Sapphire 290 390 etc... - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Sapphire 290 390 etc...

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-23-2020, 03:09 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
fra z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 798
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Sapphire 290 390 etc...

Hi,

The Sapphire range of cards is one of the best! but I found a little confusion, I'll explain.

I've bought some used cards such as the Sapphire R9 290 (but I thought I'd bought an X version but had not)….the clock speed maybe a little higher ? (only_?_no other difference?)__would a Sapphire R9 290 "crossfire" with a 290 X ? - ditto that question for Sapphire 390/390 X.

The Sapphire range also has a tri-x name as well as the Nitro naming - (nitro_is_top_of_the_line)__and the two models have a different colour scheme.

I was after another 390 X (but someone had sold it already somewhere else)_then I found the 390 (not X)__so if Crossfire is to be attempted do both cards 100% have to be X variants? - Thanks
fra z is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-23-2020, 03:10 PM
What goes here?
 
speed_demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,248
Rep: 120 (Unique: 88)
No, the cards won't run properly in crossfire if one is an X model and one is the standard variant. You may be able to unlock a standard R9 290 and turn it into an R9 290X though. I was able to do that on my R9 290 personally. There is an excellent thread here on the forums that explains it all if you are interested.

Desktop
(11 items)
CPU
Celeron G3930 eXtra Slow Edition
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z270 Gaming K5
GPU
MSI R9 390
RAM
12GB DDR4-3000
Hard Drive
120GB HP M700 SSD
Hard Drive
Samsung Spintpoint M9T 2TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 750GB
Power Supply
Corsair CX750M
Case
Fractal Define S
Keyboard
Alienware W/Cherry MX Switches
Mouse
Logitech G5 Gen.1
▲ hide details ▲


speed_demon is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-23-2020, 03:17 PM
sudo apt install sl
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6,363
Rep: 188 (Unique: 130)
It will run fine, it's not nVidia SLI. Enjoy the two cards.

Silent
(20 items)
CPU
Core i9 9900K... CoffeeTime! @ 5.1Ghz w/ 1.36v
Motherboard
Maximus VIII Formula
GPU
Titan RTX @ 2100Mhz/2075Mhz
RAM
TeamGroup Xtreem 32GB 3200Mhz CL15
Hard Drive
HP EX950 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1200w P2
Cooling
EK Supremacy Full Copper Clean
Cooling
XSPC D5 Photon v2
Cooling
Black Ice Gen 2 GTX360 x2
Cooling
EK-Vector Radeon VII - Copper + Plexi
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Tempered Glass Edition
Operating System
Clear Linux
Monitor
Acer XF270HUA
Keyboard
Cherry MX Board 6.0
Mouse
Logitech G600
Mouse
Alugraphics GamerArt
Audio
Definitive Technology Incline
Audio
SMSL M8A
▲ hide details ▲
WannaBeOCer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-23-2020, 03:55 PM
Watercooler
 
Socks keep you warm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,191
Rep: 138 (Unique: 119)
Having owned the 290 X i'm certain that if you had a 290 it would run, no issues... obviously down clocked to the 290 though.

I like to have fun.
https://stats.foldingathome.org/donor/110855
https://www.trueachievements.com/gamer/II+TH3PRO+II
16 Threads is Good
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Core I9 9900K 4.8Ghz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Elite
GPU
Aorus 2080Ti Xtreme Waterforce WB 11GB
RAM
Trident Z
Hard Drive
Samsung 250 SSD
Power Supply
Cooler Master Silent Pro Hybrid
Cooling
Watercooling Custom
Case
900D
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
28" ACER 4K Monitor
▲ hide details ▲


Socks keep you warm is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-23-2020, 06:16 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
fra z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 798
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Hello speed_demon,

Is that a complicated process? - to turn 290 into 290 X?

I don't think there will be a need a I've got 1 x 290 with another 290 on the way to experiment with Crossfire - But it's good to know X models won't Crossfire with non X.

Fury is better than 290X 390X as it has HBM (memory)__not DDR 5 (GDDR5)_

For the R9 Fury_Sapphire have the Tri-X (yellow gold writing)__&__the Nitro (grey_writing)__why_would Sapphire have two models so close together as there can't be much difference.

Out of interest do you guys/girls have AMD and nVidia graphics cards? - or do you favour one over the other? (no_flame_wars_please!!!)__
fra z is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-23-2020, 07:34 PM
sudo apt install sl
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6,363
Rep: 188 (Unique: 130)
Quote: Originally Posted by fra z View Post
Hello speed_demon,

Is that a complicated process? - to turn 290 into 290 X?

I don't think there will be a need a I've got 1 x 290 with another 290 on the way to experiment with Crossfire - But it's good to know X models won't Crossfire with non X.

Fury is better than 290X 390X as it has HBM (memory)__not DDR 5 (GDDR5)_

For the R9 Fury_Sapphire have the Tri-X (yellow gold writing)__&__the Nitro (grey_writing)__why_would Sapphire have two models so close together as there can't be much difference.

Out of interest do you guys/girls have AMD and nVidia graphics cards? - or do you favour one over the other? (no_flame_wars_please!!!)__
You can Crossfire the 290x and 290 non-x cards. You can even Crossfire the 390/x with the 290/x cards.

The R9 290x has GDDR5, you're mixing them up with the Fury.

