[Official] NVIDIA GTX 780 Owner's Club - Page 2495 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] NVIDIA GTX 780 Owner's Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #24941 of 24972 (permalink) Old 07-26-2018, 11:30 AM
Like a fox!
 
kithylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,116
Rep: 77 (Unique: 58)
Quote: Originally Posted by Blackops_2 View Post
That's pretty high for anything outside the HOF, lightening, or Classified. Congrats. I have two Classifieds and have had trouble getting them to both run at 1200 on the core. I actually had to reflash bios trying to do so due to corruption. I'm fairly sure the 850w psu isn't cutting it, plan to drain and put my 1250 in it soon. I run one most of the time at 1215/6200. Least that or i'm just unlucky with 780 classifieds. Which from my understanding were hitting 1300+ fairly easy. Temps never break 45C either. Though 6x fans, a pump, 3770k @ 4.5ghz, i think i'm approaching the envelope of the PSU, that or it's just old and dying.
It might very well be your power supply. I bought a random used GTX 780 classified off ebay about 3 months ago for a budget build computer for "retro gaming", and a backup to my x99 computer and it has 86.1% ASIC quality (according to an older version of gpu-z) and it runs 1267 mhz core and 7200 mhz ram on 1.205v perfectly stable. I had it at 7600 mhz ram for the first month but it proved to be quite unstable and I had to back it down yesterday to 7200 mhz ram instead. It's running in a system with a i5-2500K @ 5.0 ghz @ 1.608v.

I've been trying to tune the bios myself with kepler bios tuner, I have experience tuning a lot of GTX 600 series and I've set all the voltage where I want to for the 780, but it just never applies when I'm in games and I don't understand why. I'm trying to get either 1.212v or 1.225v but it just won't go over 1.205v with bios for some dumb reason. I have the old Classified Voltage Tool, and I can use that and manually set it to anything and it shows applied in gpu-z, and it runs hotter when voltage is up so it's doing it.. classified voltage tool has even let me apply like, 1.237v, 1.250v, 1.275v, 1.300v, etc, and they all apply. But.. not with bios. It's the darndest thing.

But I'm not really mad, 1267 core and 7200 ram is perfectly -fine- for a GTX 780. And it tops out around 80c - 85c with the stock cooler from EVGA. I'd love to water cool it but I can't find a block anywhere, this system has the custom loop in it already for the cpu and enough radiator for the 780, just no block. I'm not really familiar with how this compares with other cards, is this exceptionally good for air cooled 780's? Or just average?

Also, Blackops_2: Do you have a 3dmark firestrike score of both of your 780's together with your 3770K by chance? I've been considering getting another 780 classy card for this one at some point. I saw one on ebay for $154 just recently with free shipping.

EDIT: Typo.

Last edited by kithylin; 07-26-2018 at 12:27 PM.
kithylin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24942 of 24972 (permalink) Old 07-26-2018, 12:24 PM
Optics Fiend
 
Blackops_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 4,807
Rep: 81 (Unique: 66)
Yeah i will when i get home. Though the best clocks i ever got in SLi were 1150/6200. I might can bench higher though if you want a specific clock i can pump some volts and give it a try. I need to drain it and put the 1250 in there and see if that's the issue. I've just never heard of Classys clocking this low. You want me to run stock? Or Skyn3t? Stock my original card boost to 1137mhz and the other to 1110mhz.

To me and this is just me SLi isn't really worth it. Less running 4k or shooting for 144hz 1440p (which 780s aren't going to do at this point) i'd rather have a single card solution every time. Too many games especially the most recent ones do not support SLi and have no SLi profiles. It looks cool and maybe it's just my attitude because i have't hit the mark i had hoped to achieve which was around 1250/7000 on both cards and again my 3770k at 4.5ghz where it is. I will say TW3, GoW 4, and GTA V with DSR were quite fun to run SLi in. I also need SLi for Dishonored 2. Game is so poorly optimized for Kepler or poorly optimized in general that i can't manage 60fps without the second card.

Green Envy
(12 items)
Purple Haze
(12 items)
CPU
i7-3770k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard
Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3
GPU
EVGA 780 Classified
GPU
EVGA 780 Classified
RAM
16GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 2133
Hard Drive
WD Raptor
Power Supply
Seasonic 850w M12II
Cooling
Cooler Master Glacer 240L
Case
Phantek Enthoo Pro
Operating System
Windows 7 64-Bit Home premium
Monitor
Asus VG248QE
Keyboard
Logitech G15
CPU
Ryzen R5 1600x
Motherboard
Fatal1ty AB350 Gaming-ITX
GPU
Diamond 7970
RAM
G Skill DDR4 3200
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo
Power Supply
Corsair SF600
Cooling
Cooler Master Glacer 240L
Cooling
Black Ice Nemesis L-Series 240 Stealth
Cooling
EK-FC7970 CSQ
Cooling
Mayhems X1 UV Purple
Case
Fractal Design Define S Nano
▲ hide details ▲
Blackops_2 is offline  
post #24943 of 24972 (permalink) Old 07-26-2018, 12:29 PM
Like a fox!
 
kithylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,116
Rep: 77 (Unique: 58)
Quote: Originally Posted by Blackops_2 View Post
Too many games especially the most recent ones do not support SLi and have no SLi profiles.
Fortunately, those of us that know our way around nvidia inspector can just create profiles manually and still get positive scaling and good results with SLI systems. Just because nvidia didn't make a profile for a game doesn't mean it doesn't support SLI. And for firestrike, just, whatever you can run that's stable. I'm just trying to get a general idea of overclocked 780's in SLI and where they slot-in for performance. In my rudimentary maths, it should be about GTX 1080 Level.
kithylin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24944 of 24972 (permalink) Old 07-26-2018, 01:34 PM
Optics Fiend
 
Blackops_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 4,807
Rep: 81 (Unique: 66)
Quote: Originally Posted by kithylin View Post
Fortunately, those of us that know our way around nvidia inspector can just create profiles manually and still get positive scaling and good results with SLI systems. Just because nvidia didn't make a profile for a game doesn't mean it doesn't support SLI. And for firestrike, just, whatever you can run that's stable. I'm just trying to get a general idea of overclocked 780's in SLI and where they slot-in for performance. In my rudimentary maths, it should be about GTX 1080 Level.
Yeah i know nothing of it lol, i jumped into SLi pretty wet behind the ears and still am. So it's been so so for me. I'll run them at 1150/6200 which is what i got regularly with both cards.

Green Envy
(12 items)
Purple Haze
(12 items)
CPU
i7-3770k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard
Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3
GPU
EVGA 780 Classified
GPU
EVGA 780 Classified
RAM
16GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 2133
Hard Drive
WD Raptor
Power Supply
Seasonic 850w M12II
Cooling
Cooler Master Glacer 240L
Case
Phantek Enthoo Pro
Operating System
Windows 7 64-Bit Home premium
Monitor
Asus VG248QE
Keyboard
Logitech G15
CPU
Ryzen R5 1600x
Motherboard
Fatal1ty AB350 Gaming-ITX
GPU
Diamond 7970
RAM
G Skill DDR4 3200
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo
Power Supply
Corsair SF600
Cooling
Cooler Master Glacer 240L
Cooling
Black Ice Nemesis L-Series 240 Stealth
Cooling
EK-FC7970 CSQ
Cooling
Mayhems X1 UV Purple
Case
Fractal Design Define S Nano
▲ hide details ▲
Blackops_2 is offline  
post #24945 of 24972 (permalink) Old 07-26-2018, 07:34 PM
Optics Fiend
 
Blackops_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 4,807
Rep: 81 (Unique: 66)
Here it is bud at 1215/6200
https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/27732133?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	23
Size:	357.3 KB
ID:	208250  


Green Envy
(12 items)
Purple Haze
(12 items)
CPU
i7-3770k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard
Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3
GPU
EVGA 780 Classified
GPU
EVGA 780 Classified
RAM
16GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 2133
Hard Drive
WD Raptor
Power Supply
Seasonic 850w M12II
Cooling
Cooler Master Glacer 240L
Case
Phantek Enthoo Pro
Operating System
Windows 7 64-Bit Home premium
Monitor
Asus VG248QE
Keyboard
Logitech G15
CPU
Ryzen R5 1600x
Motherboard
Fatal1ty AB350 Gaming-ITX
GPU
Diamond 7970
RAM
G Skill DDR4 3200
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo
Power Supply
Corsair SF600
Cooling
Cooler Master Glacer 240L
Cooling
Black Ice Nemesis L-Series 240 Stealth
Cooling
EK-FC7970 CSQ
Cooling
Mayhems X1 UV Purple
Case
Fractal Design Define S Nano
▲ hide details ▲
Blackops_2 is offline  
post #24946 of 24972 (permalink) Old 07-26-2018, 09:27 PM
Like a fox!
 
kithylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,116
Rep: 77 (Unique: 58)
Quote: Originally Posted by Blackops_2 View Post
Here it is bud at 1215/6200
https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/27732133?
I found this through hwbot, random result from someone with a 1080: https://www.3dmark.com/fs/12780789

Not too far off.
kithylin is offline  
post #24947 of 24972 (permalink) Old 07-26-2018, 09:51 PM
Optics Fiend
 
Blackops_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 4,807
Rep: 81 (Unique: 66)
I'm still convinced the seasonic 850w is holding me back from higher clocks. Thing gets super loud in benching.

But yeah graphics score is very similar.

