Would thermal pads fix MSI 5700 XT Evoke? - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Would thermal pads fix MSI 5700 XT Evoke?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-26-2019, 04:06 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
jman246's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 221
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by Norlig View Post
I wouldn't do that.

At stock position, the pad touches half-side of the RAM module, and full of the metal plate.
If he moves the pad to the center of the VRAM module, the thermal pad will touch half-middle of the RAM module and half of the metal plate. (half of thermal pad would be touching the air.

the problem is that the metal plate is only above half of 2 of the VRAM modules.
I am an idiot, I meant to say VRAM temps. Is there seriously only half of the ram module that can cover the metal plate..? Looking at GN’s video in the comments it was corrected the the two VRAM modules can make full contact (they’re at the top on the taller but not side thin part of heatsink)

Good news is, at least for Australian winter (summer will be a different story) the temps seem ok. VRAM hits 80-85 whereas the other temps hover around 75. It would still be good to get the VRAM temps down

Last edited by jman246; 08-26-2019 at 04:14 PM.
jman246 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-26-2019, 11:53 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,614
Rep: 863 (Unique: 631)
Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post
no it is NOT! But it lasts forever, specially if you put those clay sheets into food saver vac storage.

I highly recommend anyone buying top tier pads to buy it in some sorta bulk. You'll thank me later.

if i remember correctly, they go even higher than 11, but it becomes stupidly expensive (the white tier)
Yep, they last a long time. Still got some that are about 6 years old. Even the ones i have on my gpus have not been replaced that long and still hold same temps.

Quote: Originally Posted by jman246 View Post
I am an idiot, I meant to say VRAM temps. Is there seriously only half of the ram module that can cover the metal plate..? Looking at GN’s video in the comments it was corrected the the two VRAM modules can make full contact (they’re at the top on the taller but not side thin part of heatsink)

Good news is, at least for Australian winter (summer will be a different story) the temps seem ok. VRAM hits 80-85 whereas the other temps hover around 75. It would still be good to get the VRAM temps down
If ever you work on the gpu, what you can do on the pads for the VRAM is add a bit of thermal paste on top. Some MX-4 should do the trick. Others use paste on either side of the pads.

EDIT: Winter is almost over, tho. I was there last July and it was raining and freezing. I got sick. lol

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #13 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-27-2019, 12:05 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Irev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 166
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Hey jman,
I've also got this card and the store I purchased from doesn't accept returns if you can please share your stock temps that would be great - https://www.overclock.net/forum/67-a...l#post28098210
I posted asking a few questions about temps etc.....

when running the card stock out of the box its 2500~2600 RPM and mem temps level out at around 92c ... if lower fanspeed to say 2100RPM to make the card nice and quiet mem temps average out around 98c

Use msi AB or GPU-Z to check mem temps... the card does not throttle until mem temps hit 105.......

IMO better just keep the card and let the mem temps run into oblivion.... if the card fails then just RMA..... it will be the last MSI card I buy

RX VEGA64 | AMD | RYZEN 7 1700

Last edited by Irev; 08-27-2019 at 12:33 AM.
Irev is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-27-2019, 12:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,614
Rep: 863 (Unique: 631)
Have you guys tried Undervolting? I use the Auto Undervolt in Wattman. Problem with that is . . . you have to set it everytime you use the card to game.

It seems your card's cooler is worst than reference cooler.

With my reference XT these are the Manual undervolt settings - clocks at 1900MHz (1898) and the voltage to 1009mv. Hotspot still reached 90c but this is in an closed old HAF 912.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	UV 1009mv.JPG
Views:	16
Size:	225.1 KB
ID:	291842  


[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by rdr09; 08-27-2019 at 07:25 AM.
rdr09 is offline  
post #15 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-28-2019, 09:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
treetops422's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 305
Rep: 13 (Unique: 10)
Quote: Originally Posted by jman246 View Post
I just regretfully bought the MSI 5700 XT Evoke (always bought sapphire and found them to have excellent quality)

I’ve seen the VRM VRAM temps and the thermal pads and was wondering if changing them out for bigger thermal pads would fix the issue. If I could return the card I would but 15% restocking with AUD is not fun

TLDR: Would thermal pads improve the temps to sapphire pulse levels and if so what height pads? If not time to sell this card
Watching it right now.
Quick takeaway, 12$ fix, void Warranty stickers mean nothing in the USA, they are illegal.








Sapphire Radeon RX 5700 Non XT Boost Core 2035 Gaming Ram 960 43c Air Water Hybrid Cardboard Blower with a 20$ Waterblock on the core 50 gallon tote of water, Ryzen 2600 4.0 ghz, AIO Cool Mast Seidon 120mm, 3200 ddr3 cl16 Team T-FORCE VULCAN TUF , B450m Asrock Pro 4 Mobo, 700 Watt OCZ PSU.



Last edited by treetops422; 08-28-2019 at 10:20 AM.
treetops422 is offline  
post #16 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-28-2019, 10:36 AM
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 11,174
Rep: 904 (Unique: 590)
Or you could just buy the Sapphire Pulse and save time and money (Evoke is $440 , Pulse is $410) and have a better product.


The only reason to get the MSI Evoke is if you for some reason are making a gold themed build and don't want to plastidip the Sapphire GPU shroud.

► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected] , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: [email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list


AlphaC is offline  
post #17 of 17 (permalink) Old 08-30-2019, 12:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Irev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 166
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by AlphaC View Post
Or you could just buy the Sapphire Pulse and save time and money (Evoke is $440 , Pulse is $410) and have a better product.


The only reason to get the MSI Evoke is if you for some reason are making a gold themed build and don't want to plastidip the Sapphire GPU shroud.
depends on were you live... in australia the evoke is $729 and the pulse is $799
Irev is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off