[Official] NVIDIA GTX 780 Owner's Club - Page 1543 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] NVIDIA GTX 780 Owner's Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #15421 of 24972 (permalink) Old 12-09-2013, 07:59 PM
What is old is new
 
OccamRazor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Germantown MD
Posts: 4,447
Rep: 631 (Unique: 322)
Quote:
Originally Posted by KarateF22 View Post

Would setting it to multiple monitor have any chance of yielding a performance increase over single, or no?

No, it only increases idle voltage! wink.gif

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikkomg View Post

So, got down to this tonight. I really dont have a clue why so i would be glad if someone would help me out in this one.

Switched to the REV 3A bios 80.10.3A.00.32 for my Gigabyte GTX 780. Got it stable without much truble @ 1215/6220 Mhz.
So, to the problem. I did a couple of Valley runs (Preset HD and 1920) and i scored about 39 FPS, and 3Dmark Firestorm 8800 something!

Similar system got about 75+ in Valley. And before i did the 1.212v mod i got about 9230p in Firestorm.

Running Gigabyte GTX780 windforce
Haswell I5 4.4Ghz

Any ideas? I dont think its because of high temp. GPU goes to 74 and CPU 69.

Not enough info and what mod did you do? Did you run the same preset in Valley? normally its extreme preset but still 39 is too low! After the flash did you reinstall drivers? And what similar system? you mean the same but with stock bios?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mercinator16 View Post

I have a question on the Disable LLC At Windows Start hack.

Whenever it starts up I get 3 UAC messages from Afterburner, is this normal?

Read Skupples answer, its correct! UAC permissions!

Quote:
Originally Posted by maneil99 View Post

Thanks, just actually retested performance vs idle in guild wars 2. my GPU runs at 1254 normally when being strained by 99% of games ( BF4, Crysis, ect ) GW2 is obviously one of the CPU bound games that I was talking about earlier that downclocks. Weird thing , while it downclocks on both settings, performance keeps it always at a minimum of 1019, adaptive in the same area moves from the 8xx-9xx. sometimes jumping higher to 1110.

Would this change the framerate at all, I mean a GPU running at 1019mhz while only 50% is being used is still faster then it running a lower frequency right? Would it be recommended then to set performance mode for all games that downclock due to low usage? Thanks

"Performance" is in some cases better than adaptive but it depends on the game load actually! Some scenes require more load than others and sometimes drivers are not up to the task, still better than most AMD driver optimizations... tongue.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by skupples View Post

Yes, if your permissions are set as such. Just tell it to not ask you again/lower UAC levels.

^ ^ This! thumb.gif

Quote:
Originally Posted by mercinator16 View Post

So its supposed to be opening four instances of Afterburner at the same time?

Its not opening AB instances but asking permissions! wink.gif

Quote:
Originally Posted by caenlen View Post

I am stable at 1293 core, thanks for your help Occams Razor and Skyn3t. I tried 1313 core and it crashed, so dropped it 20. smile.gif Voltage i put on +62


You´re welcome! Game on! thumb.gif


Cheers all


Ed


(Skyn3t Team)
OccamRazor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15422 of 24972 (permalink) Old 12-09-2013, 08:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 18,132
Rep: 539 (Unique: 305)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mercinator16 View Post

So its supposed to be opening four instances of Afterburner at the same time?

It should only be asking permission 4 times.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
post #15423 of 24972 (permalink) Old 12-09-2013, 08:15 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
PsyenceFiction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 36
Rep: 0
i have question about powering components of reference gtx780 pcb (VRM, mosfet etc) - these are designed to deliver max 250W arent these? So with unlocked PT by skynet's bioses 340W - shouldn't have it kiled it? its too high current for the powering components or not? what about 440W or 500W unlocked bios! that's crazy isnt it? how can you guys still be using it? what about longevity of the card? Is there any assurance that reference design pcb can handle 440-500W load? I would fear the currenf/power rather than VRM temps...

I would be very glad to hear that my concerns are pointless because i would like to OC more which needs power, but what is the truth? Isn't pumping too much power through powering components too GPU rather killing them than temperatures?



And the second question - i decided to replace thermal paste on my reference card with noctua nt-h1 - the results were worse than with default factory TIM, so i put arctic MX-2 on it and it is a bit better than noctua nt-h1 but still worse than default....what could be wrong? i didnt put to much thick layer on the gpu i think...i can post photos how i did it...but im very surprised that i was expecting better temps witch reference cooler and the effect is absolutely reversed...im getting highrt temps than before...
PsyenceFiction is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #15424 of 24972 (permalink) Old 12-09-2013, 08:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
axizor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Metro Detroit, MI
Posts: 1,466
Rep: 52 (Unique: 46)
Quick question - Can an overclocked 780 Ti play BF4 at a steady 60+ fps at 1080p?

