[OUT OF DATE]How To: Run PhysX in Windows 7 with ATi Cards - Page 4 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[OUT OF DATE]How To: Run PhysX in Windows 7 with ATi Cards

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 1231 (permalink) Old 10-16-2009, 08:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
coelacanth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,366
Rep: 135 (Unique: 106)
Quote:
Originally Posted by LethalRise750 View Post
I don't agree with how Nvidia limits certain effects in games if you don't have PhysX and especially how they try to enforce it to be proprietary on their cards even if you buy a Nvidia GPU as a PhysX addon card. Its not like they are out any money am I right? lol
Wow that's pretty rotten. I hate that certain features of certain games are locked out just because of the video card you use.

I play IL-2 Sturmovik 1946. With my Nvidia GTS 250 the game looks amazing, and I'm able to turn all the eye candy on. With my CrossFire 4870s it looks relatively crappy, it's impossible to enable all the highest setting...

So lame...


coelacanth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 1231 (permalink) Old 10-16-2009, 08:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
LethalRise750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,617
Rep: 228 (Unique: 207)
Quote:
Originally Posted by coelacanth View Post
Wow that's pretty rotten. I hate that certain features of certain games are locked out just because of the video card you use.

I play IL-2 Sturmovik 1946. With my Nvidia GTS 250 the game looks amazing, and I'm able to turn all the eye candy on. With my CrossFire 4870s it looks relatively crappy, it's impossible to enable all the highest setting...

So lame...
Yep, it is quite lame... But I'm hoping that the maker of this patch keeps up with it and updates it continuously.
LethalRise750 is offline  
post #33 of 1231 (permalink) Old 10-16-2009, 08:41 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
coelacanth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,366
Rep: 135 (Unique: 106)
Quote:
Originally Posted by LethalRise750 View Post
Yep, it is quite lame... But I'm hoping that the maker of this patch keeps up with it and updates it continuously.
If only I had an extra PCI-E slot...


coelacanth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 1231 (permalink) Old 10-17-2009, 03:40 AM
Retired Staff
 
coffeejunky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Midsomer Norton, UK
Posts: 11,938
Rep: 776 (Unique: 485)
Quote:
Originally Posted by coelacanth View Post
If only I had an extra PCI-E slot...
You could try this mod. I have no idea whether the 1x slot would bottleneck physX? (probably would but not too much I would hope).


bulb.gifCan I Overclock My Brain?... All I Gotta Do Is Increase Its Stock Voltage bulb.gif
cheers.gifBritish Overclockers Club cheers.gif


ATi Clubs and Essential Threads - ATi Aftermarket Cooling Database - ATi Overclocking Guide - ATi Driver Guide
coffeejunky is offline  
post #35 of 1231 (permalink) Old 10-17-2009, 06:46 AM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
Tator Tot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: St Charles, Missouri;U.S.
Posts: 36,139
Rep: 2146 (Unique: 1310)
Quote:
Originally Posted by coffeejunky View Post
You could try this mod. I have no idea whether the 1x slot would bottleneck physX? (probably would but not too much I would hope).
No it wouldn't. Ageia PhysX cards came in PCIe x1 or PCI flavors.

And a 9500GT/9600GSO 48SP/8600GT/8600GTS/8400GS/9400GT are not limited by the bandwidth of PCIe x1 2.0


Tator Tot is offline  
post #36 of 1231 (permalink) Old 10-17-2009, 06:50 AM
Retired Staff
 
coffeejunky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Midsomer Norton, UK
Posts: 11,938
Rep: 776 (Unique: 485)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tator Tot View Post
No it wouldn't. Ageia PhysX cards came in PCIe x1 or PCI flavors.

And a 9500GT/9600GSO 48SP/8600GT/8600GTS/8400GS/9400GT are not limited by the bandwidth of PCIe x1 2.0
To be fair though aegia cards sucked
If I had a 9500GT laying around I would be doing that mod
If only I didn't sell my old 8600GT


bulb.gifCan I Overclock My Brain?... All I Gotta Do Is Increase Its Stock Voltage bulb.gif
cheers.gifBritish Overclockers Club cheers.gif


ATi Clubs and Essential Threads - ATi Aftermarket Cooling Database - ATi Overclocking Guide - ATi Driver Guide
coffeejunky is offline  
post #37 of 1231 (permalink) Old 10-17-2009, 06:59 AM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
Tator Tot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: St Charles, Missouri;U.S.
Posts: 36,139
Rep: 2146 (Unique: 1310)
Quote:
Originally Posted by coffeejunky View Post
To be fair though aegia cards sucked
If I had a 9500GT laying around I would be doing that mod
If only I didn't sell my old 8600GT
Aegia PPU's (BFG/Asus ones as well) are better at PhysX Calculations than anything lower than a 9600GSO/8800GS or a 9600GT


Tator Tot is offline  
post #38 of 1231 (permalink) Old 10-17-2009, 07:16 AM
Retired Staff
 
coffeejunky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Midsomer Norton, UK
Posts: 11,938
Rep: 776 (Unique: 485)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tator Tot View Post
Aegia PPU's (BFG/Asus ones as well) are better at PhysX Calculations than anything lower than a 9600GSO/8800GS or a 9600GT
My bad, I mis-remembered this review, where the Aegia card didn't fair so well vs nVidia PhysX, but I neglected to remember he had a GTX280 (thought it was an 8800GT).


bulb.gifCan I Overclock My Brain?... All I Gotta Do Is Increase Its Stock Voltage bulb.gif
cheers.gifBritish Overclockers Club cheers.gif


ATi Clubs and Essential Threads - ATi Aftermarket Cooling Database - ATi Overclocking Guide - ATi Driver Guide
coffeejunky is offline  
post #39 of 1231 (permalink) Old 10-17-2009, 07:22 AM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
Tator Tot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: St Charles, Missouri;U.S.
Posts: 36,139
Rep: 2146 (Unique: 1310)
Quote:
Originally Posted by coffeejunky View Post
My bad, I mis-remembered this review, where the Aegia card didn't fair so well vs nVidia PhysX, but I neglected to remember he had a GTX280 (thought it was an 8800GT).
Yeah, GTX Series will crush the PPU at only a slight loss of FPS. But if you have a something like a 9800GTX+ and an extra PCIe slot, a 9500GT will do well in PhysX for cheap. Or a 9600GSO if they have them in your area.


Tator Tot is offline  
post #40 of 1231 (permalink) Old 10-17-2009, 11:32 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
coelacanth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,366
Rep: 135 (Unique: 106)
Quote:
Originally Posted by coffeejunky View Post
You could try this mod. I have no idea whether the 1x slot would bottleneck physX? (probably would but not too much I would hope).
Cool. Thanks, it's worth a shot!

Now if only someone would fix Sturmovik so ATI users could see it in it's full glory.


coelacanth is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off