[OUT OF DATE]How To: Run PhysX in Windows 7 with ATi Cards - Page 106 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[OUT OF DATE]How To: Run PhysX in Windows 7 with ATi Cards

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1051 of 1231 (permalink) Old 10-25-2011, 11:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ken1649's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7,127
Rep: 960 (Unique: 652)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Balthazar2k4;15449311 
I signed up just to ask this. Ken1649 you got me thinking about the best pairing for Physx. I have two 6970s in xFire and would like to find the best value for a Physx add-in. I was originally looking at the GT 430, but now I am worried that it may severely restrict performance. Any thoughts on a relatively low cost solution?

Thanks in advance.


Well, I can only say from personal limited experience. With Quad-Fire 2x 6990s so far tested with GTX465, 480 and 580. The real performance hit is for these 2 titles, Batman AA and Mafia II with a GTX465 + Quad. It's only logical to have a fast PhysX card to pair up with a fast multi-GPU setup (most will disagree, not sure if from their own eperiences or just opinions).

This is recent discussion and take a look if you want https://www.overclock.net/graphics-cards-general/1145160-adding-physx-card-2-x-hd6950s-5.html#post15377160

Oh and Welcome to OCN!
Ken1649 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1052 of 1231 (permalink) Old 10-25-2011, 11:51 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Balthazar2k4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Rep: 0
Thank you StormXLR and Ken1649 for the input. I was afraid that would be the answer. I am trying to get prep'd for Batman AC, but man I hate to spend $150+ just for a handful of particle effects on a handful of titles. That said, I also have a hard time playing a game knowing that I am not getting the full experience. Decisions, decisions....

Gaming Setup:
Core i5-2500k @ 4.8ghz
4gb Corsair DDR3
2x MSI HD6950->HD6970 xFire
Crucial c300 128gb SSD
WD 640gb Velociraptor

Xbox360/PS3/Wii

JVC DLA-RS10 Projector with 92" DaLite Model C HCMW
Martin Logan ELS speakers
Emotiva processor & power.

Balthazar2k4 is offline  
post #1053 of 1231 (permalink) Old 10-25-2011, 08:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Totalslaughter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 20
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Hey man, you should feel lucky cause I registered to reply for ya wink.gif

A couple months ago I was doing the same as you, trying to decide how much to spend on a dedicated physx card.

My system:

Gigabye board - Ga-890fxa-Ud7
Phenom II X6 1100t clocked @ 3.9ghz 8gb gskill 1600 c7
Patriot Wildfire 256gb Sata III SSD + storage drives
Hd 5970 + Hd 5870 both clocked at 900 / 1200

I read through this forum a lot and various others online and articles galore. I read a lot on the subject. A lot of ppl say older gen nvidia cards are fine for dedicated physx. 8800gt or higher I saw a lot. I however wanted to go newest gen but not go crazy on the price and also was looking for single slot card so I settled on a single slot GTS 450.

There was some hassle getting it to play right with the system / amd cards n what not but not too bad. I played around with it in and out to see the difference it made first hand. Alice Madness Returns was a good game to refer to as it played pretty bad with physx set anywhere higher then low without the nvidia card. Sad really, 6 core cpu and 3 gpu and still. But yea, the whole physx code written to only work well on nvidia hardware thing. So yea, with the GTS 450 in and set as dedicated physx card Alice played great with physx set to high and all settings maxed at 1080p.

I did the same with a couple other games, Batman AA for example, had the same results. I would have to turn AA down without the nvidia card to get the frame rate up. With the 450 in and running Batman plays ridiculously better with all settings maxed.

Also you've got the newer gen Amd cards obviously so I would think you could see even better results or just similar but in my case it worked out quite well and am happy to stick with my 5000 series cards for now and wait till 7000's probably and skip 6000s. Though I do have a Hd 6970 in my htpc. Overkill for htpc but I use it to drive 3d on my hdtv and also as a 2nd gaming pc.

Hope that helps man, If I were you I would get a 450 and see how it works out for you, or go bigger and more expensive if you want but in my case I found it not necessary. Also I picked the 450 over the models cheaper then it because of the nice jump in specs of the card.

Current Rig:

i7-4770k @ 4.5GHZ w/ XSPC Full Copper RayStorm - 8GB GSKILL @ 2000Mhz CL 9

SLI _ 2x EVGA SC GTX Titan w/ XSPC Full Cover WB / XSPC Razor Bridge

Asus Maximus Hero VI - Samsung 840 EVO 1TB Win 8.1 Boot - Seasonic X-1250

1x ocool UT60 140x3 - 1x ocool UT60 140x2 - AquaComputer Laing D5 - XSPC Dual Bay Res - Aquaero 6 Controller

Shoved in an Antec P193 with much of it's innards gutted.


