HOWTO: Downsampling (custom res. 2100 x 1314 - 3840 x 2400) in DX9 / DX10 / DX11 with NVidia cards directly selectable in the Game! - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

HOWTO: Downsampling (custom res. 2100 x 1314 - 3840 x 2400) in DX9 / DX10 / DX11 with NVidia cards directly selectable in the Game!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 32 (permalink) Old 04-01-2012, 11:01 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
smex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Q
Posts: 2,966
Rep: 173 (Unique: 146)
Hello..

First of all.. this is gonna take some steps. Read carefully every step and try to gather more infos thru the web to understand what you are doing.
I take no response for damaging drivers, your OS or devices! Nevertheless i think its a very rare possibility and i did not hear/read in the last time of somebody who killed his monitor. you need FW 275.33 or higher and a Nvidia card.

I tried this on my 42" inch LG 60hz FULL-HD TV ( 1.920 x 1.080 ) and my 22" inch Samsung2243BW (1.680 x 1.050) and i was able to double the resolution. here...

Edit:
I´ve made this Guide with a 60Hz monitor, of course with faster monitors you will have more Hz!

Also important: You dont need to mod the driver of your monitor in every case. First try how far
you can get with the original monitor.inf / driver.. if you are disappointed and want greater resolutions
then go ahead and mod the driver! thumb.gif

The more Hz your monitor have, the higher the Hz in the custom resolution will be.
At the moment ive got a 144hz monitor and run 2880 x 1620 still with 100hz!
When using 3D Vision i have set it to 2650 x 1440 still running 120 hz so i still have 60 hz
per eye.. when it is lower you will notice slight fps flickering.

Full-HD-Monitors (16:9, 1.920 x 1.080)

• 2.400 x 1.350 (+25 percent)
• 2.650 x 1440 ( classic 2k resolution)
• 2.880 x 1.620 (+50 percent)
• 3.840 x 2.160 (+100 percent)

16:10-LCDs with a 1.680 x 1.050 resolution

• 2.100 x 1.314 (+25 percent)
• 2.520 x 1.576 (+50 percent)
• 3.360 x 2.100 (+100 percent)

Owner of a 1.920 x 1.200 crystal screen

• 2.400 x 1.500 (+25 percent)
• 2.880 x 1.800 (+50 percent)
• 3.840 x 2.400 (+100 percent)

Even higher resolutions can be possible at the cost of the herzrate, since i´m no expert better browse the internet before blind trying.

First watch this video by MrMonkeyface66 how to create a custom resolution..here´s the seperate link http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tLPBOvrA1xQ

Important to know when creating a resolution is that when you use one of the above resolutions , you set first the timing to manual.. just the setting nothing else.. then just change the resolution.. look at 2. and then lower the herz amount. i cannot tell you exactly how much lower you shoult set your herz account. i have two 60hz devices and with a 50% resoluton i put 55hz and with a 100% resolution i set 50hz..

540

so for 100hz devices lower it maybe to 95 or 90?! surf and find out for your specific hardware before messing around.


OK now we made some custom resolutions but they only will work in dx9.. now we need to change the Monitor " driver .inf " to with a modded one that supports our lowered herzrate of my 50 herz for example.. i wasnt sure and set it to 49hz to be safe biggrin.gif
We need three programs:

softMCCS
http://softmccs.software.informer.com/

Phoenix EDID designer
http://www.tucows.com/preview/329441

Monitor Asset Manager
http://majorgeeks.com/Monitor_Asset_Manager_d1991.html

Like mentioned, the trick behind this is that you lower the minimum herz rate in the .inf file from 60 herz ( if you have a 60hz device ) under the
needed herzrate of your created custom resolution in the Nvidia control panel..

watch this video made by Dango for the steps:
http://www.oc-burner.de/ftp/Videos/Downsampling/EDID/EDID.html


Now you got the modded inf file on your desktop or where ever you saved it.. now go to the device manager, click your monitor and change the old unmodded driver with the new .inf.... then reboot your computer and tadaaa!! selectable downsampling resolutions in DX10 and DX11!

Note.. this will greatly reduce your performance.. lower AA or some other settings to find your best settings..
here is a little benchmark from pcgameshardware.de
549

I tried this in AVP3, GTA4, BF3, Arcania, Gothic3, Crysis2, Oblivion, Skyrim, Witcher2, Dragon Age 1+2, NFS-HP(2010), The force unleashed2, Riddick - Dark Athena and X3 Terran conflict.. worked like a charm.

Witcher2 was killing it with ubersampling+downsampling of courcse.. so i just used the downsampling in the howto.. It greatly reduces the bad anti aliasing in DX10/11 on Nvidia cards..
This is especially cool when playing on a 40inch TV... enjoy!


sry for my bad english, if there are questions ask me or use google tongue.gif












sources:

# http://www.pcgameshardware.de/aid,817462/Downsampling-Bessere-Grafik-in-jedem-Spiel-auch-in-Crysis-2-Update-mit-Geforce-Treiber-29551/Grafikkarte/Test/
# http://www.forum-3dcenter.org/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=454129
Sites are in german, so you got to translate them with your browser



some screenshots of COD6,GTA4 and NFS Shift made by OC_burner from PCGH
300
375
375
375
375

RigOnTheRun
(6 items)
CPU
7700HQ @ Liquid metal
GPU
GTX 1070 8GB @1850mhz (2250mhz Boost!)
RAM
32 GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
1 TB Samsung 950 SSD
Operating System
Win10 x64, Cubes R4.0
Monitor
120hz FHD IPS-Tech
▲ hide details ▲
smex is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 32 (permalink) Old 04-01-2012, 01:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
BababooeyHTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,706
Rep: 197 (Unique: 164)
Thanks for the info. I'm going to have to bookmark this to play around with it later.
BababooeyHTJ is offline  
post #3 of 32 (permalink) Old 04-01-2012, 04:19 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
wardoc22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Shoreline
Posts: 424
Rep: 16 (Unique: 15)
It makes my text all burry. Are there anyway to fix this?

