MSI Radeon VII black bar, black screen, flicker - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

MSI Radeon VII black bar, black screen, flicker

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-31-2019, 05:54 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
aHumanBeing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 543
Rep: 25 (Unique: 23)
MSI Radeon VII black bar, black screen, flicker

Hey folks,
I think I just need to Warranty the card. But my MSI VII is completely unstable under light loads. The card rarely if ever crashes during games though. It's at stock clocks and in a new build but basically the drivers keep crashing. Mostly it happens when I'm browsing the web and light loads. The screen will flicker and a 2 inch black bar will appear vertically down my primary 144hz monitor then the screens will both black out but audio will keep playing. I utilize Windows CTRL Shift B to sometimes mitigate the problem...but not always, sometimes it crashes anyway and the computer reboots. I've gone back to my MSI 290x lightning and the problem has completely disappeared. I can't even remember how many drivers I've tried at this point. But essentially every driver since the release of the card...nothing is stable. But back on the 290x Lightning and I have ZERO problems.

Current setup:
CPU: 3900x stock clocks
Motherboard: Asus ROG STRIX X570-F with Bios 1005
Memory: G.Skill 16GB dual sticks running at 3200 mhz
Storage: Crucial 1TB M.2 SSD
PSU: EVGA 1000 P2
OS: Fresh Win 10 Pro
Monitors: BenQ 144 hz XL2430T and an old Acer 60hz H243H.

Anyone happen to have a suggestion for what else I could try before I warranty it? I've also tried updating Chipsets as they are released for the 3900x but that doesn't seem to matter. I've also tried ULPS on and off.

Thanks!

AMD 3900X, AMD Radeon VII, ASUS ROG STRIX X570-F, G.SKILL 32 GB RAM, EVGA 1000 P2
aHumanBeing is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-13-2019, 07:32 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
aHumanBeing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 543
Rep: 25 (Unique: 23)
I gotta say, the 290x Lightning is a beast. This many years later and it still runs games at acceptable levels. As soon as I get a stable driver for the VII I'm passing this card down to a family member who's stuck on a 650 ti boost.

My Fingers are crossed that 19.9.2 is stable, I see they fixed something with the 5700xt and viewing web content. Maybe, JUST maybe this translated into something on my VII. The VII is just so darn unstable after I re-installed it.

Thanks

AMD 3900X, AMD Radeon VII, ASUS ROG STRIX X570-F, G.SKILL 32 GB RAM, EVGA 1000 P2
aHumanBeing is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-13-2019, 08:53 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
aHumanBeing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 543
Rep: 25 (Unique: 23)
Eh....it crashed hardcore again. Oh well, back to the 290x I guess.

AMD 3900X, AMD Radeon VII, ASUS ROG STRIX X570-F, G.SKILL 32 GB RAM, EVGA 1000 P2
aHumanBeing is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-15-2019, 08:21 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
aHumanBeing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 543
Rep: 25 (Unique: 23)
If I disable and re-enable the card I can get slightly more stability than Windows CTRL Shift B. But overall I'm fairly sure I'm going back to Nvidia next. It's such a shame since this card was so expensive.

AMD 3900X, AMD Radeon VII, ASUS ROG STRIX X570-F, G.SKILL 32 GB RAM, EVGA 1000 P2
aHumanBeing is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-16-2019, 07:24 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
treetops422's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 317
Rep: 13 (Unique: 10)
Hardware acceleration turned on in your web browser crashes, known issue atm.

Enhanced sync was also a known issue.

Installing drivers with the custom option and not using Wattman fixes some problems as well.


Finally you can always resell your card used for almost as much as you paid for it new. Then spend $50 on a 2080 Super. Maybe you already know all this gl!
https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_fro...rt=nc&LH_BIN=1








Sapphire Radeon RX 5700 Non XT Boost Core 2035 Gaming Ram 960 43c Air Water Hybrid Cardboard Blower with a 20$ Waterblock on the core 50 gallon tote of water, Ryzen 2600 4.0 ghz, AIO Cool Mast Seidon 120mm, 3200 ddr3 cl16 Team T-FORCE VULCAN TUF , B450m Asrock Pro 4 Mobo, 700 Watt OCZ PSU.


treetops422 is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-16-2019, 09:03 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 105
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
If you haven't already, in your bios enable above 4g decoding, increases your pagefile in windows to at least 32gb, and try manually setting your pcie slots to gen 3.0 down manually, not auto not gen4.
BeeDeeEff is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-16-2019, 02:05 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
aHumanBeing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 543
Rep: 25 (Unique: 23)
Thanks both of you. I haven't had any luck toggling the browser acceleration unfortunately. Good to know about the enhanced sync issue though, looks like mine is off.

BeeDeeEff, thanks I forgot to change my pagefile back to 32 on win 10 coming from 7. Thanks for the reminder on that one . Do you happen to know how to switch to 3.0? I couldn't locate an option in my BIOS.

AMD 3900X, AMD Radeon VII, ASUS ROG STRIX X570-F, G.SKILL 32 GB RAM, EVGA 1000 P2
aHumanBeing is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-16-2019, 02:38 PM
Madonion.com
 
Damage Inc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 85
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by aHumanBeing View Post
Thanks both of you. I haven't had any luck toggling the browser acceleration unfortunately. Good to know about the enhanced sync issue though, looks like mine is off.

BeeDeeEff, thanks I forgot to change my pagefile back to 32 on win 10 coming from 7. Thanks for the reminder on that one . Do you happen to know how to switch to 3.0? I couldn't locate an option in my BIOS.
It's a known AMD issue. It's got something to do with clock/voltage switching. Enable constant voltage in AfterBurner and I guarantee you it'll work. After a couple of reboots, disable it again.
Damage Inc is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-16-2019, 02:54 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
aHumanBeing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 543
Rep: 25 (Unique: 23)
Oh good idea, I'll try the constant voltage. But curious why would I disable it again after a couple reboots, wouldn't I keep it on if it works?

thanks

AMD 3900X, AMD Radeon VII, ASUS ROG STRIX X570-F, G.SKILL 32 GB RAM, EVGA 1000 P2
aHumanBeing is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 09-18-2019, 12:28 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
aHumanBeing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 543
Rep: 25 (Unique: 23)
Constant voltage seems to have helped. Granted I've been playing mostly Borderlands 3 but I've seen a flicker far less frequently now on constant.

Edit: Crashed right after I commented. LOL

AMD 3900X, AMD Radeon VII, ASUS ROG STRIX X570-F, G.SKILL 32 GB RAM, EVGA 1000 P2

Last edited by aHumanBeing; 09-18-2019 at 12:32 PM.
aHumanBeing is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off