[Official] Nvidia GeForce GTX TITAN Owners' club - Page 1349 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] Nvidia GeForce GTX TITAN Owners' club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13481 of 28152 (permalink) Old 08-18-2013, 06:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
flexus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 275
Rep: 5 (Unique: 4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evange View Post

I managed to set 1.3v in Afterburner but GPUz still only detects 1.212v. Strange thing is that Afterburner is detecting 1.3v though.

Damn, can someone with a multimeter test this out???

Unwinder sais that AB have direct access to VRM and read the voltage in that way and not throught NVIDIA driver, hm.

Edit: From the forum "However the voltage which i set in afterburner is not applied when i check in aida64 or gpuz. it stays at stock 1.162v
I first tried 1.18v then went higher, but none were applied.

Does this mean i have the wrong voltage controller ?

No, it means that you have to use the tools supporting direct reading from NCP instead of just displaying driver voltages. Use DMM and ignore driver readings."

flexus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13482 of 28152 (permalink) Old 08-18-2013, 07:17 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 18,088
Rep: 535 (Unique: 304)
Quote:
Originally Posted by flexus View Post

Unwinder sais that AB have direct access to VRM and read the voltage in that way and not throught NVIDIA driver, hm.

Edit: From the forum "However the voltage which i set in afterburner is not applied when i check in aida64 or gpuz. it stays at stock 1.162v
I first tried 1.18v then went higher, but none were applied.

Does this mean i have the wrong voltage controller ?

No, it means that you have to use the tools supporting direct reading from NCP instead of just displaying driver voltages. Use DMM and ignore driver readings."

So... We are waiting for some one with a multi-meter to wake up, it seems. Though, I won't be holding my breath. Does this imply that all the voltage locks are software based, and that guru/msi found a way around these software walls?

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
post #13483 of 28152 (permalink) Old 08-18-2013, 07:17 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
CallsignVega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Saudi Arabia (US Military)
Posts: 8,325
Rep: 520 (Unique: 359)
Quote:
Originally Posted by OccamRazor View Post

Ok guys! let´s settle this once and for all! TITAN OC vs 780 OC! and with MODDED BIOS as well, im tired of reading biased reviews with 780OC beating stock clock/bios Titans!
I would like to see in here, members without BS, with GAMING tests not benchmarks (sorry Bench Guys) wink.gif
i believe that OC for OC the 780 must have in excess 200mhz to beat the Titan! I want this proved or disproved please! thumb.gif
Can someone give me some data? Doesnt matter if you have 3930K or 3570/3770K OC, as long you have OC titan and Modded bios so the Titan does not throttle during game benches! +REP for all that contribute so we can make some sense of this!
And by the way, please guys fill the ASIC chart so Alatar can publish it in the front page, thanks! https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AoxldH25nmgsdGxsOW9naFU0QTJhRTJVVTUtUjRWSEE#gid=0

Cheers

Ed

I have two 780 Classified Hydrocoppers +EVBot inbound to play around with. I'll pit them versus my two top Titans.

GPU: TITAN RTX - 2175 MHz, liquid cooled
CPU: 9900K 5.4 GHz, liquid cooled
MB: ASUS Maximus XI Gene
RAM: G.Skill 16GB 4600 MHz
SSD: Intel Optane 905P - 960GB
DISPLAY: Acer Predator XB273K 4K 144 Hz G-Sync / LG C8 OLED / LG 38GL950G
CallsignVega is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13484 of 28152 (permalink) Old 08-18-2013, 07:24 AM
What is old is new
 
OccamRazor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Germantown MD
Posts: 4,447
Rep: 631 (Unique: 322)
OccamRazor is offline  
post #13485 of 28152 (permalink) Old 08-18-2013, 07:26 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
flexus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 275
Rep: 5 (Unique: 4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by skupples View Post

So... We are waiting for some one with a multi-meter to wake up, it seems. Though, I won't be holding my breath. Does this imply that all the voltage locks are software based, and that guru/msi found a way around these software walls?

Yeah sounds weird. I could have hook up the multimeter to the card as I have it disassemble for modding. But I have to fill the loop again and if it is just BS I have to drain the loop and disassemble it again and then do the mod. To much hassel redface.gif

flexus is offline  
post #13486 of 28152 (permalink) Old 08-18-2013, 07:29 AM
What is old is new
 
OccamRazor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Germantown MD
Posts: 4,447
Rep: 631 (Unique: 322)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcg75 View Post

I'll have something for you late next week. I just ordered a Galaxy 780 HOF to keep my Titan company. Will be doing all tests with the exact same hardware.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CallsignVega View Post

I have two 780 Classified Hydrocoppers +EVBot inbound to play around with. I'll pit them versus my two top Titans.

Thanks guys!!! You´re the best!!! thumb.gif

Cheers

Ed
OccamRazor is offline  
post #13487 of 28152 (permalink) Old 08-18-2013, 07:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
flexus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 275
Rep: 5 (Unique: 4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by OccamRazor View Post

Yes but for a while only...
As soon as Nvidia knows about it, it will be the same 590 drivers locked voltage story again... mad.gif

Yes consider that you could kill the Titan at only 1.3V hehe. But anyways it would be smooth for now.

flexus is offline  
post #13488 of 28152 (permalink) Old 08-18-2013, 07:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 18,088
Rep: 535 (Unique: 304)
Classi's vs. Titans? That doesn't sound very fair, lol.

I proper comparison would be OC Vs. OC, or vanilla Vs. Vanilla

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
post #13489 of 28152 (permalink) Old 08-18-2013, 07:40 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Purgatory
Posts: 2,280
Rep: 125 (Unique: 82)
Quote:
Originally Posted by OccamRazor View Post

Yes but for a while only...
As soon as Nvidia knows about it, it will be the same 590 drivers locked voltage story again... mad.gif

Nvidia's largest AIB, EVGA recently announced dual bios for number of different cards. This may be signalling a shift in Nvidia's ..cough..failed boost 2.0 program and even green light crap. I doubt EVGA will do anything like this without Nvidia's blessing as both are tied at the hip. so, who knows, there may be hope after all

Simplicity
provost is offline  
post #13490 of 28152 (permalink) Old 08-18-2013, 07:41 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
cravinmild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: BC Interior
Posts: 4,779
Rep: 173 (Unique: 144)
Where on the card do u test with a multimeter

cravinmild is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off