5700XT not boosting in Saints row 4 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

5700XT not boosting in Saints row 4

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 09-08-2019, 12:21 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
homestyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 3,902
Rep: 89 (Unique: 81)
5700XT not boosting in Saints row 4

For some reason, saints row 4 is not boosting my card all the way up to ~1900 core.

It stays around ~1500, but fps is around 90-100. I would love to have more fps.

Anyone else encounter this? Wondering if this is the game/drivers and not my system.

homestyle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 09-08-2019, 12:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,662
Rep: 863 (Unique: 631)
Normal gaming boost for XT is 1700 something. Variables like temp, game scenario whether heavy or light will affect boost. I noticed on my ref XT when undervolted boosts higher.

2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 09-08-2019, 12:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
treetops422's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 317
Rep: 13 (Unique: 10)
my non xt boosts higher then that at stock, turn up your resolution to see what happens, if your GPU doesn't need too, it won't run at 100%. At 1080p your cpu will run at 100% and your gpu lower than that. At 4k your GPU will be 100% and your cpu much lower then that.



Sapphire Radeon RX 5700 Non XT Boost Core 2035 Gaming Ram 960 43c Air Water Hybrid Cardboard Blower with a 20$ Waterblock on the core 50 gallon tote of water, Ryzen 2600 4.0 ghz, AIO Cool Mast Seidon 120mm, 3200 ddr3 cl16 Team T-FORCE VULCAN TUF , B450m Asrock Pro 4 Mobo, 700 Watt OCZ PSU.


treetops422 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 09-09-2019, 01:12 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
homestyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 3,902
Rep: 89 (Unique: 81)
Something so strange is happening. This new "boosting" is not good. I think the card senses the game is not demanding, so it stays in the lower power states/boost clocks. The problem is I have a 144hz screen, so I want the card to go to higher boosts to stay up in the 144fps area.

I'm paring this system with a ryzen 3700x, so I am not cpu limited.

When I increase resolution above my native res of 2560 x 1440, the gpu works harder and gpu usage increases and hits 99% and bounces up and down. Core clocks start to go up. But when I go to my native res of 2560 x 1440, the gpu core clocks come down and the gpu usage comes down. It's almost like it says, "lower res, so no need to go to higher states/boost clocks".

When I play a newer demanding game, the gpu does what its supposed to and stays in the higher boost clocks/power states.

AMD needs to look at how the card operates in older games (ie. low demand situations) and make sure the card stays in the higher boost clocks even though the system thinks the extra power is not necessary.


Last edited by homestyle; 09-25-2019 at 09:45 AM. Reason: gpu core clocks come down, not cpu
homestyle is offline  
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 09-09-2019, 01:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 18,955
Rep: 553 (Unique: 313)
pretty sure this used to happen to me with my Keplar GPUs as well.

i used to resolve it via forcing boost clocks... Did AMD give y'all a way to do this?

however, performance was the same either way.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
post #6 of 19 (permalink) Old 09-15-2019, 07:18 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
LuckyImperial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 977
Rep: 59 (Unique: 46)
Quote: Originally Posted by homestyle View Post
Something so strange is happening. This new "boosting" is not good. I think the card senses the game is not demanding, so it stays in the lower power states/boost clocks. The problem is I have a 144hz screen, so I want the card to go to higher boosts to stay up in the 144fps area.

I'm paring this system with a ryzen 3700x, so I am not cpu limited.

When I increase resolution above my native res of 2560 x 1440, the gpu works harder and gpu usage increases and hits 99% and bounces up and down. Core clocks start to go up. But when I go to my native res of 2560 x 1440, the cpu core clocks come down and the gpu usage comes down. It's almost like it says, "lower res, so no need to go to higher states/boost clocks".

When I play a newer demanding game, the gpu does what its supposed to and stays in the higher boost clocks/power states.

AMD needs to look at how the card operates in older games (ie. low demand situations) and make sure the card stays in the higher boost clocks even though the system thinks the extra power is not necessary.
You might want to set a target frame rate in settings and see if that helps.

