rx 470 8gb or rx 570 4gb - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

rx 470 8gb or rx 570 4gb

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 30 (permalink) Old 11-05-2019, 12:27 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
mihgeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 37
Rep: 0
rx 470 8gb or rx 570 4gb

Hello all,i have: i5 3570(3400mhz-bost 3800mhz),ddr3 8gb ram,msi,1155 chipset h61.sursa:FSP HEXA85+ 650w
and i found with same price rx 570 4gb and rx 470 8gb,i read in forum rx 570 is over rx 470 with 10% performance
but which is good chose rx 570 with 4 gb or rx 470 with 8 gb? and make bootle neck with my specs?
mihgeo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 30 (permalink) Old 11-05-2019, 12:34 PM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 39,108
Rep: 2787 (Unique: 1646)
Really depends what you are going to use the GPU for which games and at what resolution
If you are using a sub 1080P monitor the 4 GB RX 570 is good enough

Dumpster fire
(27 items)
Seravee
(18 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard
Asrock x570 Taichi
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
RAM
G Skill TridentZ
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1,92 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST14000NE0008
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf ST12000VN0007
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST12000NE0007
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST16000NE000
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S Chromax
Case
Phanteks Luxe 2
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
RHA L1 Dacamp
Audio
Sennheiser HD 599
Audio
Dali E 12 F
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 1
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 2
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Other
Vegas MBA 60cm LED Strip
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
GTX 1060 3 GB wth blower style cooler
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus GX 650 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
AOC 24G2U
Keyboard
Corsair Gaming STRAFE RGB Mechanical
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
Roccat Sense Metor
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Other
CableMod 30 CM Magnetic Red LED strip
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova G2 750 Watt
Monitor
LG 24MP59G-P
Mouse
Logitech MX518 Hero
Other
Delock PCI-E to M.2 NVME Adaptor Card
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
post #3 of 30 (permalink) Old 11-05-2019, 12:40 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ha-Nocri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3,325
Rep: 110 (Unique: 71)
I would get 570, 4GB is enough for 1080p. If it isn't just reduce textures quality a notch and it should be fine.

I would also get 480 4GB if you can find it and is in the same price range

AMD
(12 items)
CPU
Ryzen r5 3600
Motherboard
MSI B450 Tomahawk MAX
GPU
Gigabyte 5700 XT Gaming OC (2070/940 MHz)
RAM
G-Skill TridentZ 16GB 3600MHz b-die (3800MHz CL16 1.375V)
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Cooling
Corsair H115i PLATINUM
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C
Monitor
ASUS MG279Q (1440p) + ASUS 22''
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
Kingston HyperX Cloud II
▲ hide details ▲
Ha-Nocri is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 30 (permalink) Old 11-05-2019, 12:44 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
mihgeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 37
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by shilka View Post
Really depends what you are going to use the GPU for which games and at what resolution
If you are using a sub 1080P monitor the 4 GB RX 570 is good enough
shilka why more new game need minim 4 gb vram with minimum spech down 720p?i have monitor 1080p
mihgeo is offline  
post #5 of 30 (permalink) Old 11-05-2019, 01:05 PM
New to OCN?
 
PontiacGTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 26,849
Rep: 1543 (Unique: 926)
if the 470 can reach same clock via overclock I would get that forget about 4gb on 1080p unless you dont mind reducing the graphics quality
PontiacGTX is offline  
post #6 of 30 (permalink) Old 11-05-2019, 01:10 PM
What goes here?
 
speed_demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,932
Rep: 103 (Unique: 81)
IIRC the 8gb version is more than just the additional Vram - It's more powerful as well. Seems like having a bit more power would be beneficial to your system. I do know the price difference is quite small between the two either way.

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?


speed_demon is online now  
post #7 of 30 (permalink) Old 11-05-2019, 01:27 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
mihgeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 37
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by speed_demon View Post
IIRC the 8gb version is more than just the additional Vram - It's more powerful as well. Seems like having a bit more power would be beneficial to your system. I do know the price difference is quite small between the two either way.
So if buy rx 470 with 8gb and make OVERCLOK is egual or up rx 570 4gb?
mihgeo is offline  
post #8 of 30 (permalink) Old 11-06-2019, 10:23 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
mihgeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 37
Rep: 0
i want to buy second-hand,so if the person have for example graphic card with bios modification mining(lies to me),how to test to view is normal or modification bios,simply put in to PC and after start graphics card black screen or artefact means is bios -modification?how view the true?
mihgeo is offline  
post #9 of 30 (permalink) Old 11-07-2019, 08:49 AM
New to OCN?
 
PontiacGTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 26,849
Rep: 1543 (Unique: 926)
Quote: Originally Posted by mihgeo View Post
So if buy rx 470 with 8gb and make OVERCLOK is egual or up rx 570 4gb?
If it has the same clock speed, it will perform exactly the same, ASSUMING it will have proper cooling and it will not throttle the gpu due to temperature, if you run out of vram (for example if you max out graphics setting, assuming it is playable) framerates will drop if you reach the vram limit


the only way to prove they havent changed anything in bios is using TPU's Database GPU BIOS and compare both files. one will differ in the power limit or memory timming strap.

but I mean if it runs fine with the modded bios and the performance is around the same as benchmark (may differ since different models have different clock speed)

I maxed Metro exodus in 1080p with a R9 290 (around rx 470 performance) when I ran out of vram the frame rate dropped from 33 to 8-5fps

Last edited by PontiacGTX; 11-07-2019 at 08:54 AM.
PontiacGTX is offline  
post #10 of 30 (permalink) Old 11-08-2019, 07:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
CravinR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 16,372
Rep: 989 (Unique: 751)
My RX480 8GB is faster than my RX570 4gb.
The 570 does have some issues with large texture packs so I recommend the higher VRAM gpu

https://www.3dmark.com/compare/fs/18865945/fs/18885041#

R7 [email protected] EVGA GTX1070ti https://valid.x86.fr/tim79f
R7 2700x Gigabyte 1070 G1 Gaming https://valid.x86.fr/xtycl9
R7 [email protected] MSI 980ti https://valid.x86.fr/jxeld9
R7 [email protected] Gigabyte RX480 8gb https://valid.x86.fr/r5kdfu
Ryzen 1700x 980ti
(9 items)
Asus G75vw
(9 items)
CPU
3700x
Motherboard
MSI X470 Gaming Plus
GPU
EVGA 1070ti 8gb
RAM
G.Skill 16gb FlareX 3200mhz
Hard Drive
Samsung 1tb m..2
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 500
Hard Drive
WD 3tb
Power Supply
Seasonic 1050x
Cooling
Gammax 400
Case
Coolermaster Masterbox
CPU
ryzen 7 1700x
Motherboard
MSI B450M Gaming Plus
GPU
MSI 980ti Armor 2X
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ 16gb 3200mhz (2x8gb)
Hard Drive
Team 1tb ssd
Hard Drive
WD 3tB Blue
Power Supply
Corsair 750watt semi-modular
Cooling
Gammax 400
Case
Deepcool Tesseract Blue
CPU
i7-3610QM
Motherboard
Asus Laptop
GPU
Nvidia GTX 660m 2gb
RAM
16 gb 1600mhz (4x4gb)
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500 gb
Hard Drive
Seagate 750gb 7200rpm
Optical Drive
Asus DVDRW
Operating System
Windows 7 x64
Monitor
17.3" 1080P
▲ hide details ▲


CravinR1 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off