unique: 247)
Quote: Originally Posted by Worldwin View Post
DId you try a different display port cable? A crappy one can have undesired effects.

https://www.displayport.org/cables/h...get-a-bad-one/

"Recently VESA has experienced quite a few complaints regarding troublesome DisplayPort operation that ended up being caused by improperly made DisplayPort cables. These “bad” DisplayPort cables are generally limited to non-DisplayPort certified cables, or off-brand cables. To further investigate this trend in the DisplayPort cable market, VESA purchased a number of non-certified, off-brand cables and found that an alarmingly high number of these were configured improperly and would likely not support all system configurations. None of these cables would have passed the DisplayPort certification test, moreover some of these cables could potentially damage a PC, laptop, or monitor. We have not seen problems with the cables supplied by major computer brands, or major computer accessory brands, nor have we seen any problems with any of the cables that have been DisplayPort certified."
I was about to say the same minus the quoted text.

Got my girlfriend an LG panel with freesync at 75HZ. The cable actually came with a kink in it and would cause the screen to flicker and tear.
Replaced with another one that came with a different monitor and its all good.

Firestrike vs. Similar Systems
FIRESTRIKE EXTREME ULTRA
LittleBitties
(13 items)
PC of the Son.
(9 items)
CPU
ryzen 7 2700
Motherboard
ASRock X470 Gaming-ITX
GPU
ASRock Phantom Gaming X Radeon RX Vega 64
RAM
Ripjaws V 2x8GB 3333MHz
Hard Drive
Intel 660p M.2 512GB
Power Supply
EVGA SUPERNOVA G2 1000
Cooling
Corsair H100i v2
Case
Metallic Gear MGNE210 BLACK
Monitor
Viotek GN34C
Keyboard
Corsair K75 LUX
Mouse
Corsair M65 RGB
Mousepad
Corsair "speedmat?"
Audio
AKG K240 ( 1987 )
CPU
AMD Athlon 950
Motherboard
ASRock AB350M
GPU
Zotac GTX 1050Ti OC
RAM
GeIL EVO SPEAR 2x4GB DDR4-2400
Hard Drive
HP EX900 500GB M.2
Power Supply
Corsair CX450M
Cooling
AMD Wraith SPIRE RGB
Case
CM Q300L
Monitor
QNIX 2710
▲ hide details ▲
Xinoxide is offline  
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-26-2019, 01:15 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Rocklin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 78
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
1809v2 from March 19' was a decent release (with fewer issues), wonder if runs better?

I always make a full backup then check with Driver Fusion, or Driver booster. There are more devices present than the chipset handles, and MS Update often pushes old drivers or ignores them entirely.

sf
(7 items)
CPU
i9-9900k
Motherboard
Phantom SLi/ac
GPU
1660 SC Ultra
RAM
16Gb G-skill
Hard Drive
970 Evo
Hard Drive
660p
Power Supply
Corsair CX650
▲ hide details ▲
Rocklin is offline  
post #6 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-26-2019, 01:29 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Synoxia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 500
Rep: 4 (Unique: 3)
I could buy this one but it doesn't appear on VESA's website.
https://www.amazon.it/LINKUP-Display...gateway&sr=8-1
Fake DP certified? Any recommended cables? Monitor is 1.2 displayport though.

Idk if 1809 works better but the video i posted is from january 2019. In that period i would be using 1803 or 1809 so windows version doesn't matter.
Synoxia is offline  
post #7 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-26-2019, 02:08 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Worldwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 283
Rep: 20 (Unique: 19)
You do not want to check VESA. You want to check displayport.org. In this case you want a bare minimum of DP 1.2a for freesync. Presumably a DP 1.4 cable would work in a 1.2 inlet.
Worldwin is offline  
post #8 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-26-2019, 02:27 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Synoxia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 500
Rep: 4 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by Worldwin View Post
You do not want to check VESA. You want to check displayport.org. In this case you want a bare minimum of DP 1.2a for freesync. Presumably a DP 1.4 cable would work in a 1.2 inlet.
https://www.displayport.org/product-...bles-adaptors/
yes, here i can't find the link up cable. Maybe linkup is the brand but manifacturer is another one? How i can be sure that that one is a certified cable?
https://www.amazon.it/gp/product/B07...PNWYJU7H&psc=1 found it. this one is certified on displayport.org
What bothers me is:
cable is 1.4
GPU should support 1.4 (Vega 64)
Monitor is 1.2a (XG2401)
Will it work or i have to buy a 1.2a cable?

Last edited by Synoxia; 06-26-2019 at 03:02 PM.
Synoxia is offline  
post #9 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-26-2019, 08:25 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Worldwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 283
Rep: 20 (Unique: 19)
Quote: Originally Posted by Synoxia View Post
https://www.displayport.org/product-...bles-adaptors/
yes, here i can't find the link up cable. Maybe linkup is the brand but manifacturer is another one? How i can be sure that that one is a certified cable?
https://www.amazon.it/gp/product/B07...PNWYJU7H&psc=1 found it. this one is certified on displayport.org
What bothers me is:
cable is 1.4
GPU should support 1.4 (Vega 64)
Monitor is 1.2a (XG2401)
Will it work or i have to buy a 1.2a cable?
I would think it is backwards compatible. Im running a Vega 64 with a MG278Q/DP1.2 cable which is DP1.2 so...
Worldwin is offline  
post #10 of 20 (permalink) Old 06-27-2019, 07:14 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Synoxia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 500
Rep: 4 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by Worldwin View Post
I would think it is backwards compatible. Im running a Vega 64 with a MG278Q/DP1.2 cable which is DP1.2 so...
DP cable should be all the same. Let's hope that fixes it... otherwhise it could be only monitor or broken gpu.
Synoxia is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off