RX 5700 Bios Mod - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

RX 5700 Bios Mod

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 93 (permalink) Old 07-08-2019, 05:44 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Tradition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 90
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
RX 5700 Bios Mod

Has anyone tried to put the rx 5700 xt bios on the rx 5700 yet?? i bought a 5700 and wanted to put de xt bios on like like i used to do with my vega56 but from what i can see the rx 5700 dosent have dual bios like the vega cards


Edit: so aparently they have alredy manage to change the powertables
here is the link

https://www.igorslab.media/ungefesse...-rx-5700-xt/3/

Last edited by Tradition; 07-23-2019 at 06:00 AM.
Tradition is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 93 (permalink) Old 07-08-2019, 11:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 89
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
I think the bigger question will be what is restricting flashing the 50th Anniversary Edition BIOS with even higher clocks.
DedEmbryonicCe1 is offline  
post #3 of 93 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 06:51 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 403
Rep: 14 (Unique: 11)
Rumors abound, max clock for xt is 2150, idk about the 50th though.

THUMPer1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 93 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 07:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ha-Nocri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,239
Rep: 110 (Unique: 71)
Quote: Originally Posted by THUMPer1 View Post
Rumors abound, max clock for xt is 2150, idk about the 50th though.
Max allowed by AMD, or max that people reached?

Also, what is the max for 5700?

AMD
(11 items)
CPU
Ryzen r5 3600
Motherboard
MSI B450 Tomahawk MAX
GPU
Gigabyte 5700 XT Gaming OC (2070/940 MHz)
RAM
G-Skill TridentZ 16GB 3600MHz b-die (3800MHz CL16 1.375V)
Hard Drive
Crucial BX100 250GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C
Monitor
ASUS MG279Q (1440p) + ASUS 22''
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
Kingston HyperX Cloud II
▲ hide details ▲
Ha-Nocri is offline  
post #5 of 93 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 07:29 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Struzzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 318
Rep: 15 (Unique: 14)
Quote: Originally Posted by Ha-Nocri View Post
Max allowed by AMD, or max that people reached?

Also, what is the max for 5700?
Buildzoid and others saying that AMD locked the max core clock of the 5700 at 1850Mhz.

Ryzen Build
(17 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard
ASRock X370 Taichi
GPU
MSI Radeon RX 480
RAM
G.Skill Ripjaws V
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo NVMe
Hard Drive
Crucial MX500
Hard Drive
Crucial BX500
Power Supply
Corsair RMx Series
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S
Cooling
Be Quiet Silent Wings 3 Fans
Case
Corsair Air 540
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Acer S231HL 23"
Keyboard
Corsair K70 LUX
Mouse
Redragon M711 COBRA
Mousepad
X-Raypad Aqua3
Audio
High End 5.1
▲ hide details ▲
Struzzin is offline  
post #6 of 93 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 08:03 AM
1689 Federalist
 
lightsout's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 11,374
Rep: 241 (Unique: 208)
What's this max clock crap? That's really weak. Hopefully it gets sorted out.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Black Box
(11 items)
CPU
R5 2600X
Motherboard
Asus Strix B450-I
GPU
EVGA GTX 1060 6GB
RAM
GSkill 16gb 3200c14 Flare
Hard Drive
500gb SSD
Power Supply
EVGA G1+ 850
Cooling
Macho Rev B
Case
NZXT H200 Black
Monitor
LG 32GK650F-B 1440p 144hz
Mouse
Sensei Raw
Audio
Sony Core Bookshelves
▲ hide details ▲


lightsout is offline  
post #7 of 93 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 08:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Hwgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 603
Rep: 14 (Unique: 12)
Quote: Originally Posted by Ha-Nocri View Post
Max allowed by AMD, or max that people reached?

Also, what is the max for 5700?
Max that MSI lets you to enter, not real silicone limit:
https://www.tomshw.de/2019/07/08/amd...ser-sei-dank/2
it's also just adds 20W for max power consumption, so looks like the silicone has more headroom.

I see there are 5700/5700XT bios files already- who want;s to try first? When RX 570 came out I was among the first to try Nitro RX 570 bios on RX 470, now I don't have the card yet.
https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/...e=6+months+ago
Hwgeek is offline  
post #8 of 93 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 08:48 AM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,093
Rep: 340 (Unique: 241)
Considering they are going the Apple/Nvidia route of locking everything down, doing checks if not even encrypting, VBIOS flashing on AMD is dying each generation more and more. As far as they've said the registry power table hack is gone too.

Sure you can flash anything to anything, there is hardware for it but it is unlikely to work correctly if at all so you're left again with hardware flashing it back and hope it survived. Some of those freeloaders who get free samples are gonna try it and report results, there is no point for customers to go risk $400 on a stupid flash with broken drivers and no dual VBIOS.

There is no max clock, it's just AMD being AMD and their software support and driver being awful as always on launch. Give it 6 months then look at Navi cards, don't bother right now, it's stupid blowers with broken drivers. Good hardware, awful cooling, bad drivers, near non existent software support.
JackCY is offline  
post #9 of 93 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 11:26 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 403
Rep: 14 (Unique: 11)
It's possible the max clock issue is just a software bug. I'm told it's being investigated...

THUMPer1 is offline  
post #10 of 93 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 12:07 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Tradition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 90
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
the max clock aparently its limited by software / driver hope we can get passed it

i bought a rx 5700 but im only gonna recieve on friday maybe once i get it i will post my results
Tradition is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off