How To: Overclock Your AMD / ATi GPU - Page 5 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

How To: Overclock Your AMD / ATi GPU

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #41 of 648 (permalink) Old 01-03-2010, 05:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Waterox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 143
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I'm still waiting on how I can run GPUTool with Windows 7 Ultimate 64x.

Any thing I can install to make this thing run? I tried changing the properties to run under windows Vista, XP, 2000, etc... and still it doesn't work.

The Official MSI 790FX-GD70 Owners Thread

sneaky.gif: : The Official Corsair H50 Hydro Series Club : : sneaky.gif
.: ATI HD4800 series club :.
Waterox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42 of 648 (permalink) Old 01-03-2010, 05:17 AM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
coffeejunky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Midsomer Norton, UK
Posts: 11,938
Rep: 776 (Unique: 485)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waterox View Post
I'm still waiting on how I can run GPUTool with Windows 7 Ultimate 64x.

Any thing I can install to make this thing run? I tried changing the properties to run under windows Vista, XP, 2000, etc... and still it doesn't work.
It works fine for me on Windows 7 x64, so I don't really know what to suggest. You can use Ati Tray Tools to scan for artifacts, it doesn't stress the card as much as GPUTool but should install fine.


bulb.gifCan I Overclock My Brain?... All I Gotta Do Is Increase Its Stock Voltage bulb.gif
cheers.gifBritish Overclockers Club cheers.gif


ATi Clubs and Essential Threads - ATi Aftermarket Cooling Database - ATi Overclocking Guide - ATi Driver Guide
coffeejunky is offline  
post #43 of 648 (permalink) Old 01-03-2010, 10:50 AM
Stock *ahem*
 
Quantum Reality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,380
Rep: 307 (Unique: 237)
Oh yea, the DX9 August Runtimes installed as slick as a goose and the artifact tester worked juuuuuuuust fine.
Quantum Reality is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #44 of 648 (permalink) Old 01-06-2010, 01:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Scottery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 406
Rep: 40 (Unique: 36)
So MSI afterburner works better than ati overdrive for overclocking?
Can I use MSI afterburner with a non MSI card?
If I use afterburner does it always have to be running for the overclocks to apply?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riou go_quote.gif
OP probably got sucked into a dimensional rift when he opened the computer. Now he is on an epic quest to save the world from evil in order to return home.


Scottery is offline  
post #45 of 648 (permalink) Old 01-06-2010, 01:18 PM
No u
 
savagebunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4,127
Rep: 350 (Unique: 292)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottery View Post
So MSI afterburner works better than ati overdrive for overclocking?
Can I use MSI afterburner with a non MSI card?
I use MSI Afterburner because its a nicer layout and your able to modify the voltage unlike ATi CCC.

You can use MSI Afterburner on any card

Semper Fi Daniel


savagebunny is offline  
post #46 of 648 (permalink) Old 01-06-2010, 02:02 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
coffeejunky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Midsomer Norton, UK
Posts: 11,938
Rep: 776 (Unique: 485)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottery View Post
So MSI afterburner works better than ati overdrive for overclocking?
Can I use MSI afterburner with a non MSI card?
If I use afterburner does it always have to be running for the overclocks to apply?
See bunny's response for 1 and 2 as he is spot on. As for 3, yes, it needs to be set to run at startup and run minimised (it will start in the systray)


bulb.gifCan I Overclock My Brain?... All I Gotta Do Is Increase Its Stock Voltage bulb.gif
cheers.gifBritish Overclockers Club cheers.gif


ATi Clubs and Essential Threads - ATi Aftermarket Cooling Database - ATi Overclocking Guide - ATi Driver Guide
coffeejunky is offline  
post #47 of 648 (permalink) Old 01-06-2010, 03:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
RXFOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
This is pretty cool I always used Riva Tuner and rthdribl to oc my old card and it worked great. I OC'd that 3650 so hard I was was playin Devil my Cry 4 on highest settings.

RXFOX is offline  
post #48 of 648 (permalink) Old 01-06-2010, 04:41 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Aznboy1993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Arendelle, Norge
Posts: 3,713
Rep: 200 (Unique: 120)
thanks for the guide! very informative and helpful. kudos to you sir!


Aznboy1993 is offline  
post #49 of 648 (permalink) Old 01-07-2010, 10:02 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
nuniksais's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Philippines
Posts: 175
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
how come the sliders move back to when i press apply? did i miss anything?
nuniksais is offline  
post #50 of 648 (permalink) Old 01-07-2010, 10:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mxthunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: N. Eaton, OH
Posts: 3,428
Rep: 144 (Unique: 123)
^^ Im also having difficulties. I changed the .cfg file to enableunofficial overclocking, saved as > all files > save. Still goes back to 850 when I aim for 1000 and hit apply. Same thing happened with my 4890.
mxthunder is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off