[GUIDE] Nvidia Inspector GTX670/680 - disable boost / fixed clock speed / undervolting - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

[GUIDE] Nvidia Inspector GTX670/680 - disable boost / fixed clock speed / undervolting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 40 (permalink) Old 06-09-2012, 10:53 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
whybother's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: London, UK
Posts: 573
Rep: 64 (Unique: 58)
Download Nvidia Inspector 1.9.6.6.

Why use a fixed clock speed
World of Tanks without vsync. Default GTX670 on left. Forced clock speed on right.
6_compare-1.png


Performance modes
P8 = idle clock speeds and lowest power consumption
P2 = the default mode used when your PC boots or no drivers are installed.
P0 = Gaming/Load. This mode only accepts boost/offset values


Forcing specific modes
The command line is required to do this. Either run "cmd" and locate the directory containing nvidia inspector, or create a .bat file in its directory.

Force P8 (idle) nvidiaInspector.exe -forcepstate:0,8
Force P2 (custom) nvidiaInspector.exe -forcepstate:0,2
Return to Default nvidiaInspector.exe -forcepstate:0,16

Be sure to set all clock speeds back to default before running the last command above.

Setting a fixed overclock
First, find your maximum boost/memory offsets using the normal overclocking methods.

I'm going to apply a +135/+500 overclock which equals 1311mhz/3500mhz. Use your own values in place for the instructions below.

1. Force P2 mode using "nvidiaInspector.exe -forcepstate:0,2".

2. Open Nvidia Inspector and go to the P2 dropdown entry. It should look like this:
119o6sw.png

3. Click unlock Max and move the GPU clock to 1311mhz. You can try and move the Memory Clock but it simply bounces back. Hit Apply Clocks. Notice how the Current Clock on left is not the value you just set. If you do the math, it is exactly 135 below our target.
2_set_clock.png

4. The P2 mode still relies on your P0 boost setting to determine max clock speed. So, open that drop down and set your values. Once you click Apply it will now look like this:
3_set_boost.png


Using batch files for simple switching between power modes
Create the following batch files in your Nvidia Inspector directory.

overclock.bat
nvidiaInspector.exe -setBaseClockOffset:0,0,135 -setMemoryClockOffset:0,0,500 -setpowertarget:0,111 -setVoltageOffset:0,0,187500 -setGpuClock:0,2,1311 -setMemoryClock:0,2,3500 -forcepstate:0,2

force_idle.bat
nvidiaInspector.exe -forcepstate:0,8

default
nvidiaInspector.exe -setVoltageOffset:0,0,0 -setGpuClock:0,2,705 -setMemoryClock:0,2,3000 -forcepstate:0,16

The commands above are self explanatory. Simply adjust the offsets/values to suit. I use shortcuts to execute these batch files, making idle<->overclock an easy toggle. Even with forced idle clocks, blurays only use 20% gpu.

Overvolting
When your card exceeds 70c it starts to downclock AND downvolt. If you apply a maximum voltage offset of +187.5mhz, your card will no longer downvolt. It will still downclock, but a fixed voltage may solve stability issues if you are right on the edge.

Known issues

Using -resetAllPStates command does not work correctly.

Reverting to default P mode can sometimes, depending on what you did, lock your card at a specific clock speed. Simply reinstall drivers to fix (clean install not required).

There is a 1-2% performance loss using this method. I have no idea why. Stick to normal overclock methods if you want high benchmark figures.

whybother is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 40 (permalink) Old 06-09-2012, 10:54 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
whybother's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: London, UK
Posts: 573
Rep: 64 (Unique: 58)
Undervolting
To undervolt requires a bit of trickery. The voltage is calculated by your current clock speeds distance from your boost clock speed. Increasing your boost value or decreasing the P2 clock speed will adjust your voltage.

Normal overclock with stock voltage
5_undervolt_1.png

Decrease P2 clock speed and voltage is automatically lowered - this is Heaven stable for me
5_undervolt_2.png

Increasing boost decreases voltage at selected clock speed
5_undervolt_3.png

whybother is offline  
post #3 of 40 (permalink) Old 06-09-2012, 10:55 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
whybother's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: London, UK
Posts: 573
Rep: 64 (Unique: 58)
*reserved*

whybother is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 40 (permalink) Old 06-09-2012, 10:56 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
General123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 3,254
Rep: 177 (Unique: 147)
Hmm well thats actually pretty intresting. I noticed in Bf3 my 670 is all over the place as well sometimes, ESPECIALLY in Starcraft

General123 is offline  
post #5 of 40 (permalink) Old 06-26-2012, 01:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
kribol01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by whybother View Post

*reserved*

Hi,
first of all thanks for a nice guide.
Do you know how to make your batchcommands apply for two gfx-cards in an SLI setup? Currently only GPU1 responds when executing them.