Future Plans:

New case

Adding another 140x3 UT60 and 2nd AquaComputer D5 pump
Totalslaughter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1054 of 1231 (permalink) Old 10-25-2011, 11:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ken1649's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7,127
Rep: 960 (Unique: 652)
I agree to go for a minimum 450 to match 2x 6970s in crossfire. A 450 (192 cuda cores) will have twice the performance of a 430 (96 cuda cores).


http://www.nvidia.com/object/graphics_cards_buy_now.html
Ken1649 is offline  
post #1055 of 1231 (permalink) Old 10-26-2011, 02:02 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
StormXLR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shanghai, China
Posts: 773
Rep: 12 (Unique: 12)
Yeah Im picking up my Zotac GTS 450 512 mb for only like 90 bucks! Brand new and in package biggrin.gif
Cant wait to play Alice and Metro with physx cranked up biggrin.gif

Truth about Mac VS PC and the end of it.
Google > Government "Don't be evil, that's the governments job"
RAILIGHT Bitfenix Survivor [Build Log]Completerolleyes.gif


StormXLR is offline  
post #1056 of 1231 (permalink) Old 10-27-2011, 06:03 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ken1649's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7,127
Rep: 960 (Unique: 652)
Source: GenL

Quote:
1.05ff - 26/10/2011:
- added support for fixing new limitations introduced in 285.xx drivers and PhysX System Software 9.11.0621
- mod will now delete all application 3D settings profiles from NVIDIA Control Panel (prevents problems with known PhysX games)
- updated old patterns

You can overwrite the existing driver/PhysX SS without uninstall.

1. Install Forceware 285.xx (do not restart).

2. Install PhysX SS 9.11.0621 (do not restart).

3. Run the 1.055ff Patch (restart PC).

Done.

PhysX-mod-1.05ff.zip 42k .zip file

The links to Forceware and PhysX SS respectively:

http://www.geforce.com/Drivers/Results/38915

http://downloads.guru3d.com/nVIDIA-PhysX-System-Software-9.11.0621-download-2762.html



...

Ken1649 is offline  
post #1057 of 1231 (permalink) Old 10-29-2011, 11:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Balthazar2k4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Rep: 0
Thank you everyone for the insight. You all told me exactly what I expected. What is unfortunate is that in order to use GTS 450 I would need a new case. I have everything squeezed into a mid tower as I use it in my living room on my plasma/projector. I have no way of squeezing a dual slot PCI-E card into the third slot without either moving the power supply or going to a larger case. I guess I am just going to have to forgo the PhysX until I decide what to do about my case.

Thanks again!

Gaming Setup:
Core i5-2500k @ 4.8ghz
4gb Corsair DDR3
2x MSI HD6950->HD6970 xFire
Crucial c300 128gb SSD
WD 640gb Velociraptor

Xbox360/PS3/Wii

JVC DLA-RS10 Projector with 92" DaLite Model C HCMW
Martin Logan ELS speakers
Emotiva processor & power.

Balthazar2k4 is offline  
post #1058 of 1231 (permalink) Old 10-29-2011, 12:07 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ken1649's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7,127
Rep: 960 (Unique: 652)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Balthazar2k4;15499680 
Thank you everyone for the insight. You all told me exactly what I expected. What is unfortunate is that in order to use GTS 450 I would need a new case. I have everything squeezed into a mid tower as I use it in my living room on my plasma/projector. I have no way of squeezing a dual slot PCI-E card into the third slot without either moving the power supply or going to a larger case. I guess I am just going to have to forgo the PhysX until I decide what to do about my case.

Thanks again!

Oh there is a single slot 450 that might fit into the case http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814187131

This will help https://www.overclock.net/specs.php?do=addsystem
fullimage.php?image=27052
Ken1649 is offline  
post #1059 of 1231 (permalink) Old 10-30-2011, 05:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
StormXLR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Shanghai, China
Posts: 773
Rep: 12 (Unique: 12)
Here is some feedback biggrin.gif
So I got my Zotac GTS 450 512mb for 94 USD
Installed it, booted up my pc installed latest drivers WHQL 285.62, ran the physX mod, restarted the pc biggrin.gif, as easy as pie!
Now to Games!
First thing first, I played Mafia II on all max settings including PhysX... It ran at 60 FPS at all times and never once went below 50. Every piece of hardware at stock settings.
I will try post some actual Benchmarks some time later.
Anyone can suggest a good PhysX benching tool?

Truth about Mac VS PC and the end of it.
Google > Government "Don't be evil, that's the governments job"
RAILIGHT Bitfenix Survivor [Build Log]Completerolleyes.gif


StormXLR is offline  
post #1060 of 1231 (permalink) Old 10-30-2011, 05:26 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ken1649's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7,127
Rep: 960 (Unique: 652)
Yea, download Fluidmark 1.3.1. Make sure to delete all "physx***.dll" from the install folder then you are set.
Ken1649 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off