[5700] No boot/post with dual monitor, boots with 1 just fine, dual monitors work great on Bios and Windows when booted - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

[5700] No boot/post with dual monitor, boots with 1 just fine, dual monitors work great on Bios and Windows when booted

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-11-2020, 12:52 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Pott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 224
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
[5700] No boot/post with dual monitor, boots with 1 just fine, dual monitors work great on Bios and Windows when booted

I have built several computers in the past and this build is the first to have ever given me any kind of grief... https://pcpartpicker.com/list/dPvW9G for parts list.

Symptoms:
- When booting with both my monitors, PC starts, fans run, power LED is on, but no graphics are sent. I don't think it even goes post-Post, since pressing the power button to restart does nothing. The only way I can get out of this situation is to switch the power supply off
- When booting with my main monitor (32" Samsung S32D850 at 1440), same exact situation
- When booting with my secondary monitor (24" LG 24GM77 at 1080), the PC boots fine
I've tried pretty much everything, and this is the only situation I can get it to boot: with my secondary, vertical monitor. I then plug my main monitor after I hit the Bios screen and it's fine from there.

PSU is a Corsair AX850 which worked perfectly in my previous build and has plenty sufficient power.

All drivers are up to date; Windows update, BIOS, graphics. The Device Manager doesn't show any unknown devices. Once booted, I plug my other monitors and everything works just fine.
I also tried the same exact setup down to the cable with my old GTX970, and it worked/booted just fine with either/both monitors. Only the 5700 shows these symptoms. No post, no boot.

Nothing is plugged into the monitors; no USB stick, peripherals etc... That's about the only tip I found for similar-ish situations I found while looking for my symptoms.

Thanks for any tips on how to fix this! This is my first AMD build and it's had nothing but trouble getting started, so I'd love to get it running and for it to maybe change my mind.

Pott is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-11-2020, 01:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 19,124
Rep: 874 (Unique: 637)
It is booting but no display?

Are you using DP cable for the main monitor?

If so, my suggestion is try another cable.

Also, what driver are you using? Did you download it directly from AMD site?

One other thing, did you install the latest chipset driver for the motherboard? It should be downloaded directly from the manufacturer's site.

2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-11-2020, 01:57 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Pott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 224
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
No boot at all, not even post.
It boots all fine and perfectly if I use my GTX970 in the same system. Both DP cables work fiune.

I downloaded the drivers from AMD directly indeed. It's 19.12.2 which appears to be the most up to date. I did try re-installing it as well, to no avail.

Motherboard is fully up-to-date with the F11 bios.


Last edited by Pott; 01-11-2020 at 02:01 AM.
Pott is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-11-2020, 02:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 19,124
Rep: 874 (Unique: 637)
Quote: Originally Posted by Pott View Post
No boot at all, not even post.
It boots all fine and perfectly if I use my GTX970 in the same system. Both DP cables work fiune.

I downloaded the drivers from AMD directly indeed. It's 19.12.2 which appears to be the most up to date. I did try re-installing it as well, to no avail.

Motherboard is fully up-to-date with the F11 bios.
Yah, the DP cable that works with one card may not work on another at times.

The other driver i was referring to is the Chipset Driver.

https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard...driver-chipset

The latest driver for the card has a thread here.

https://www.overclock.net/forum/226-...-20-1-1-a.html

EDIT: Have you tried to set the PCIe to 3.0 in BIOS? I've read X570 have issues with cards set at PCIe 4.0.

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by rdr09; 01-11-2020 at 02:19 AM.
rdr09 is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-11-2020, 03:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: FIN
Posts: 254
Rep: 8 (Unique: 6)
I have same issue with same GPU. I think it detects the display too slow so we dont see uefi loading screen.


Last edited by Miiksu; 01-11-2020 at 04:29 AM.
Miiksu is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-11-2020, 03:15 AM
Why is it smoking?
 
Mr. Mojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: TX
Posts: 3,897
Rep: 361 (Unique: 296)
I'd also recommend trying gen 3 mode. You won't lose any performance but it will help with compatibility, especially if you are using a vertical mount adapter cable. I have a similar problem with my sig rig and gen 3 mode is the fix for it.

Black Feathers
(22 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 3700x
Motherboard
Gigabyte x570 Aorus Pro Wifi
GPU
Sapphire Radeon RX 5700 XT
RAM
Crucial Ballistix Elite DDR4 3600
Hard Drive
Sabrent Rocket NVMe PCIe 4.0 M.2 2280
Hard Drive
Sabrent Rocket NVMe PCIe M.2 2280
Power Supply
Seasonic FOCUS Plus 750
Cooling
EK-KIT Classic RGB P360
Cooling
EK-Vector Radeon RX 5700 +XT RGB - Nickel + Plexi
Cooling
Arctic P12 PWM PST
Cooling
DEEPCOOL RF120M
Cooling
XSPC G1/4" Inline 10k Sensor, Chrome
Cooling
EK-CryoFuel Solid Cloud White (Premix 1000mL)
Case
Lian-Li PC O11 Dynamic (white)
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Viotek GFT27DB
Monitor
BenQ GL2760H
Keyboard
Logitech G213
Mouse
Logitech G502 Hero
Mousepad
Enhance GX-MP6
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50x
Audio
Logitech Z333
CPU
Intel Core i7 4710HQ
GPU
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970M
RAM
16GB DDR3L
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Hard Drive
HGST Travelstar 7K100
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
BenQ XL2720T
Keyboard
Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Mouse
Gigabyte M8000X
Mouse
Steelseries
Audio
Audio-technica ATHM40x
Audio
MTX iX1 Headphones
▲ hide details ▲