Thanks biggrin.gif

axizor is offline  
post #15425 of 24972 (permalink) Old 12-09-2013, 08:19 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 18,132
Rep: 539 (Unique: 305)
Quote:
Originally Posted by axizor View Post

Quick question - Can an overclocked 780 Ti play BF4 at a steady 60+ fps at 1080p?

Thanks biggrin.gif

I would sure as hell hope so, minus heavy AA.
Quote:
Originally Posted by PsyenceFiction View Post

i have question about powering components of reference gtx780 pcb (VRM, mosfet etc) - these are designed to deliver max 250W arent these? So wigh unlocked PT by skynet's bioses 340W - shouldn't have it kiled it? its too high current for the powering components or not? wbat abojt 440W or 500W unlocked bios! that's crazy isnt it? how can you guys still be using it? what about longevity of the card? Is there any assurance ghat reference design pcb can handle 440-500W load? I would fear rather the currenf/power than VRM temps...

I would be very glad to bear that my concerns are pointless because i would like to OC more which needs power, but what is the truth?



And the second question - i decided to replace thermal paste on my reference card with noctua nt-h1 - the results were worse than with default factory TIM, so i put arctic MX-2 on it and it is a bit better than noctua nt-h1 but still worse than default....what could be wrong? i didnt put to much thick layer on the gpu i think...i can post photos how i did it...but im very surprised that i was eypexting better temps witch reference cooler and the effect is absolutely reversed...

#1) Just because the power is there to use, doesn't mean it's going to use it. No, it's not going to just up & blow the card unless you are pushing it waaayyy too hard for stock air. The truth is that you have pretty high limitations on air that you shouldn't pass, but since the card can only do 1.212 right now it shouldn't be much of an issue as long as it's running max fan speed.

#2) if you spread the tim around you are doing your self a diservice. Just put a rice grain sized dot & plop the cooler on.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
post #15426 of 24972 (permalink) Old 12-09-2013, 08:21 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
axizor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Metro Detroit, MI
Posts: 1,466
Rep: 52 (Unique: 46)
Quote:
Originally Posted by skupples View Post

I would sure as hell hope so, minus heavy AA.

Would 4x MSAA be considered heavy AA? tongue.gif

axizor is offline  
post #15428 of 24972 (permalink) Old 12-09-2013, 08:22 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 18,132
Rep: 539 (Unique: 305)
Quote:
Originally Posted by axizor View Post

Would 4x MSAA be considered heavy AA? tongue.gif

Yes, I believe so. You may have better luck using that new resolution % thingy over using AA.,

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
post #15429 of 24972 (permalink) Old 12-09-2013, 08:29 PM
What is old is new
 
OccamRazor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Germantown MD
Posts: 4,447
Rep: 631 (Unique: 322)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PsyenceFiction View Post

i have question about powering components of reference gtx780 pcb (VRM, mosfet etc) - these are designed to deliver max 250W arent these? So with unlocked PT by skynet's bioses 340W - shouldn't have it kiled it? its too high current for the powering components or not? what about 440W or 500W unlocked bios! that's crazy isnt it? how can you guys still be using it? what about longevity of the card? Is there any assurance that reference design pcb can handle 440-500W load? I would fear the currenf/power rather than VRM temps...

I would be very glad to hear that my concerns are pointless because i would like to OC more which needs power, but what is the truth? Isn't pumping too much power through powering components too GPU rather killing them than temperatures? Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
And the second question - i decided to replace thermal paste on my reference card with noctua nt-h1 - the results were worse than with default factory TIM, so i put arctic MX-2 on it and it is a bit better than noctua nt-h1 but still worse than default....what could be wrong? i didnt put to much thick layer on the gpu i think...i can post photos how i did it...but im very surprised that i was expecting better temps witch reference cooler and the effect is absolutely reversed...im getting highrt temps than before...