Silent
(20 items)
CPU
Core i9 9900K... CoffeeTime! @ 5.1Ghz w/ 1.36v
Motherboard
Maximus VIII Formula
GPU
Titan RTX @ 2100Mhz/2075Mhz
RAM
TeamGroup Xtreem 32GB 3200Mhz CL15
Hard Drive
HP EX950 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1200w P2
Cooling
EK Supremacy Full Copper Clean
Cooling
XSPC D5 Photon v2
Cooling
Black Ice Gen 2 GTX360 x2
Cooling
EK-Vector Radeon VII - Copper + Plexi
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Tempered Glass Edition
Operating System
Clear Linux
Monitor
Acer XF270HUA
Keyboard
Cherry MX Board 6.0
Mouse
Logitech G600
Mouse
Alugraphics GamerArt
Audio
Definitive Technology Incline
Audio
SMSL M8A
▲ hide details ▲
WannaBeOCer is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-23-2020, 08:17 PM
What goes here?
 
speed_demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,248
Rep: 120 (Unique: 88)
I mean you're not wrong. You certainly can crossfire unlike cards but don't expect them to perform like you'd think they will.

Are we talking just booting to the windows desktop and seeing an image on the display, or are we intending to game with them like this?

Either way I can't think of many games that support dual gpu setups these days. SLI and crossfire went the way of the dodo.

Here is the unlocking thread - https://www.overclock.net/forum/show....php?t=1443242

Desktop
(11 items)
CPU
Celeron G3930 eXtra Slow Edition
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z270 Gaming K5
GPU
MSI R9 390
RAM
12GB DDR4-3000
Hard Drive
120GB HP M700 SSD
Hard Drive
Samsung Spintpoint M9T 2TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 750GB
Power Supply
Corsair CX750M
Case
Fractal Define S
Keyboard
Alienware W/Cherry MX Switches
Mouse
Logitech G5 Gen.1
▲ hide details ▲


speed_demon is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-23-2020, 08:58 PM
sudo apt install sl
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6,363
Rep: 188 (Unique: 130)
Quote: Originally Posted by speed_demon View Post
I mean you're not wrong. You certainly can crossfire unlike cards but don't expect them to perform like you'd think they will.

Are we talking just booting to the windows desktop and seeing an image on the display, or are we intending to game with them like this?

Either way I can't think of many games that support dual gpu setups these days. SLI and crossfire went the way of the dodo.

Here is the unlocking thread - https://www.overclock.net/forum/show....php?t=1443242
Crossfire using different cards with the same GPU die works fine. What do you mean it won't perform like we'd expect? It performs exactly how we'd expect and it worked that way for years. There are a ton of new titles that support mGPU. You don't hear about them since AMD/nVidia no longer have to create profiles. When games do support mGPU the scaling is definitely higher than before also. AMD did kill crossfire though with Navi, games that require linked GPUs won't work.

https://www.legitreviews.com/ati-rad...eo-cards_663/9

Here's a recent review of crossfire: https://www.techspot.com/review/1763...590-crossfire/

Silent
(20 items)
CPU
Core i9 9900K... CoffeeTime! @ 5.1Ghz w/ 1.36v
Motherboard
Maximus VIII Formula
GPU
Titan RTX @ 2100Mhz/2075Mhz
RAM
TeamGroup Xtreem 32GB 3200Mhz CL15
Hard Drive
HP EX950 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1200w P2
Cooling
EK Supremacy Full Copper Clean
Cooling
XSPC D5 Photon v2
Cooling
Black Ice Gen 2 GTX360 x2
Cooling
EK-Vector Radeon VII - Copper + Plexi
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Tempered Glass Edition
Operating System
Clear Linux
Monitor
Acer XF270HUA
Keyboard
Cherry MX Board 6.0
Mouse
Logitech G600
Mouse
Alugraphics GamerArt
Audio
Definitive Technology Incline
Audio
SMSL M8A
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by WannaBeOCer; 02-23-2020 at 09:06 PM.
WannaBeOCer is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-23-2020, 09:17 PM
What goes here?
 
speed_demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,248
Rep: 120 (Unique: 88)
I ran crossfire with an R9 290 and an R9 290x and had lots of headaches getting them to work. Primarily driver issues with game crashes and errors. "Display driver has stopped responding" issues were frequent.

As far as I know the only difference is clock speed and what the card identifies itself as to windows, right?

Desktop
(11 items)
CPU
Celeron G3930 eXtra Slow Edition
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z270 Gaming K5
GPU
MSI R9 390
RAM
12GB DDR4-3000
Hard Drive
120GB HP M700 SSD
Hard Drive
Samsung Spintpoint M9T 2TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 750GB
Power Supply
Corsair CX750M
Case
Fractal Define S
Keyboard
Alienware W/Cherry MX Switches
Mouse
Logitech G5 Gen.1
▲ hide details ▲


speed_demon is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-23-2020, 09:52 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
fra z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 798
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Yes the R9 290 / 390 (X)___has GDDR5 & THE Fury has 4 GB HBM___but why would Sapphire release a Tri-X version and a Nitro version?

https://wccftech.com/sapphire-radeon...e-fan-cooling/ <<<<<<<< Sapphire R9 Tri-X

https://www.techpowerup.com/gpu-spec...-r9-fury.b3528 <<<< Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro

Both cards are Sapphire Fury and the specs would be virtually the same? barring frequency of the HBM?
fra z is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off