Mr. Mojo is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-11-2020, 03:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 19,124
Rep: 874 (Unique: 637)
Quote: Originally Posted by Miiksu View Post
I have same issue with sane GPU. I think it detects the display too slow so we dont see uefi loading screen.
Why is that? Does the monitor driver or whatever needs updating or is it the flaw in the Navi.

My 5700 is hooked up to a 4K monitor via DP. When i boot, the monitor cycles thru - DVI>HDMI, then finally DP. It takes forever but both my 5700 and XT wait and work.

I broke the original DP cable a awhile back and bought a cheap one in Micro Center, which works without issue. It was like 10$.

EDIT: Could it be a function in BIOS? Fast boot? I have an Asus motherboard, btw. So, no clue about Giga.

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by rdr09; 01-11-2020 at 03:20 AM.
rdr09 is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-11-2020, 12:53 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Pott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 224
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Thanks all! Some good suggestions here;

* I tried swapping cables, but the same thing happened
* I tried PCIe gen 3 mode, but no change
* All display drivers are up-to-date
* Fastboot is not enabled
* Bios chipset is up-to-date

I think that with 2 displays, or display A only connected, my PC doesn't even go to the UEFI. The ONLY way I can get this far is by plugging only display B, wait for the UEFI screen at least, then plug in display A and all's good and well from there.

I am downloading the latest driver release (20.1.1), we'll see...

EDIT: driver update didn't do anything, same exact symptoms are still present.


Last edited by Pott; 01-11-2020 at 01:01 PM.
Pott is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-13-2020, 12:49 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Pott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 224
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Well, I AM stupid.

It was the cable.

I HAD tried the following: monitor that didn't work, with the cable of the monitor that worked, to the GPU output that worked. That hadn't fixed anything.

Today I tried booting the previous setup with the second monitor turned-off, rather than unplugged. That didn't do anything either.

Hence, prior to re-building my prior system with my current PSU and GPU to test which would have been a wee hassle, I found myself a completely different DP cable, and tried booting with both monitors: the one that always worked kept its cable, the one that didn't with the new cable.

And lo: it booted just fine.

This is doubly-weird as both cables I used before were the same (Amazon basics Display Port)! Not to mention, they both DID work, since once booted, I could add the other screen. Finally, in my previous system, both cables worked fine.

So I have no idea why this setup gave me that much grief. But I have a working system now with dual monitors, kept my DP setup, and above all, I was finally able to do my cable management and close the damn box.

Thanks all for reminding me to NOT take anything for granted and test everything I am able to test, no matter my own preconceptions and assumptions!

Pott is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-17-2020, 06:55 PM
Why is it smoking?
 
Mr. Mojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: TX
Posts: 3,897
Rep: 361 (Unique: 296)
DP is a combination of voodoo, witchcraft, and stubbed toes developed by mentally challenged demons in the darkest pits of hell, so your solution sounds legit.

Black Feathers
(22 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 3700x
Motherboard
Gigabyte x570 Aorus Pro Wifi
GPU
Sapphire Radeon RX 5700 XT
RAM
Crucial Ballistix Elite DDR4 3600
Hard Drive
Sabrent Rocket NVMe PCIe 4.0 M.2 2280
Hard Drive
Sabrent Rocket NVMe PCIe M.2 2280
Power Supply
Seasonic FOCUS Plus 750
Cooling
EK-KIT Classic RGB P360
Cooling
EK-Vector Radeon RX 5700 +XT RGB - Nickel + Plexi
Cooling
Arctic P12 PWM PST
Cooling
DEEPCOOL RF120M
Cooling
XSPC G1/4" Inline 10k Sensor, Chrome
Cooling
EK-CryoFuel Solid Cloud White (Premix 1000mL)
Case
Lian-Li PC O11 Dynamic (white)
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Viotek GFT27DB
Monitor
BenQ GL2760H
Keyboard
Logitech G213
Mouse
Logitech G502 Hero
Mousepad
Enhance GX-MP6
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50x
Audio
Logitech Z333
CPU
Intel Core i7 4710HQ
GPU
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970M
RAM
16GB DDR3L
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Hard Drive
HGST Travelstar 7K100
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
BenQ XL2720T
Keyboard
Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Mouse
Gigabyte M8000X
Mouse
Steelseries
Audio
Audio-technica ATHM40x
Audio
MTX iX1 Headphones
▲ hide details ▲


Mr. Mojo is offline  
Reply

Tags
5700 , Boot , troubleshot

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off