NVIDIA [GTX 560/560 Ti] OC Club - Page 58 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

NVIDIA [GTX 560/560 Ti] OC Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #571 of 810 (permalink) Old 02-25-2012, 04:07 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
WC_EEND's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Gent, Belgium
Posts: 1,718
Rep: 34 (Unique: 31)
I unlocked it by ticking an option in MSI afterburner
WC_EEND is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #572 of 810 (permalink) Old 02-25-2012, 05:39 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
aar0nsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Detroit
Posts: 615
Rep: 33 (Unique: 30)
Quote:
Originally Posted by El_Capitan View Post

Crazy overclocks. Highest I can get mine stable is 960MHz Core Clock, but at stock voltage. How do you guys unlock the voltage control? BIOS flash?
375

Yeah to get it that high you need to unlock the voltage control in msi afterburner and to go even higher you need to modify your bios for a higher voltage limiter (1.212 is highest) and then flash the bios.

In afterburner go to settings and one that first page it has a checkbox that says unlock voltage control and force constant voltage and unlock voltage monitoring. Check all those.
aar0nsky is offline  
post #573 of 810 (permalink) Old 02-26-2012, 11:42 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
CanyonsOfStatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
339

Gigabyte 560ti;

Coreclock: 975MHz
Shader: 1950MHz
Memory: 2150MHz
Voltage: 1.15v
CanyonsOfStatic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #574 of 810 (permalink) Old 02-27-2012, 09:49 AM
Laptop Gamer
 
Jayce1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: S.E. Nebraska
Posts: 975
Rep: 34 (Unique: 28)
Anyone else using the 295.xx drivers? After installing, my cards defaulted to 1.00vdc at 950/1900/2150. Works for me biggrin.gif as long as there aren't any issues while gaming.

Use all of your spare computing power for something worthwhile. Join the Overclock.net BOINC team!
If you have to ask, "Is it too hot?" Then, YES, it's too hot.
CPU
I7-7700k
Motherboard
Alienware/Dell
GPU
GTX 1080
RAM
DDR4-2400
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra SSD
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 960 M.2 pcie OEM
Optical Drive
DVD-RW
Power Supply
Aleinware/Dell
Cooling
Alienware
Case
Alienware Aurora R series
Monitor
AW 2518 G-Sync
CPU
Intel Core I7 6820HK
Motherboard
Alienware
GPU
GTX 1070
RAM
16GB DDR 4 @ 2400Mhz
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 960 NVMe PCIe 256GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin
Cooling
Thermal Grizzly Conductonaut
Other
AW 2518H
▲ hide details ▲
Jayce1971 is offline  
post #575 of 810 (permalink) Old 02-27-2012, 09:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
aar0nsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Detroit
Posts: 615
Rep: 33 (Unique: 30)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jayce1971 View Post

Anyone else using the 295.xx drivers? After installing, my cards defaulted to 1.00vdc at 950/1900/2150. Works for me biggrin.gif as long as there aren't any issues while gaming.

Thats a weird issue. I have them installed and I havent been able to get as high marks with the same overclock. Im thinking of rolling back since it hurt my benching scores and I believe its causing instability since I played bf3 with my overclock seemlessly before and since the new driver i had to go way higher on the voltage.
aar0nsky is offline  
post #576 of 810 (permalink) Old 02-27-2012, 02:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Hursty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 106
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by aar0nsky View Post

Thats a weird issue. I have them installed and I havent been able to get as high marks with the same overclock. Im thinking of rolling back since it hurt my benching scores and I believe its causing instability since I played bf3 with my overclock seemlessly before and since the new driver i had to go way higher on the voltage.

I agree, i was unable to play it became so unstable with my 560ti SLI'd it was working fine before i upgraded so i rolled back seems more stable.
Hursty is offline  
post #577 of 810 (permalink) Old 02-27-2012, 05:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
aar0nsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Detroit
Posts: 615
Rep: 33 (Unique: 30)
Unlocking voltage limit and flashing FERMI BIOS guide.
This is a collaboration of information(like any other guide is smile.gif)
I see some guys are maxing out voltage on the 560 and want to overclock higher. Well if you can handle keeping your card cool then I have just the thing for you!

If you break your card, I hold no responsibility.
try this at your own risk.

First off let me start by saying, our gtx 560 ti's used to be unsupported by nibitor so I cant guarantee this will work with everyones card.
This is the way I have done it and it works. There may be other ways.

NOTE: this guide may be able to be used with other fermi cards. I have not tried so I cannot testify to it.