8350
x2 770
m5a99x evo
12gb 1333mhz
...
....
.....Needs a better monitor
wardoc22 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 32 (permalink) Old 04-02-2012, 12:21 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
smex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Q
Posts: 2,966
Rep: 173 (Unique: 146)
Quote:
Originally Posted by wardoc22 View Post

It makes my text all burry. Are there anyway to fix this?

where.. in windows or in the game?!


edit: in windows and some games its normal because the resolution is bigger than the native resolution of the device.
so if ya wanna use this in windows increease the font size. in games, skyrim,gta4 or avp3 for example the fonts stay the same size, in some other like bad company 2 they shrink with the resolution change and theres no (to me known) way around it, because its due the code of the application..

RigOnTheRun
(6 items)
CPU
7700HQ @ Liquid metal
GPU
GTX 1070 8GB @1850mhz (2250mhz Boost!)
RAM
32 GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
1 TB Samsung 950 SSD
Operating System
Win10 x64, Cubes R4.0
Monitor
120hz FHD IPS-Tech
▲ hide details ▲
smex is offline  
post #5 of 32 (permalink) Old 04-02-2012, 07:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
wardoc22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Shoreline
Posts: 424
Rep: 16 (Unique: 15)
Quote:
Originally Posted by smex View Post

where.. in windows or in the game?!
edit: in windows and some games its normal because the resolution is bigger than the native resolution of the device.
so if ya wanna use this in windows increease the font size. in games, skyrim,gta4 or avp3 for example the fonts stay the same size, in some other like bad company 2 they shrink with the resolution change and theres no (to me known) way around it, because its due the code of the application..

Oh ok, then I'll just stick with my monitors native resolution as it looks best that way. I was just curious.

8350
x2 770
m5a99x evo
12gb 1333mhz
...
....
.....Needs a better monitor
wardoc22 is offline  
post #6 of 32 (permalink) Old 04-03-2012, 12:26 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
smex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Q
Posts: 2,966
Rep: 173 (Unique: 146)
sure.. glad if you are happy with yours.
im very sensitive to aliasing, since dx10/11 its not the same anymore for nvidia cards imo.

RigOnTheRun
(6 items)
CPU
7700HQ @ Liquid metal
GPU
GTX 1070 8GB @1850mhz (2250mhz Boost!)
RAM
32 GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
1 TB Samsung 950 SSD
Operating System
Win10 x64, Cubes R4.0
Monitor
120hz FHD IPS-Tech
▲ hide details ▲
smex is offline  
post #7 of 32 (permalink) Old 06-05-2012, 05:30 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
smex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Q
Posts: 2,966
Rep: 173 (Unique: 146)
BUMP

this can be very helpful in some games.. i used this in GTA4, Crysis2, The force unleashed 1+2), NFSHP 2010, AVP3 and Deus Ex.
in some cases it may have a great performance impact (look on the benchmarks), beware. in GTA4 for example you need to use a custom iceconfig.ini

in some games it decreases the fonts in some games not.. depends on the kind of UI it uses.

gues this guide is more for hardcore gamers but like i said.. in some cases it is worth it.. tell me what ya think

RigOnTheRun
(6 items)
CPU
7700HQ @ Liquid metal
GPU
GTX 1070 8GB @1850mhz (2250mhz Boost!)
RAM
32 GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
1 TB Samsung 950 SSD
Operating System
Win10 x64, Cubes R4.0
Monitor
120hz FHD IPS-Tech
▲ hide details ▲
smex is offline  
post #8 of 32 (permalink) Old 08-18-2012, 03:53 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
amd955be5670's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,186
Rep: 56 (Unique: 37)
I followed up a different guide, it allowed me to reach at 3200x1800. I didn't bother going to 3840 because of the performance hit it would have, and the amount of disappointment I would get from my vram.
I know 3200x1800 will have a ridiculous performance hit at some points of time, so I included 2880x1620 as well. Max Payne 3 looks sweet. Can't wait to record a video, but I feel my processor will jump out recording at 3200x1800. Lol rolleyes.gif

Okay did this. Games like Sniper Elite V2 look AWESOME. It just feels different, the color darkens up a little, and etc. Use with FXAA recommended.

A few screenshots from Bulletstorm:
http://imgur.com/yOJxv,2n6QT,x4Tei,gY0Lq,bicLG,WwGWA

Note: motion looks much better, videos for that will be justice.

amd955be5670 is offline  
post #9 of 32 (permalink) Old 11-10-2012, 03:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Rayce185's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 2,063
Rep: 87 (Unique: 75)
Heh, I found this guide here by chance, basically the same thing but more detailed: http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=346325

I was looking around for ways to force antialiasing onto NFS Most Wanted...



Rayce185 is offline  
post #10 of 32 (permalink) Old 11-10-2012, 09:14 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
General123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 3,253
Rep: 177 (Unique: 147)
I ran some BF3 at 2880x1620 maxed out, it was, beautiful! I used up all of my vram lmao, but it was unplayable. I dropped to the upper 50's. Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

General123 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off