GUIDE to Enabling "Unofficial Overclocking" in MSI Afterburner - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

GUIDE to Enabling "Unofficial Overclocking" in MSI Afterburner

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 62 (permalink) Old 01-04-2010, 11:11 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,981
Rep: 121 (Unique: 96)
Hey OCNer's,

Actaully Have two things for you here.

1.) I attemped this and asked advice from some people and didn't really get a straight answer. So I indulged myself to figure it out and did so.

I also wanted to inform those of you having issues enabling the "unofficial Overclocking" feature in the MSIafterburner Program for convenience of NOT having to use Both the AMD GPU Tool (to change the frequency) AND MSI Afterburner (Just for the voltage).


Here are instructions on how to do so. Make sure that you follow step #3. Otherwise it won't work!



1.) You'll need to Open the MSIAfterburner.cfg with Notepad



2.) Change the "enable unofficial overclocking" Value of 0 to 1. Select "File" and select "Save as".



3.) When the "save as" window pops up select "All Files" in the "Save as type" box and save!



4.) It wil ask you to confirm the "Overwrite of the file" Select "yes".



5.) And finally, the result is that you can fully change the Voltage and Clock frequency of the Core and Ram on you Video Card. No more using the AMD GPU Tool and MSI Afterburner Combo. And the great thing is that you can save it to load at Startup. As well as setting individual settings for seperate tasks using "Hotkeys" on your keyboard.



You are done and should be able to Use ONLY MSI Afterburner to overclock your ATI Series Card past the max CCC Frequency!

Have fun!!!

And lastly.....

2.) Have you ever receieved this messege when trying to Launch MSI Afterburner?

"Some of MSI Afterburner components are expired, missing or corrupted!"

Well I have, among others. I was given a simple fix by OCN user "Chucklez". Thanks Buddy!!!!

Here is what he had to say.

Quote:
"Ok what I had to do what I installed it on my friends rig (or spare rig) and then went to My Computer, Program Files and then found the MSI Afterburner file. Then I copied and pasted that onto a flash drive and plugged it into my computer and moved the MSI Afterburner file into my Program Files and created a shortcut and it worked."
So if you ever come across this issue, here is your solution!

Take Care Gang and we'll see ya in the threads!
Mastiffman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 62 (permalink) Old 01-04-2010, 11:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
TekWarfare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,024
Rep: 93 (Unique: 80)
Good guide, images would be useful for those really strugglin but a brilliant walkthrough for those who understand whst they're doing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GodofGrunts go_quote.gif
Delete the system32 folder. Its holding you back.

Quote:
Originally Posted by edo101 go_quote.gif

My mother and I have expressed interest in buying out AMD.
TekWarfare is offline  
post #3 of 62 (permalink) Old 01-04-2010, 11:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 1,185
Rep: 46 (Unique: 46)
I was going to make a post about this soon but no need now.

+rep

Add me on Xbox Live: remzguy

yessir.gifOfficial Windows Phone 8 Clubyessir.gif
ninja.gifThe *OFFICIAL* HAF 932/922 Case Owners Clubninja.gif
post-flame-small.gifOCN Water Cooling Clubpost-flame-small.gif
razorguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 62 (permalink) Old 01-05-2010, 12:07 AM
Retired Staff
 
brettjv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cali Native in AZ
Posts: 14,024
Rep: 1156 (Unique: 763)
I'll go ahead and add my two bits on this.

After you've done the above, proceed to do this in the Afterburner app:
1) Save your default clocks to profile 1
2) Figure out your max overclocks, set them, and save them as profile 2
3) Go into the Settings/Profile and set saved profile 1 as your '2d Profile', and saved profile 2 as your '3d Profile'.

This way your clocks won't get stuck on your 3D OC'd settings when you are just tooling around on your desktop.