Green Envy
(12 items)
Purple Haze
(12 items)
CPU
i7-3770k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard
Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3
GPU
EVGA 780 Classified
GPU
EVGA 780 Classified
RAM
16GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 2133
Hard Drive
WD Raptor
Power Supply
Seasonic 850w M12II
Cooling
Cooler Master Glacer 240L
Case
Phantek Enthoo Pro
Operating System
Windows 7 64-Bit Home premium
Monitor
Asus VG248QE
Keyboard
Logitech G15
CPU
Ryzen R5 1600x
Motherboard
Fatal1ty AB350 Gaming-ITX
GPU
Diamond 7970
RAM
G Skill DDR4 3200
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo
Power Supply
Corsair SF600
Cooling
Cooler Master Glacer 240L
Cooling
Black Ice Nemesis L-Series 240 Stealth
Cooling
EK-FC7970 CSQ
Cooling
Mayhems X1 UV Purple
Case
Fractal Design Define S Nano
▲ hide details ▲
Blackops_2 is offline  
post #24948 of 24972 (permalink) Old 07-27-2018, 04:02 AM
Like a fox!
 
kithylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,116
Rep: 77 (Unique: 58)
Quote: Originally Posted by Blackops_2 View Post
I'm still convinced the seasonic 850w is holding me back from higher clocks. Thing gets super loud in benching.

But yeah graphics score is very similar.
Grab a Kill-a-watt plug in meter, or something similar to measure the load AC Side? 100% load would probably be about 900 something for a 850W power supply.
kithylin is offline  
post #24949 of 24972 (permalink) Old 07-27-2018, 06:13 AM
Optics Fiend
 
Blackops_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 4,807
Rep: 81 (Unique: 66)
Quote: Originally Posted by kithylin View Post
Grab a Kill-a-watt plug in meter, or something similar to measure the load AC Side? 100% load would probably be about 900 something for a 850W power supply.
I actually got one of those last year, maybe that's not it then. I pull about 650-700 at the wall. Even with 150 power target and volts cranked as high as they can go. Maybe it's something else, i have always heard OCing is harder in SLi. 1200 on each is fine with me i'd like to get the memory clocks higher though.

Green Envy
(12 items)
Purple Haze
(12 items)
CPU
i7-3770k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard
Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3
GPU
EVGA 780 Classified
GPU
EVGA 780 Classified
RAM
16GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 2133
Hard Drive
WD Raptor
Power Supply
Seasonic 850w M12II
Cooling
Cooler Master Glacer 240L
Case
Phantek Enthoo Pro
Operating System
Windows 7 64-Bit Home premium
Monitor
Asus VG248QE
Keyboard
Logitech G15
CPU
Ryzen R5 1600x
Motherboard
Fatal1ty AB350 Gaming-ITX
GPU
Diamond 7970
RAM
G Skill DDR4 3200
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo
Power Supply
Corsair SF600
Cooling
Cooler Master Glacer 240L
Cooling
Black Ice Nemesis L-Series 240 Stealth
Cooling
EK-FC7970 CSQ
Cooling
Mayhems X1 UV Purple
Case
Fractal Design Define S Nano
▲ hide details ▲
Blackops_2 is offline  
post #24950 of 24972 (permalink) Old 07-27-2018, 10:51 AM
Like a fox!
 
kithylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,116
Rep: 77 (Unique: 58)
Quote: Originally Posted by Blackops_2 View Post
I actually got one of those last year, maybe that's not it then. I pull about 650-700 at the wall. Even with 150 power target and volts cranked as high as they can go. Maybe it's something else, i have always heard OCing is harder in SLi. 1200 on each is fine with me i'd like to get the memory clocks higher though.
I don't know exactly what power supply you have, since you've just said "seasonic 850W" so I picked a random 80+ gold seasonic 850W and looked it up on jonnyguru's website for example for you, see here: http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php...tory3&reid=531

This is how power supplies work, the 850W figure is only DC side power (inside your computer). Due to how power supplies work, they always draw more power AC side (Wall plug side) than they are providing inside the computer (DC side). This is why we have different "color tiers", different tiers are more efficient than others at the conversion process, less draw AC side for the same power draw inside the computer. Also most power supplies are more efficent in the middle of their power profile. Like if you have a 850W unit, efficiency drops off bad at 90% load and above. You can see in the table there this random 850W gold unit in the JG website has 90% and 89% efficiency at 175W - 635W of load, then drops down to 86% @ 845W.

Anyway, The 80+ gold seasonic I found in JG website shows that with an 89% efficiency unit it would draw 700 watts from the wall to provide 635 watts of power to your components. And 86% efficiency unit (95% load) it would pull 972 watts from the wall for providing 845 watts to your components.

So maybe by reading this table it would give you some idea that for 650-700 watts @ the wall for a 850W power supply (And you're most likely gold or better I would imagine), it looks like only loading it to 60% - 75% capacity.

However sometimes power supplies are really old and over time the capacitors degrade and they may not be as stable for overclocking as they were when new, that's a factor too. I have a 1KW one here that's 5 years old that's like that: It works perfectly fine for "stock" setups with most computers but I've found it to be rather unstable when overclocking to the point that it doesn't overclock as well or as far with computer components compared to my 3 month old EVGA SuperNova P2 850W for example.

Last edited by kithylin; 07-27-2018 at 11:13 AM.
kithylin is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off