Want to disable RX 570 zero RPM at BIOS level - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Want to disable RX 570 zero RPM at BIOS level

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-18-2019, 04:05 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 134
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Want to disable RX 570 zero RPM at BIOS level

Does anyone know if it's safe for me to flash my Asus RX 570 strix 4GB with another bios, one that doesn't have zero RPM?

Would anyone be able to advise me on which bios I should use, and what tools to use. I've flashed nvidia bios before with nvflash, but that's about it.

I've also downloaded something called polaris bios editor. I've also extracted my 570 bios with GPU-Z, then opened it with polaris bios editor, then looked at a setting called "legacy or fuzzy fan mode". Some people claim a setting of "0" instead of "1" will disable zero fan rpm mode. Is this right?

I have downloaded atiflash:

https://www.techpowerup.com/download/ati-atiflash/

So all I need to do is:

1. Extract my bios with GPU-z.
2. Open the bios with polarisbioseditor.
3. Change "fuzzy fan mode" to "0".
4. Save as....does the name matter? Should I call it "Ellesmere.rom" like the original?
5. Open atiflash, do I click "program", or "save"?

The uATX byter
(12 items)
CPU
i7 2600k
Motherboard
Asus P8P67-M PRO
GPU
EVGA GTX 750ti 2GB
GPU
Asus Strix RX 570 4GB
RAM
Kingston HyperX 16GB
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung Spinpoint
Hard Drive
60GB Corsair Force series 3
Power Supply
Cooler Master 700w Silent Pro
Case
Aerocool Qs-200 Lite
Operating System
10 Home x64
Monitor
LG W2363D
Monitor
AOC AGON AG251FZ
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by fenderjaguar; 07-18-2019 at 05:01 PM.
fenderjaguar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-19-2019, 06:01 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 134
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
OK, so I got impatient and just went ahead and flashed it. All went fine, but I had no idea about AMD messing about with this whole encrypted bios and the drivers refusing to install, if you don't have the factory bios. Why do they even do that, anyway?

So I uninstalled the drivers with DDU, then reinstalled them, then ran atikmdag-patcher before I restarted. But on restart, I got a continuous blue screen of death loop, until I took the card out, then DDU again. I then reflashed the bios back to the factory, and reinstalled the drivers.

Damn, what a waste of energy. The most disheartening thing was, that even though I sucessfully flashed my custom bios with fuzzy fan mode disabled/legacy enabled, the cards fans STILL didn't spin at idle!

The uATX byter
(12 items)
CPU
i7 2600k
Motherboard
Asus P8P67-M PRO
GPU
EVGA GTX 750ti 2GB
GPU
Asus Strix RX 570 4GB
RAM
Kingston HyperX 16GB
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung Spinpoint
Hard Drive
60GB Corsair Force series 3
Power Supply
Cooler Master 700w Silent Pro
Case
Aerocool Qs-200 Lite
Operating System
10 Home x64
Monitor
LG W2363D
Monitor
AOC AGON AG251FZ
▲ hide details ▲
fenderjaguar is offline  
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 01:29 PM
Mr. ÜberMix
 
generaleramon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Upplands-Väsby [Sweden]
Posts: 280
Rep: 40 (Unique: 31)
i have this table that shows all the values for the RX5XX family. You can use it yourself, or maybe post your bios here, i'll see if can can help you.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Hellm Fan Table Offsets.png
Views:	22
Size:	23.4 KB
ID:	282126  

generaleramon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 01:41 PM
Mr. ÜberMix
 
generaleramon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Upplands-Väsby [Sweden]
Posts: 280
Rep: 40 (Unique: 31)
I used this bios as reference

https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/...70-4096-170327

the fan table is this, yours should be pretty much the same i guess:

01 17 00 00 02 00 18 00 00 09 03 A0 0F 64 19 34 21 D0 07 A0 0F 70 17 94 2A 01 64 00 E4 12 66 08 78 63 01 00 46 2C 64 00 64 00 64 00 64 00 64 00 64 00 64 00 01 32 37 00 00

01 32 37 > 01 is the on/off bit > 32(Hex) is the stop temp > 37(Hex) is the start temp

just change the 01 to 00, save the bios,fix the checksum and flash it, no driver patch should be needed as it's a RX5xx.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	fantable-RX570.png
Views:	6
Size:	11.5 KB
ID:	282146  

generaleramon is offline  
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 02:24 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 134
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by generaleramon View Post
maybe post your bios here, i'll see if can can help you.
Really? Thanks.