Powercolor Red Dragon Vega 56 (Nano-based) With Samsung OC'ing in Progress!
CPU
xeon X5675 6c/12t @ 4.1ghz (1.29v, 20x205 +ht) Gen 1 I7 Baby!!!
Motherboard
rampage iii extreme
GPU
Powercolor Red Dragon Vega 56 (Samsung) Stock Bios For Now!
RAM
3 x 2gb corsair xms3 pc12800 ([email protected])
Hard Drive
hynix 250gb ssd (boot), 2tb deskstar (apps),1tb spinpoint (bu)
Optical Drive
plextor px-712sa - still the best optical drive ever
Power Supply
abs sl (enermax revolution) * single 70A rail 850w
Cooling
corsair h8o v2 aio
Case
silverstone rv-03
Operating System
W10 home
Monitor
LG Ultrawide QHD 21:9 Curved IPS Monitor 3440 x 1440 AMD FreeSync
Audio
XFi Titanium
▲ hide details ▲
brettjv is offline  
post #5 of 62 (permalink) Old 01-05-2010, 04:32 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,981
Rep: 121 (Unique: 96)
Glad that I could help you guys out! I know that it's always good to have a Rich Knowledge base with helpful links!
Mastiffman is offline  
post #6 of 62 (permalink) Old 01-05-2010, 04:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: US
Posts: 752
Rep: 92 (Unique: 84)
Quote:
2.) Have you ever receieved this messege when trying to Launch MSI Afterburner?

"Some of MSI Afterburner components are expired, missing or corrupted!"
If you don't have access to another rig and have a thumb drive or external HD handy, you can also install MSI Afterburner on that, then move the required folder over to you main drive as stated, it should fix the corruption problem. Anyway nice guide!



Penecks is offline  
post #7 of 62 (permalink) Old 01-05-2010, 05:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Bunneh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 156
Rep: 10 (Unique: 7)
Quote:
Originally Posted by brettjv View Post
I'll go ahead and add my two bits on this.

After you've done the above, proceed to do this in the Afterburner app:
1) Save your default clocks to profile 1
2) Figure out your max overclocks, set them, and save them as profile 2
3) Go into the Settings/Profile and set saved profile 1 as your '2d Profile', and saved profile 2 as your '3d Profile'.

This way your clocks won't get stuck on your 3D OC'd settings when you are just tooling around on your desktop.
This didn't seem to work All it did was open up rivatuner statistics server technology( it didn't switch automatically for me from 2d to 3d clocks)

Bunneh - The Jack-a-lope
Bunneh is offline  
post #8 of 62 (permalink) Old 01-05-2010, 05:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
GOTFrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montreal, Qc
Posts: 1,242
Rep: 50 (Unique: 36)
Also for those with windows 7 and can't save the file.

a) right-click on the file
b) select properties
c)go to security or permission tab, can't remember of hand
c) select users and click edit
d) click on allow complete control
e) click on apply
f) resave file

OCN Headphone Club
"Because perfect hair is overrated"
My House
Q9550 @ 4590MHz 34th on the Bot
GOTFrog - Froggy went a-courtin', and he did ride

/▌
/ \ ☻This is Bob. His head falls off when he sees awesome computers


GOTFrog is offline  
post #9 of 62 (permalink) Old 01-25-2010, 04:29 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
badger6021's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: U.K Worcester
Posts: 1,216
Rep: 51 (Unique: 41)
Quote:
Originally Posted by GOTFrog View Post
Also for those with windows 7 and can't save the file.

a) right-click on the file
b) select properties
c)go to security or permission tab, can't remember of hand
c) select users and click edit
d) click on allow complete control
e) click on apply
f) resave file
thats alot for this was having trouble saving it till i did this thanka bunch rep+ added

badger6021 is offline  
post #10 of 62 (permalink) Old 01-25-2010, 05:25 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Chucklez's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,484
Rep: 209 (Unique: 158)
Glad I could help out with them MSI Afterburner problems guys!

-You know, if we were really dating this would be the part where I'd be forced to kiss you goodnight.
Forced? Would it be so bad?
(smiles) I'm sure I could suffer through it.
Me too.
~Chuck, 2007-2012
Chucklez is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off