A way to disable edid! :) - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

A way to disable edid! :)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 30 (permalink) Old 09-28-2005, 05:10 PM - Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,069
Hey dudes i got a little idea here. (Plan on making a faq.)

Well, the idea is if I isolate the wires used for edid. (That anoying firmware in your monitor that tells you wether or not you can set a res. (To bypass it you usaly need to be set manualy in cat control center.))

What the mod does:
When you go to set a res your monitor will no longer have a say in wether or not it wants to be set to that res.

Example: My monitor can easily do 2048x1536 but acording to edid it is only suposed to go as high as 1856x1392.

It's kinda like overclocking your monitor.

I haven't tried it with a dvi connector yet but I did inside a monitor when I was replaceing the video cable of one of my 19" monitors. (I disconnected the wires for edid.)

Ok without further adieu here is how you could try it.



I am not responsible for any damages, you do this at your own risk.
SPHERE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 30 (permalink) Old 09-28-2005, 05:12 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Illinios
Posts: 2,813
Is this for flat screen, crt, or both?
POGE is offline  
post #3 of 30 (permalink) Old 09-28-2005, 05:13 PM - Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by pogeman1000
Is this for flat screen, crt, or both?
It's for a monitor that uses a vga interface. (15 pin usaly colored blue.)
SPHERE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 30 (permalink) Old 09-28-2005, 05:15 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: PHX, AZ
Posts: 1,167
hmm, I got an old crt that can do 1856x1392, it says in the box it can do up to 1600x1200, but out of 15 pins, they'res only like 9,ROFL, maybe it is the missing pins.....can I do it to my LCD?
alan_14 is offline  
post #5 of 30 (permalink) Old 09-28-2005, 05:17 PM - Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by iS. kLuMzY
hmm, I got an old crt that can do 1856x1392, it says in the box it can do up to 1600x1200, but out of 15 pins, they'res only like 9,ROFL, maybe it is the missing pins.....can I do it to my LCD?
I believe so as long as it uses a native vga interface.


I believe one of the pins are never installed so it can be used as a key. But ive seen ones without 14 pins and they worked fine.

http://www.mycableshop.com/techarticles/VGA.htm
SPHERE is offline  
post #6 of 30 (permalink) Old 09-28-2005, 05:19 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 2,234
Rep: 108 (Unique: 91)
What is the point of "keys" that manufactures put in their products (motherboards, ect)?

My Signature was getting old. Its changed now.

Hollowman8904 is offline  
post #7 of 30 (permalink) Old 09-28-2005, 05:21 PM - Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hollowman8904
What is the point of "keys" that manufactures put in their products (motherboards, ect)?
To keep you from puting it in the wrong way.
SPHERE is offline  
post #8 of 30 (permalink) Old 09-28-2005, 05:23 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 2,234
Rep: 108 (Unique: 91)
But thats why the metal is shaped a certian way....

My Signature was getting old. Its changed now.

Hollowman8904 is offline  
post #9 of 30 (permalink) Old 09-28-2005, 05:24 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Illinios
Posts: 2,813
Keys dont work for me, I usually think "why isnt it going in?!?!" and push harder. Until it snaps.
POGE is offline  
post #10 of 30 (permalink) Old 09-28-2005, 05:24 PM - Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hollowman8904
But thats why the metal is shaped a certian way....
I know but sometimes that metal can get bent. But that is what it is there for none the less.

So, anyone wanna try it with your old dvi adapter?
SPHERE is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off