I don't actually feel comfortable with editing those hex values manually, just yet. Do you think you could edit the bios for me? I've attached it.


Quote: Originally Posted by generaleramon View Post
fix the checksum.
What does that mean and do? What tool do you use to do this? Is this used because of the encryption on the AMD bios?
Attached Files
File Type: zip bios.zip (108.4 KB, 4 views)

The uATX byter
(12 items)
CPU
i7 2600k
Motherboard
Asus P8P67-M PRO
GPU
EVGA GTX 750ti 2GB
GPU
Asus Strix RX 570 4GB
RAM
Kingston HyperX 16GB
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung Spinpoint
Hard Drive
60GB Corsair Force series 3
Power Supply
Cooler Master 700w Silent Pro
Case
Aerocool Qs-200 Lite
Operating System
10 Home x64
Monitor
LG W2363D
Monitor
AOC AGON AG251FZ
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by fenderjaguar; 07-21-2019 at 05:38 AM.
fenderjaguar is offline  
post #6 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 01:48 PM
Mr. ÜberMix
 
generaleramon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Upplands-Väsby [Sweden]
Posts: 280
Rep: 40 (Unique: 31)
ZeroFan set to 00, you need to fix the checksum(it's a little fix to pass the integrity check) yourself, i'm using a Raspberry Pi and all the software to do this stuff is not working. Just load the bios i edited on PolarisBiosEditor or HawaiiBiosEditor, both will say that the Checksum is wrong, simply save it. If you reload it, should be fine.
Attached Files
File Type: zip bios.rom.zip (110.3 KB, 3 views)
generaleramon is offline  
post #7 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 02:43 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 134
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Thank you very much for you time and your efforts, generaleramon.

I have opened your bios in polarisbioseditor and saved with the checksum, then flashed with atiflash. Unfortunately, it does the same thing. Fans don't spin! lol.

I noticed that when I opened up the bios in the editor, the fuzzy fan mode said "1" again.

The uATX byter
(12 items)
CPU
i7 2600k
Motherboard
Asus P8P67-M PRO
GPU
EVGA GTX 750ti 2GB
GPU
Asus Strix RX 570 4GB
RAM
Kingston HyperX 16GB
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung Spinpoint
Hard Drive
60GB Corsair Force series 3
Power Supply
Cooler Master 700w Silent Pro
Case
Aerocool Qs-200 Lite
Operating System
10 Home x64
Monitor
LG W2363D
Monitor
AOC AGON AG251FZ
▲ hide details ▲
fenderjaguar is offline  
post #8 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 04:06 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 134
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Arghh! I just bricked the card!

After fixing the checksum with polariseditor didn't work, I then fixed checksum with hawaii instead. After I flashed and restarted, the card wouldn't post, it was dead as a door nail.

Fortunately, I managed to put the 750ti in slot 1, 570 in slot 2 and successfully flashed it back to the original bios.

I am not messing with this, I was sick to my stomach when the card wouldn't post, and so relieved when it was back working again. What a roller coaster

The uATX byter
(12 items)
CPU
i7 2600k
Motherboard
Asus P8P67-M PRO
GPU
EVGA GTX 750ti 2GB
GPU
Asus Strix RX 570 4GB
RAM
Kingston HyperX 16GB
Hard Drive
1TB Samsung Spinpoint
Hard Drive
60GB Corsair Force series 3
Power Supply
Cooler Master 700w Silent Pro
Case
Aerocool Qs-200 Lite
Operating System
10 Home x64
Monitor
LG W2363D
Monitor
AOC AGON AG251FZ
▲ hide details ▲
fenderjaguar is offline  
post #9 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-22-2019, 01:51 AM
Mr. ÜberMix
 
generaleramon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Upplands-Väsby [Sweden]
Posts: 280
Rep: 40 (Unique: 31)
It happens...don't worry. Give me 48 hours and i will prepare the bios for you. I have done this stuff 10000 times
generaleramon is offline  
post #10 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-22-2019, 11:43 AM
hex junkie
 
hellm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 804
Rep: 131 (Unique: 78)
Everything else than a full Polaris10/20 with 580 ID needs the driver to be patched for a BIOS mod.

Since the fan settings are found in the PowerPlay table, you can use a SPPT registry mod. I explained it for Polaris aeons ago in the wattman thread: here.
..should still work the same way.. Zero Fan stuff is found at the end.

Comandante R.B.R.T. (Red BIOS Rebellion Team)
Polaris BIOS Mod | Vega PowerPlay Mod | MorePowerTool
hellm is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off