The usb format portion of this guide are from: http://www.techpowerup.com/printarticle.php?id=34


The programs you will need for this guide:

GPU-Z(latest verison)
nibitor(nvidia bios editor)
nvFlash latest DOS Version
HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool
DOS System files

-Backup BIOS-

Firstly you will need to create a backup copy of your BIOS using GPU-Z.
The button in the screenshot is what you use to create a copy of your BIOS.
527
Make two copies, one we will modify and one will be our backup.(name the backup one accordingly)

-Edit BIOS-
Next we are going to edit the BIOS.
Fire up nibitor go to File->Open BIOS
675
Next you will go to Tools->Fermi Voltage
671
In this screenshot it shows you the values and how high you can unlock it in the BIOS.
If you fully unlock to the MAX value, make sure to be careful when testing in Afterburner so you dont overvolt and fry your card.
652
Once set at the value you want, you will hit ok and then go to FIle->save bios.
679
It would be best to keep all your files in one folder for easy access.


Note : IF YOU WANT TO MAKE A FLOPPY OR CD FOLLOW THIS GUIDE

Otherwise continue for USB drive.
Next we will make a bootable USB drive.
First plugin your USB thumb drive.
Next fire up the hp disk format tool.
If you have ever formatted a drive in windows it looks almost identical.

For device, choose your usb drive.
for file system choose "FAT32"
Check the box that says "create a DOS startup disk"
click the radio button that says "using DOS system files located at:"
go to the directory where you extracted the dos system files that I linked earlier in the post.
448
Click start and grab some coffee.

Once done, copy your backup copy and modified bios copy to your usb drive.
Make sure the bios names are small file names(FAT filesystem doesnt like big names)
Also copy all the nvflash files onto the disk.


Once completed leave the USB drive connected and reboot your computer.
You may want to print the last page or so of this guy to read it once youve rebooted into dos.

-Flashing-
First thing you do next is set your USB drive to be the first boot device in the computer BIOS.
Obviously save and exit from the BIOS.

Once it reboots it should boot into your USB drive which will give you a DOS prompt.

If the nvflash and your bios files are on the root of the drive you can type the command "dir" to see the file names in case you forgot them.
If they are in a folder on the drive, you can type "dir" to find the folder and then type "cd FolderName" to switch to the folder they are in.

WARNING: if you power goes off during the flashing process your card will be bricked. I am not providing details on how to unbrick it.

NOTE: you can type nvflash -h and it will explain tons of functions we will not be using or covering in this guide.

next thing we will do is compare our newly modified bios to the one currently on the chip:
nvflash -k "modified bios name.ROM"

it will tell you if the bios is the same.
it should say that at some offset they differ but you should not get errors or anything like that.
It is normal if it says it differs at that one offset because that is where you changed the voltage at.

Next we will turn write protect off.
nvflash -r


Now that is able to be wrote to you can flash the BIOS.
nvflash -f "modified bios name.rom"

if all goes well issue this command:
nvflash -w

this turns write protect back on so you dont unintentionally write to it.

Reboot by pressing ctrl+alt+delete

change bios back to boot off of hard disk.
save changes and reboot.
boot into windows and open up afterburner.
the voltage slider should have gone up to whatever you modified the BIOS to.
Enjoy higher overclocks and higher temps!!!!

I hope this helps someone.
Credits go to tech powerup and stobeur(OCN member), also the whole OCN forum, the greatest forum on the internet where you will find tons of helping and amazing people. I did this guide in hopes to give alittle bit back.
If you see any incorrect information, PM me and I will fix it ASAP.
Thanks,
-Aaron
PS - If this helped you give me some rep smile.gif
aar0nsky is offline  
post #578 of 810 (permalink) Old 02-27-2012, 10:39 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
AliasDanny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 9
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by wanako View Post

I just looked up some of my old scores and you're right, they were about that range. He needs to OC that thing like a BOSS.
Quote:
Originally Posted by aar0nsky View Post

:eek:Like a BAWSS.

Maybe LIKE A BUS I'll overclock it. Be back with more later
AliasDanny is offline  
post #579 of 810 (permalink) Old 02-28-2012, 01:27 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
tjbridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Manila
Posts: 297
Rep: 18 (Unique: 14)
thanks for the post aaronsky! I made a link on the OP or front page of this club! thumb.gif

btw guys.. i have observed that the 448 core is not joining our club, maybe I'll just remove the two members with 448 core cards... I believe they have their own club

The i5-760 OC Club
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 500 Series Owners Club
The Official Corsair H50/H70 Hydro Series Club
We Are Gr33n Machine
NVIDIA GTX 560/560 Ti OC Club
tjbridge is offline  
post #580 of 810 (permalink) Old 02-28-2012, 11:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
CanyonsOfStatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Hey there, tjbridge, it seems you made an error in posting my benchmark score, you have me listed as 5060, but my score was 5350! Any chance of a correction? haha biggrin.gif
CanyonsOfStatic is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off