Here is some quotes from my posts:

"Unfortunately no air cooler has good contact with VRM area (power inductors, capacitors and mosfets) and the higher the TDP the higher the amperage which leads to higher power dissipation in the VRM´s and thus higher heat, your card outputs at stock a max (+- )130W TDP thats why you see even at 1,3v lower temps at the core and VRM´s! Titans with 1,3v+ can use more than 400W! biggrin.gif
The reference VRM´s can withstand voltages above stock without a sweat, the titans mosfets are rated at high current handling DC-DC 60A with an efficiency of 93%, max temps 125C*, power inductors max ref temps 110C, Capacitors rated 105C!
This (and using waterblocks such as EK that cover the entire VRM area) is why we haven't seen blown up Titans!thumb.gif
But... Dont think that because the components are not bad, it means everything is ok! if you keep upping the voltage there will be a time when the heat transfer will not be enough due to the VRM area heat output and a heat spike will blow the mosfets or the capacitors!
*not exactely 125C , think of it more at 110C due to other factors!"

"6 Phase VRM´s (CORE) 60A each = 360A

DC-DC = I(A) × V(V) = P(W) =» 360A x 1.6v = 576W Theoretical MAX Wattage for the core

Plus 2 Phases for the memory and the rest of the card!

@ 1.40v = 504W
@ 1.45v = 522W "

"Did some testings today and this is for all those inquisitive minds out there wandering on the power draw of our beast cards running GK110!

Bear in mind that my system is in my SIG and the only difference was the [email protected]@1,30v! Using triple monitor 3240 x [email protected] SLI TITANS W/ Skyn3t Rev2 bios
and memory at stock 6000mhz!

1306mhz / 1,37v / power draw 124% / load 99% 372W*
1333mhz / 1.37v / power draw 134% / load 99% 402W*
1359mhz / 1.37v / power draw 139% / load 99% 417W*
1385mhz / 1.37v / power draw 145% / load 99% 435W*
1400mhz / 1.39v / power draw 155% / load 99% 465W*
*Power draw just for one card
As you can see voltage alone will not increase power draw until you increase clocks and dynamically load your card, power was being drawn from the wall ranging from 850W - 1250W!"

I hope i made your mind at ease but if not feel free to PM me with more questions! thumb.gif

Cheers

Ed

(Skyn3t Team)

More bed time reading! tongue.gifWarning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
"Please do NOT GO ABOVE 1,212v WITH SOFT VOLT MOD AND LLC DISABLE!
No air cooler has the capacity to dissipate the heat load out of the VRM area when OC with overvoltage! And you cannot know the VRM´s temps, only do an estimate calculation based on your power draw! HEAT KILLS!
Exactly what happens depends on how excess the power is. It may be a sustained cooking. In this case, the MOSFET gets hot enough to literally unsolder itself. Much of the MOSFET heating at high currents is in the leads - which can quite easily unsolder themselves without the MOSFET failing! If the heat is generated in the chip, then it will get hot - but its maximum temperature is usually not silicon-restricted, but restricted by the fabrication. The silicon chip is bonded to the substrate by soft solder and it is quite easy to melt this and have it ooze between the epoxy and the metal of the body, forming solder droplets! Excess heat leads to short circuit! Usually, a MOSFET will fail short first. This is because excessive heat will, by diffusion, mix the dopants enough to create a good conductor instead of the p-n or n-p barriers that were there originally. Often, the gate oxide will be taken into the diffusion, too, causing a short between all three terminals.
Only if the short circuit current after this first mode of failure is high enough to blow the bond wires or the entire transistor, there is an open circuit.
Another forgotten thing is the voltage controller NCP4206 itself! its rated for a maximum operating temperature of 85C and again no way to measure the temperature!

Please guys PLAY SAFE!

ON AIR MAX VOLTAGE: 1.212v + 0.025 (+-) 0.006v = 1.24v(+-)
Keep the fan high and dont let temps go over 70/75C and even this is with a pinch of salt! thumb.gif

And Power Draw debunked:
https://www.overclock.net/t/1393791/official-nvidia-gtx-780-owners-club/14900_100#post_21306517 wink.gif
OccamRazor is offline  
post #15430 of 24972 (permalink) Old 12-09-2013, 09:15 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 18,132
Rep: 539 (Unique: 305)
OK folks, i'm spreading my ignorance around the threads I visit more than usual...

If you are not running anti-corrosion additives in your loop (specially you nickel users, copper also applies) GO GET SOME. Mayhem's additive is amazing, covers all the bases, and is super cheep. Those with nickel should use EK's EKoolant. Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)



after hours and hours of reading, cross referencing & calling family members with chem degree's iv'e learned that the go to advice of distilled water + deadwater/ptnuke(has bleach in it)/kill coil is simply not enough. distilled water has a natural yearning to eat your metal, & will do so.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off