It's Asus C6H, not CH6; Fighting the wars that matter.
LuckyImperial is offline  
post #7 of 19 (permalink) Old 09-15-2019, 12:23 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
treetops422's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 317
Rep: 13 (Unique: 10)
Is it stuck at a certain FPS even at lower resolutions?
https://www.overclock.net/forum/67-a...ng-120-hz.html




Sapphire Radeon RX 5700 Non XT Boost Core 2035 Gaming Ram 960 43c Air Water Hybrid Cardboard Blower with a 20$ Waterblock on the core 50 gallon tote of water, Ryzen 2600 4.0 ghz, AIO Cool Mast Seidon 120mm, 3200 ddr3 cl16 Team T-FORCE VULCAN TUF , B450m Asrock Pro 4 Mobo, 700 Watt OCZ PSU.


treetops422 is offline  
post #8 of 19 (permalink) Old 09-22-2019, 11:48 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
homestyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 3,902
Rep: 89 (Unique: 81)
In Crysis 3, there is the 2nd level with all the grass. At 2560 x 1440 resolution, some areas put the gpu usage very low and core clocks go to around 300mhz. You might think it is cpu limited but it is not. But if I increase resolution, fps more than doubles from around 30 to 70+. And the gpu usage goes up to 99%.

For sure, something is up with old games or games that don't demand the gpu to increase usage. There are lots of threads on reddit.

AMD needs to look into this.

homestyle is offline  
post #9 of 19 (permalink) Old 09-24-2019, 10:39 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Jackalito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Spain
Posts: 274
Rep: 43 (Unique: 22)
Quote: Originally Posted by homestyle View Post
In Crysis 3, there is the 2nd level with all the grass. At 2560 x 1440 resolution, some areas put the gpu usage very low and core clocks go to around 300mhz. You might think it is cpu limited but it is not. But if I increase resolution, fps more than doubles from around 30 to 70+. And the gpu usage goes up to 99%.

For sure, something is up with old games or games that don't demand the gpu to increase usage. There are lots of threads on reddit.

AMD needs to look into this.

And even before reaching the grass part of the game. Check out this video I made in August:

In space no one can hear you scream.
Ryzen 9 Rig
(18 items)
CPU
Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero X570
GPU
AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT 8GB. GDDR6 Sapphire Pulse
RAM
G.Skill 16GB (2x8) DDR4 3600MHz @3733 TridentZ F4-3600C15D-16GTZ
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 EVO Plus SSD M.2 NVMe PCI 1 TB.
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO SSD SATA3 ACHI 1TB.
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 SATA3 7200RPM 5TB.
Power Supply
Corsair RM-850 850W Fully Modular
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12A
Case
Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow Edition
Operating System
Windows 10 x64 Pro for Workstations
Monitor
LG UltraWide 34UC79G-B 34" Curved IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Keyboard
Logitech Gaming G513 Carbon
Mouse
Logitech G903
Mousepad
ASUS ROG Stealth
Audio
Realtek ALC1220 + Logitech Z625 2.1 Speaker Set
Other
Fan Cases: 5x Noctua NF-P14s Redux 140mm 1500 RPM PWM
Other
APC Back 1400VA
▲ hide details ▲
Jackalito is offline  
post #10 of 19 (permalink) Old 09-25-2019, 09:57 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
homestyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 3,902
Rep: 89 (Unique: 81)
Quote: Originally Posted by Jackalito View Post
And even before reaching the grass part of the game. Check out this video I made in August:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wsQlYw4L7-w
Interesting. I have the same cpu and gpu (sapphire pulse).

That specific part of the first level is very taxing. I switched my cpu and gpu in the middle of the second level, so I thought my weak system was the problem in that part of the first level.

Even when you lower object to low, your gpu is still only working 80%.

Does VSR work for you in 19.9.2 drivers? I increase my res to fake the gpu into working harder, but that means I can only target ~60 fps. Because lowering res to increase fps doesn't work.

homestyle is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off