Help my display is stuck Black and White!! - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Help my display is stuck Black and White!!

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-18-2007, 07:48 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: ATLANTA GA.
Posts: 1,152
Rep: 48 (Unique: 48)
Don't know how this happened but my Video card is showing my clone screen in black and white. My main screen is fine it's in full color with no problems.

I didn't change a thing.
APOLLOSTEES is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-18-2007, 09:04 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
CyberDruid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blue Ridge Mts., Virginia
Posts: 23,134
Rep: 2585 (Unique: 1242)
Restart and see if it happens again. If so try and reinstall the drivers and see if it goes away or comes back. I think it might be curable by a reinstall--I have never heard of anything like it.

August 13th, 2011 sad-smiley-002.gif Happy trails, may we meet again.


CyberDruidPC is History


CyberDruid is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-19-2007, 03:37 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: ATLANTA GA.
Posts: 1,152
Rep: 48 (Unique: 48)
Thanks for responding. Rep to you for your help.

Unfortunately that did not fix my problem. I am stumped I have uninstalled then reinstalled my graphics card driver, and the problem still remains.

Not only that I've gone into the Catalyst control center under TV properties 2 and tried actually switching it to black and white (like that is what I wanted) then switching it back to more under S-Video sharpness. That also did not work.

I am using the extended desktop mode. My main display my Viewsonic monitor is fine, but, my secondary display my HDTV which is connected via S-Video is stuck in black and white. Anybody else have a suggestion.
APOLLOSTEES is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-19-2007, 03:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Posts: 2,834
Rep: 312 (Unique: 230)
Check the cables are secure?

Has it been fine in the past?



cheers.gif British Overclockers Club
cheers.gif
The Fury is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-19-2007, 03:46 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: ATLANTA GA.
Posts: 1,152
Rep: 48 (Unique: 48)
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Fury View Post
Check the cables are secure?

Has it been fine in the past?
Duh

Wow I should've caught that! You were so right the cable was not fully connected on my card. I reseated it and it's back in full color.

Hey we're all intitled to 1 bonehead mistake. I really apreciate you responding rep to you.
APOLLOSTEES is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-19-2007, 03:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Posts: 2,834
Rep: 312 (Unique: 230)
No problem. Glad you got it sorted



cheers.gif British Overclockers Club
cheers.gif
The Fury is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-02-2009, 03:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Fractoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
Similar issue as the poster's though not as easily remedied (yes I tried unplugging and plugging back in the monitor). Viewsonic a91f+ CRT is stuck in black and white on windows load (strangely enough the bios post screen is still shown in color). I've reinstalled my drivers, fiddled with some other settings in my graphics card settings utility and in windows display settings that didn't do anything. My HDTV hooked up through a HDMI to DVI connection still shows color. All drivers are up to date and my system is stable.

Specs:

Vista Ultimate 64
Core 2 Duo 6700 2.66Ghz
BFG Geforce 260GTX
Fractoman is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-11-2014, 12:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
jbollinger0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
I had the same problem with 14.9 drivers from ati/amd. had to use amdcleanuninstallutility and reinstall the drivers. I install the 14.9.1 beta since they fixed a bunch of stuff .

http://www.ngohq.com/?page=Files&go=giveme&dwn_id=1726
jbollinger0 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off