Nvidia Sparse Grid Supersampling - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Nvidia Sparse Grid Supersampling

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 46 (permalink) Old 08-12-2012, 06:40 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
PowerK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 502
Rep: 27 (Unique: 21)
Quote:
Originally Posted by amd955be5670 View Post

But in Spec Ops: The Line, I used 8x SGSSAA, got 60% SLI scaling and only 20fps, did 4x SGSSAA and got only 40fps. Again 60% scaling. Now why is my scaling less? I am definitely not being bottlenecked as the vram usage doesn't exceed 900-925mb (actually when I just started the game it was around 700mb)
I used the matching MSAA number as you said. Cloud it be a flag thingy?
I've never played Spec Ops. But from my quick googling, many SLI users seem to be having problems with poor SLI scaling in this particular game. This poor SLI scaling has nothing to do with SGSSAA.

You might want to try SLI bits = 0x02400005
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aljLeY-h7Qg&feature=relmfu
Quote:
And if I'm right, there is no way in heavens to have a negative LOD bias in Dx11/10?
Not at the moment. But nVIDIA decided to support negative LOD bias in DX 10/11. (There was a petition going on for this). Future driver will support it. (I don't know when though).

PowerK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 46 (permalink) Old 08-17-2012, 09:16 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
jtom320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 3,804
Rep: 128 (Unique: 109)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerK View Post

Not a stupid question at all.
Yes, I think you can use CSAA. But there is no point in using it. Because SGSSAA overrides it.
The key is to use matching samples with SGSSAA.
2xMSAA with 2xSGSSAA and 4xMSAA with 4xSGSSAA and so on.
Applying that to CSAA,
8xCSAA = 4 color + 4 cv samples and 16xCSAA = 4 color + 12 cv samples should be used with 4xSGSSAA.
16xQ (CSAA) = 8 color + 8 cv samples should be used with 8xSGSSAA.

You know I've never mixed CSAA with SGSSAA. Did you have any luck with this?

I mean 4xSGSSAA basically produces perfect image quality on it's own but it still might be interesting. CSAA looks really nice in older games that don't have a lot of transparencies.

Nvidia Sparse Grid Supersampling guide.
Ryzen 3000
(17 items)
CPU
R9 3900x
Motherboard
Gigabyte Master
GPU
GTX 1080
RAM
32gb DDR4 3433 CL16
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 Pro 256gb
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 512gb
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 512gb
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus 850 Gold
Cooling
HeatKiller IV AM4
Cooling
EK 1080 FE GPU Block
Cooling
Black Ice 360mm SR2
Cooling
Black Ice Nemesis 360mm
Cooling
Aquacomputer Aqualis Fountain Thing
Cooling
D5 Vario
Cooling
PETG
Case
Fractal S2
Operating System
Win 10
CPU
6700k (EK Supremacy Evo) *4.7 @ 1.312
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VIII gene
GPU
GTX 1080 FE (EK nickel/plexi)* 2075/5401
RAM
16gb Corsair 3200
Hard Drive
Samsung 950pro M.2 256gb
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo - 512 - Steam
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo - 512 - Other Apps
Power Supply
EVGA 650
Cooling
EK Res
Cooling
EK pump top
Cooling
XSPC EX 360
Cooling
XSPC EX 240
Case
Fractal Arc Mini 2
Operating System
10
Keyboard
Ducky Shine 3 TKL
Mouse
G303
▲ hide details ▲
jtom320 is offline  
post #23 of 46 (permalink) Old 08-18-2012, 03:14 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
zinfinion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3,511
Rep: 196 (Unique: 156)
Do not use CSAA with SGSSAA as advised by http://naturalviolence.webs.com/sgssaa.htm:
Quote:
Please keep in mind that whenever you use SGSSAA you should always match the number of MSAA samples used to the number of SGSSAA samples used. 8xMSAA + 4xSGSSAA will usually have lower quality than 4xMSAA + 4xSGSSAA. This is because SGSSAA gets its sample coordinates from the MSAA samples. So if you have more MSAA samples than SGSSAA samples the SGSSAA samples will not be placed in the ideal locations. Also you cannot have more SGSSAA samples than MSAA samples for the same reason (SGSSAA uses the MSAA sample coordinates). Even though it uses MSAA sample coordinates using additional coverage samples will reduce the effectiveness of SGSSAA by changing the grid pattern so that the MSAA samples are placed closer to the center of the pixel (which is a less ideal location). This is why I advised 4xMSAA + 4xSGSSAA and not 16xCSAA (4xMSAA + 12 extra coverage samples) + 4xSGSSAA.

