RX480 driver crash - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

RX480 driver crash

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-27-2020, 08:13 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 363
Rep: 11 (Unique: 10)
RX480 driver crash

Just built this PC and even with stock settings it crashed with games like CS GO and fortnite.

MB: Asrock B450m
CPU: Ryzen 1600
GPU: MSI RX480 8 GB
PSU: EVGA 600W
RAM: 8 GB

Everything is fine and dandy until you start playing and get into more graphic heavy gaming.

Tried scouring google for a solution and the only thing I got to work is where someone downclocked the GPU (I have mine at -5%). With it at that setting i can play everything just fine.

Looking for a remedy cause I dont want to be held back esp. since I have this 1600 rocking 4.0 GHz
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	GPU settings.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	166.8 KB
ID:	322318  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Driver info.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	28.0 KB
ID:	322322  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Sys info.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	148.1 KB
ID:	322324  

Click image for larger version

Name:	OC settings.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	155.0 KB
ID:	322326  

SlAyEr08 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-27-2020, 08:35 PM
OG AMD
 
Redwoodz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 8,608
Rep: 597 (Unique: 465)
At this point I would rec. reverting to the 2019 drivers until they get these new UI stable.

https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/4d8m5e-6.png
https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/bs72bx-6.png
AMD Athlon II 450 @4.74GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2204588
AMD MaxxMemm Rankings
960T @ 4.6GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2171450
RedwoodCustomPC
AM4
(6 items)
Redwoodz
(10 items)
Professional
(13 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard
ASRock X470 Taichi
GPU
MSI RX570 Armor MKII 8GB
RAM
GSKill Trident Z D-die
RAM
TeamGroup Excalibur
Power Supply
GSKill Ripjaws PS850G
CPU
AMD FX Vishera 8350
Motherboard
ASRock Extreme 9 990FX
GPU
HIS X 7970 IceQ
RAM
Gskill Trident
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-760XP
Cooling
TT Water 2.0
Monitor
Samsung Series 9 27"
Keyboard
Mionix Zibal
Mouse
Mionix 5000
CPU
Phenom II X6 1100t
Motherboard
MSI 890FX GD65
GPU
MSI Radeon HD5670
RAM
GSkill RipjawsX DDR3 PC3 12800 2x4GB CL8
Hard Drive
WD Black 1TB SATA III
Optical Drive
Samsung BD
Power Supply
Kingwin Lazer Platinum 500w
Cooling
Zalman 9900MAX
Case
Fractal Design R3
Operating System
Windows 7 64 Professional
Monitor
AOC 22" LED
Keyboard
Logitech
Other
Samsung 470 SSD 128GB
▲ hide details ▲


Redwoodz is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-27-2020, 08:37 PM
Vandelay Industries
 
maltamonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: US/UK
Posts: 1,551
Rep: 80 (Unique: 60)
I'm guessing you bought the GPU second hand? If so what bios is it using?
maltamonk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-28-2020, 06:50 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 363
Rep: 11 (Unique: 10)
Yes bought 2nd hand. Ive tried a couple sets of drivers with same issue.

Heres BIOS
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	GPU BIOS.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	96.3 KB
ID:	322494  

SlAyEr08 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-01-2020, 05:17 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 363
Rep: 11 (Unique: 10)
Well crazy thing...i increased voltage to GPU and have the card at 1315 mhz now. Anymore than that it crashes still but at least i can use card to full(er) potential.

So weird stock settings would make it crash.

Radeon software limits me to 1175 mv as the most i can apply.
SlAyEr08 is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-01-2020, 05:47 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
croniccorey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by SlAyEr08 View Post
Well crazy thing...i increased voltage to GPU and have the card at 1315 mhz now. Anymore than that it crashes still but at least i can use card to full(er) potential.

So weird stock settings would make it crash.

Radeon software limits me to 1175 mv as the most i can apply.
I would make a backup of your vbios and compare to stock vbios from techpowerup to ensure its Not patched (that is if card is used). Also might be worth removing your heatsink and Doing a fresh thermal compound application and checking thermal pads.. Higher GPU heat requires move vcore voltage to maintain speeds and at 94*c it will shutdown..

Edit:
Also worth looking at is if the card was flashed with a bios from a similar card with higher clocks.

Last edited by croniccorey; 02-01-2020 at 07:25 PM.
croniccorey is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off