Asus 5700xt Strix Adventures - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Asus 5700xt Strix Adventures

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 09:54 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
MSIMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 137
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Asus 5700xt Strix Adventures

The plan was to take my powercolor liquid devil to extreme cooling since it was a good performer on water but finding a ln2 pot that fits and due to the 2 caps that's above the core meant that i would have to unsolder and put them on the back of the card. To avoid the unnecessary hassle i put the card for sale and picked up a strix card despite the bad rap with the stock cooler it has the best pcb, so i picked one up from MC testing the card it never overheated so i must've got one from the new batch.

i eventually hit a limit at 2250mhz with only 1.27v on air so i ordered a EK block quick

i installed the block but noticed the thermal pads didn't squeeze out the way they would normally.
also when i put the card in the case the card would separate from the block long story short its a design flaw as the top left corner has no support.



































i decided to test it light load to check temps the core was excellent and the hotspot was on 20 degrees away from core temps but the memory and mem vrm was overheating i placed something to wedge the card up in the corner and the temps did improve. so i shut it down broke the card down and made a case with ek havent heard from the yet but i sent the block back to newegg

decided to just clean the computer out in my down time



after some searching i found that bits power and alpha cool had blocks with support in that corner i picked up the bitspower block and it had pad placement for every heat source on the card plus it allowed me to use the stock backplate..



















got the system together and will test later




MSIMAX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 09:56 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
MSIMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 137
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
reserved
MSIMAX is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 02:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
poah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: in a house
Posts: 907
Rep: 7 (Unique: 6)
The thermal pads that came with my alphacool block were too thin as well.
poah is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 06:19 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
MSIMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 137
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by poah View Post
The thermal pads that came with my alphacool block were too thin as well.
did they send you the correct ones or did you just buy your own?

i was going to get that block but it only had 1 standoff on the left edge and this card has 2 points to secure it
MSIMAX is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 11:27 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
MSIMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 137
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
MSIMAX is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-24-2020, 01:07 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
MSIMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 137
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
needed more horsepower to attack HWbot hopefully this 3950x is worth a damn





MSIMAX is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-24-2020, 01:32 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
poah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: in a house
Posts: 907
Rep: 7 (Unique: 6)
Quote: Originally Posted by MSIMAX View Post
did they send you the correct ones or did you just buy your own?

i was going to get that block but it only had 1 standoff on the left edge and this card has 2 points to secure it
used the ones that came with the card originally.


Quote: Originally Posted by MSIMAX View Post
needed more horsepower to attack HWbot hopefully this 3950x is worth a damn


my card only hold just over 2200mhz when set to 2300. most cards seem to only drop 50-60mhz from what they are set to. your 3950x won't make any difference to benchmarks that only test the GPU like superposition though.

Last edited by poah; 05-24-2020 at 01:44 AM.
poah is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-24-2020, 11:53 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
MSIMAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 137
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by poah View Post
used the ones that came with the card originally.





my card only hold just over 2200mhz when set to 2300. most cards seem to only drop 50-60mhz from what they are set to. your 3950x won't make any difference to benchmarks that only test the GPU like superposition though.
my 6950x is holding me back for benches that use cpu as part of the score. my complaint now is i need more vcore on the gpu lol
MSIMAX is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off