Currently Playing
Iron Brigade (Now with Steamworks!) | Diablo III (6WW+2IK BK Barbarian) | Elite Dangerous (I <3 Rhino HOTAS)

Looking Forward To
Oculus Rift CV1 | Galak-Z | Star Citizen | Bedlam (Backed) | The Flame in the Flood (Backed)

Recently Finished
Tomb Raider | Metro - Last Light | Far Cry 3 - Blood Dragon | Costume Quest 2 |
zinfinion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 46 (permalink) Old 08-18-2012, 06:43 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
PowerK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 502
Rep: 27 (Unique: 21)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtom320 View Post

I mean 4xSGSSAA basically produces perfect image quality on it's own but it still might be interesting.
Indeed. Heck, at 2560x1600 resolution, quite often, even 2xSGSSAA produces perfect image quality, indistinguishable from 4xSGSSAA depending titles and engines.

PowerK is offline  
post #25 of 46 (permalink) Old 08-19-2012, 09:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Oubadah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,426
Rep: 141 (Unique: 100)
..

Last edited by Oubadah; 01-13-2019 at 07:22 PM.
Oubadah is offline  
post #26 of 46 (permalink) Old 08-20-2012, 08:43 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
jtom320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 3,804
Rep: 128 (Unique: 109)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oubadah View Post

How do I find the driver bits for Max Payne 2?

I actually just recently played Max Payne 2 and I could not find them for the life of me. They do most likely exist but you'd have to scour the internet.

Will say though that 8XMSAA on it's own looks real nice in the game. Not much shader aliasing since it's a little bit older. You might even be able to force regular old 4xSSAA.

Nvidia Sparse Grid Supersampling guide.
Ryzen 3000
(17 items)
CPU
R9 3900x
Motherboard
Gigabyte Master
GPU
GTX 1080
RAM
32gb DDR4 3433 CL16
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 Pro 256gb
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 512gb
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 512gb
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus 850 Gold
Cooling
HeatKiller IV AM4
Cooling
EK 1080 FE GPU Block
Cooling
Black Ice 360mm SR2
Cooling
Black Ice Nemesis 360mm
Cooling
Aquacomputer Aqualis Fountain Thing
Cooling
D5 Vario
Cooling
PETG
Case
Fractal S2
Operating System
Win 10
CPU
6700k (EK Supremacy Evo) *4.7 @ 1.312
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VIII gene
GPU
GTX 1080 FE (EK nickel/plexi)* 2075/5401
RAM
16gb Corsair 3200
Hard Drive
Samsung 950pro M.2 256gb
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo - 512 - Steam
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo - 512 - Other Apps
Power Supply
EVGA 650
Cooling
EK Res
Cooling
EK pump top
Cooling
XSPC EX 360
Cooling
XSPC EX 240
Case
Fractal Arc Mini 2
Operating System
10
Keyboard
Ducky Shine 3 TKL
Mouse
G303
▲ hide details ▲
jtom320 is offline  
post #27 of 46 (permalink) Old 08-20-2012, 08:46 PM
Data Recovery Engineer
 
Lord Xeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Behind you
Posts: 20,221
Rep: 1343 (Unique: 999)

Wow that makes things look amazing. I am going to be ditching my 6950 here soon and going with a GTX 670.



Only fools do not BACKUP their DATA!

"Everyone is an expert in something. Knowledge is acquired not earned. Always be humble and wise. Never look down on others ignorant in your ream of expertise."
Hsvkinyodh
(15 items)
CPU
3770k @ 4.5 1.384v
Motherboard
Asus Z77 Sabertooth
GPU
GTX 1070 Gaming 2126/2249 w/ Hybrid cooler
RAM
TridentX 16GB 2400MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Pro 1TB
Hard Drive
Seagate 2TB
Power Supply
Seasonic X 760W
Cooling
H105
Case
CM 690 II Adv
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Asus MG279Q - 24" 144Hz 1080p
Keyboard
Filco Majestic II w/ Cherry Reds
Audio
AKG A701
Audio
JDS Labs Objective 2
Audio
JDS Labs ODAC
▲ hide details ▲


Lord Xeb is offline  
post #28 of 46 (permalink) Old 12-22-2012, 04:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
PlasticTurd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 21
Rep: 0
do the NVIDIA provided driver bits for Team Fortress 2 work? or do i have to go find new ones?

even if you hate assassin's creed, you really should check this out

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CPLHGuBhwN4
PlasticTurd is offline  
post #29 of 46 (permalink) Old 01-27-2013, 09:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,807
Rep: 16 (Unique: 15)
I am struggling to find the proper aa flag for Skyrim. Anyone has some info ?

Don't be a fool, stay in school!
CalinTM is offline  
post #30 of 46 (permalink) Old 01-28-2013, 07:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
PowerK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 502
Rep: 27 (Unique: 21)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CalinTM View Post

I am struggling to find the proper aa flag for Skyrim. Anyone has some info ?
It's been a long time I played Skyrim. But does "0x000000C1" not work for you ??

PowerK is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off