Running HDMI on GTX570.. audio? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Running HDMI on GTX570.. audio?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-13-2012, 10:15 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
stephen4036's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 19
Rep: 0
I have a P8Z68 mobo, and a GTX570 with the mini HDMI and adapter.. running to my 1920x1080 asus monitor, how do I get sound and video to run through the HDMI port? video works great.. just need to get audio to work.
stephen4036 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-13-2012, 10:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
brownieapple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 291
Rep: 18 (Unique: 8)
fiddle with your audio settings. that is what i had to do. click the speaker icon on your taskbar assuming it is there and the first column that says 'device' there should/might be a drop down menu and select from there.

Quotes! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhax01 go_quote.gif

Given that I travel with a gun AND a full size tube of toothpaste, TSA isn't much of a factor.... rolleyes.gif


brownieapple is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-13-2012, 10:18 PM
woot
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: colorado
Posts: 2,545
Rep: 256 (Unique: 211)
assuming it is the same as it was for one of my previous cards with an hdmi port, the vid card has to have a spdif in where you patch the audio from the mobo (or discreet sound card) into the vid card and it simply passes it to the hdmi out port

which 570 do you have?

Quote:
Originally Posted by h00chi3 go_quote.gif

There are some things that smoke can come out of and still be good, for instance, a bong. Bad things for smoke to come out of, computer parts.


sli_shroom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-13-2012, 10:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
brownieapple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 291
Rep: 18 (Unique: 8)
this video does a better job than my post.

Quotes! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhax01 go_quote.gif

Given that I travel with a gun AND a full size tube of toothpaste, TSA isn't much of a factor.... rolleyes.gif


brownieapple is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-13-2012, 10:22 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
stephen4036's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 19
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by sli_shroom View Post

assuming it is the same as it was for one of my previous cards with an hdmi port, the vid card has to have a spdif in where you patch the audio from the mobo (or discreet sound card) into the vid card and it simply passes it to the hdmi out port
which 570 do you have?

evga superclock
stephen4036 is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-13-2012, 10:23 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
stephen4036's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 19
Rep: 0
nice video, worked great. your the best.. didnt think it would auto pop up into output devices. thank ya sir!
stephen4036 is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-13-2012, 10:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
brownieapple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 291
Rep: 18 (Unique: 8)
thanks no problem. just doing my part to help out another OCN member smile.gif

Quotes! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhax01 go_quote.gif

Given that I travel with a gun AND a full size tube of toothpaste, TSA isn't much of a factor.... rolleyes.gif


brownieapple is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-14-2012, 10:57 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Coach Mcguirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ca, USA
Posts: 926
Rep: 20 (Unique: 17)
So if you use a discrete sound card, and play audio through HDMI, it uses the sound card for the actual device? Is my Asus Xonar passing through my video card?

Sent from my SAMSUNG Galaxy S.
Coach Mcguirk is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-14-2012, 11:07 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
brownieapple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 291
Rep: 18 (Unique: 8)
i don't think so. i think you are going to have to run a SPDIF cable from the soundcard to the monitor/tv.

i'm assuming though since i don't actually have a soundcard.

Quotes! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhax01 go_quote.gif

Given that I travel with a gun AND a full size tube of toothpaste, TSA isn't much of a factor.... rolleyes.gif


brownieapple is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-14-2012, 03:05 PM
woot
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: colorado
Posts: 2,545
Rep: 256 (Unique: 211)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Mcguirk View Post

So if you use a discrete sound card, and play audio through HDMI, it uses the sound card for the actual device? Is my Asus Xonar passing through my video card?
Sent from my SAMSUNG Galaxy S.

i dont know how current vid cards do it, but the 8 series nvidia cards used a spdif jumper that took the output of the sound card (or onboard sound) and patched it through the vid card to the hdmi out port. so yes, the sound card was the actual sound device being used and the vid card was just acting as a pass thru to get the sound to the right place. it isnt like the vid card has an onboard sound processor.

Quote:
Originally Posted by h00chi3 go_quote.gif

There are some things that smoke can come out of and still be good, for instance, a bong. Bad things for smoke to come out of, computer parts.


sli_shroom is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off