Thanks
kribol01 is offline  
post #6 of 40 (permalink) Old 07-12-2012, 04:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
s74r1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 527
Rep: 39 (Unique: 36)
Great guide, thanks! I'm using this in a batch file to force +118 and +444 offsets (1178 and 3445) for my GTX 690 with 135% power target

Code:
"C:\Program Files (x86)\nvidia inspector\nvidiaInspector.exe" -setBaseClockOffset:0,0,118 -setMemoryClockOffset:0,0,444 -setpowertarget:0,135 -setVoltageOffset:0,0,187500 -setGPUClock:0,2,1178 -setMemoryClock:0,2,3445 -forcepstate:0,2

"C:\Program Files (x86)\nvidia inspector\nvidiaInspector.exe" -setBaseClockOffset:1,0,118 -setMemoryClockOffset:1,0,444 -setpowertarget:1,135 -setVoltageOffset:1,0,187500 -setGPUClock:1,2,1178 -setMemoryClock:1,2,3445 -forcepstate:1,2

now if only there were a way to stop it from downclocking at each temperature increase!

Edit: also, does anyone know if it's safe to run EVGA Precision or MSI Afterburner just to get the FPS/clocks overlay in games via RT statistics server? or will it mess up the NVInspector settings?
s74r1 is offline  
post #7 of 40 (permalink) Old 07-13-2012, 06:58 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
whybother's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: London, UK
Posts: 573
Rep: 64 (Unique: 58)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kribol01 View Post

Hi,
first of all thanks for a nice guide.
Do you know how to make your batchcommands apply for two gfx-cards in an SLI setup? Currently only GPU1 responds when executing them.
Thanks

Sorry for late reply. You simply need to add the settings for each card. The first number in each command is the card. So, to force idle for both would require:

nvidiaInspector.exe -forcepstate:0,8 -forcepstate:1,8

whybother is offline  
post #8 of 40 (permalink) Old 07-13-2012, 06:59 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
whybother's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: London, UK
Posts: 573
Rep: 64 (Unique: 58)
Quote:
Originally Posted by s74r1 View Post

Great guide, thanks!

Glad you found it useful.

I tried running without this method for a bit, but the latest drivers suck. My card kept sticking at random clock speeds when idle, giving rather high temps and a noiser than desired fan. I'll be using this method until Nvidia get their act together.

whybother is offline  
post #9 of 40 (permalink) Old 07-15-2012, 02:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
s74r1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 527
Rep: 39 (Unique: 36)
Actually, my readings were off. the clocks DON'T downclock with temperature like boost clock does!!! holding steady at 1163MHz on both GPU's now.

much better keeping a consistent clock, especially with a 690 since two fluctuating clock rates can't be good for micro-stutter. but I wish I could increase the power target more than 135% frown.gif my GPU0 still fluctuates down sometimes...


as for power management, I just use Nvidia Inspector's Multi Display Power Saver to force idle clocks.
s74r1 is offline  
post #10 of 40 (permalink) Old 08-02-2012, 07:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Brandonandon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 65
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Are you sure that temp doesn't cause throttling? I reached 80 when overclocking mine using this method, and when I looked at my core clock on GPU-Z it showed that my clockspeed was around 30 Hz less than it should have been during most of the Heaven benchmark.

On that note, is it possible to create a fan profile without a programs such as Precision X? It seems that when I start Precision X my overclock is disabled, though I remain in the same power state instead of going to idle. Without a good fan profile, however, I'm doomed to have throttling due to high temps.

Further, I have a 670FTW with a power target of 145%. When I attempted to overclock using this guide I was only able to achieve a boost of +55 on the core with many oscillations, even though my temps were below 70, my voltage was maxed out, and my power target remained under 110%. That is why I had hope in this method, to be able to force my card to stay at a higher and consistent clock speed. Does anyone have any clue why my card won't overclock well? Is there anything I can do?
Brandonandon is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off