Shift 2 PERFORMANCE fixes - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Shift 2 PERFORMANCE fixes

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 29 (permalink) Old 03-31-2011, 11:29 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
ekko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 709
Rep: 32 (Unique: 28)
WHATS UP OCN?

after many days of fooling around with this game i managed to fix everything..
even my 4870 1 gb card can max this now..

in the beginning i had this at 1280x800 with mixed settings at best with garbage game play and massive lag...not to mention it looked horrible..


now i run it maxed out on 1920x1080 silky smooth no jagged edges nothing!!!

i tested these settings over and over on Miami track...which was a lag fest....

anyway

there is some issue with ea's code in how they set up all the graphics..

because when i turn aa of in the settings of the game its like maxed out?

this is how it is for most people...

what you need to do with any ati card, to fix low fps, lag, stuttering issues is this..


get the new 11.3 drivers...

SmoothVision HD Anti Aliasing =

choose 4x first
then choose edge detect in the drop down box
then use the check box to use app settings, check it enabled!


SmoothVision HD Anisotropic filtering =

use the check box to use app settings, check it enabled!

Tessellation=

use the check box to use app settings, check it enabled!

Catalyst AI=

high quality, again this is user pref, maybe your card needs it lowerd,
Code:
do not use the check box to use enable surface format optimization, this causes the black and white issues in the car!

Mini Map Detail Level=

High quality, again this is user pref, maybe your card needs it lowered,

Wait for vertical refresh =

off

Anti Aliasing mode=

super sample aa, again this is user pref, maybe your card needs it lowered,


Open gl settings=

Triple Buffering Checkbox is to be checked...
Code:
test these settings with this specific in game settings as well for 100% optimal performance and 100% amazing visuals


Resolutuion -1920x1080 <-if you have 20in or less moniter use 1280x1024
Window Mode -no <- you can enable this if you wana do window mode
Texture Resolution -high
Texture Filtering -high
V-sync -no <- this is a most causes about 20 to 30 fps loss enabled
Anti Alising -off <- dont worry no jaggys i promise just try the setting
Motion Blur -off <- seems like a ******** feature so i disabled it
Refelection Quality -high
Car Detail -high
Track Detail -high
Shadown Detail - low <-i like this on low it dosent matter if its not high


Please dont just close the page after reading aa is disabled in this post..
honestly its not disabled, visually its not, and there is zero jagged edges...
please do the right thing and test these settings exctaly with your ati card!!, you wont regret it...this is how the game is ment to be played!!
ekko is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 29 (permalink) Old 03-31-2011, 06:39 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Cash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Im seriously blown away by this fix, I had to register just to thank you.

I have a new system sandy bridge 2500k @ 4.5 Ghz and a 5850 and was pretty bummed out that the game was running so average where Crysis 2 runs like a dream. Anyway FPS from 49 to 84. Thanks again. i'll post this fix and point to this forum.
Cash is offline  
post #3 of 29 (permalink) Old 04-01-2011, 02:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
WhiteDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 137
Rep: 8 (Unique: 8)
I'm going to try this in the morning. Wonder if the crossfire will work better. Was getting 30-40 fps on my system, with everything maxed. So im looking forward to try this smile.gif
WhiteDog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 29 (permalink) Old 04-01-2011, 04:40 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,294
Too bad 11.x drivers causes an amazing thing!

99% Load on GPU in idle, on my 5850, any previous driver works fine, and Ive read about this on the AMD forum and elsewhere. Its not something I want to do again.
The only positive thing about them is that the color /saturation now functions as proper rather than turning your monitor pink.

Anyhow, I play the game just fine in 1920x1200 all on High with AA off (it causes a weird white line on night maps surrounding some stuff) and Ive also noticed a graphical glitch concerning trees, think its related to antialiasing, but you notice them the most at night. You see a constant "box" of white lines and **** in the trees.

Otherwise, nice find.
hamzta09 is offline  
post #5 of 29 (permalink) Old 04-01-2011, 09:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
e345spd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Legittt I just registered to say this works perfectly, I did exactly what he said and it runs without a dropped frame now. He is right about the shadows too, they look even better on low... specs : phenom x4 9550 slight oc, his 5670 1gb stock, 4gb ddr2 800mhz slight oc.
e345spd is offline  
post #6 of 29 (permalink) Old 04-02-2011, 07:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
selfsurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 273
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
anything for nvidia cards?

selfsurf is offline  
post #7 of 29 (permalink) Old 04-02-2011, 07:34 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 3,914
never had this issue, and i get pretty high frames.
FLCLimax is offline  
post #8 of 29 (permalink) Old 04-02-2011, 07:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
shadow19935's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Scotland
Posts: 2,934
Rep: 141 (Unique: 116)
Quote:
Originally Posted by FLCLimax;12971347 
never had this issue, and i get pretty high frames.

every1 isnt as lucky as you. I had terrible perofmance in shift 1 with my HD6870
shadow19935 is offline  
post #9 of 29 (permalink) Old 04-02-2011, 11:17 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
WhiteDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 137
Rep: 8 (Unique: 8)
Did not work for me. Not sure if it's because of my crossfire combo. Getting below 50 fps no matter what frown.gif
WhiteDog is offline  
post #10 of 29 (permalink) Old 04-02-2011, 12:47 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
selfsurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 273
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
30-40 fps maxed no AA and it looks like DOOKIE!

3084414478_02f8918eb1.jpg

selfsurf is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off