[Official] NVIDIA GTX 780 Owner's Club - Page 775 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

[Official] NVIDIA GTX 780 Owner's Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7741 of 24982 (permalink) Old 08-18-2013, 10:44 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
NateST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,354
Rep: 66 (Unique: 61)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tiaolipa View Post

So, I did a 3Dmark11 run at 1333mhz on core.

It throtled like hell and the end results were far worse than at 1215 and 1241 mhz core.

It reached though 112% PT (with stock bios, setted to 106%) thus the throttling.

Then I think that the REV1 Bios + the MSI afterburner trick will just be teh perfect thing!
I'm just afraid of burning my VRMs and saying goodbye to my GPUs...

ANyoneone have any thoughts to give courage? rolleyes.gif
I ran a 8 hour gaming session of BF3 accidentally @ 1.3v, actual GPU temps were fine, not sure about the VRMS. YMMV, I'm not condoning that you do this however I did run at a significant amount of time without something blowing up yet.
NateST is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7742 of 24982 (permalink) Old 08-18-2013, 11:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Micket73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Rep: 0
Feed back for the GTX 780 ACX SC rev 3 bios.

I installed the bios its my first time. The bios installed well, I reinstalled my geforce drivers. Now the problem is taht my results are worst with this one then my stock.


@ Stock 1.2v: core 1198MHz
mem 3623Mhz


@ Flashed bios 1.12v Core 1150Mhz
mem 3300Mhz



Some questions what is disabled boost exactly? Does it means my GPU does not down clock anymore so it runs all the time full speed with full voltage?
Is it more dangerous with boost off or is it the same.

my temps are always same I was wondering is 1.212 still safe even if I know there is always a risk.

Micket73 is offline  
post #7743 of 24982 (permalink) Old 08-18-2013, 11:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Pandora's Box's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cleveland Ohio
Posts: 849
Rep: 40 (Unique: 37)
Disabling boost means that in 3D the card will run full speed all the time. When not in 3D it will downclock to 2d speeds.

Interesting that you got lower results with the bios mod.

AMD Ryzen 9 3900X || Corsair H150i Pro 360mm Rad || Asrock X470 Taichi || EVGA RTX 2080 TI XC Ultra Gaming || 16GB G.Skill DDR4 3200MHz 14-15-14-28-1T || Samsung 840 EVO 1TB SSD || Samsung 840 EVO 750GB SSD || Inland 1TB NVME || EVGA SuperNova 1000W T2 Titanium PSU || Fractal Design R6 || Sennheiser PC37X Headset || Asus PG348Q 3440x1440 34" UltraWide 100Hz GSYNC
Ryzen
(15 items)
CPU
Ryzen 2600X
Motherboard
Asrock X470 Taichi
GPU
Titan Xp
GPU
Titan Xp
RAM
G.Skill 32GB DDR4-3200
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G3
Cooling
Corsair H150i Pro RGB
Case
Fractal Design R5
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus PG348Q
Keyboard
Logitech G710+
Mouse
Roccat Kova
Audio
Corsair Void Pro Wireless
▲ hide details ▲
Pandora's Box is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7744 of 24982 (permalink) Old 08-18-2013, 11:23 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Micket73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Rep: 0
When I try my old settings from the stock bios, heaven crashes immediately. But I am using a different driver of geforce. I was on the 320.48 now I am at 326.xx Can that be the cause and reinstalling precission x changes anything?

Micket73 is offline  
post #7745 of 24982 (permalink) Old 08-18-2013, 11:41 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
UNOE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: So Cal
Posts: 3,591
Rep: 128 (Unique: 116)
Quote:
Originally Posted by friskiest View Post

Below is also from Lumme, this is the exact post that I used to do it:


Try open command promt (CMD) and go to your MSI Afterburn catalog. There you should type in "msiafterburner /ri4,20,99" and it should return value 41. If that dosen't happen try "msiafterburner /ri3,20,99" instead.

If you get it to show 41 you should be able to get the higher voltage by modding your .cfg files afterburner profiles.

If ri4 return value 41, then use this setting in the .cfg files.
[Settings]
VDDC_Generic_Detection=0
VDDC_NCP4206_Detection=4:20h

If you have more luck with ri3 then use this instead:
[Settings]
VDDC_Generic_Detection=0
VDDC_NCP4206_Detection=3:20h



Do note that if you succeed the card will run a little hotter.


After you have done that, and if you actually have the NCP4206 controller, then you simply have to 'reboot' afteburner, and click settings to tick the 'unlock voltage' box.

It should then be able to be moved manually to 1.3v.

Do note, the voltage increase will not show up in gpuz, at least for me it did not show anything past 1.175v.

However, you can view and monitor the voltage in afterburner's graph.


Hope that helps a little.

Credit goes to Lumme, don't forget to show him love thumb.gif

Quote:
Originally Posted by tiaolipa View Post

someone posted it a few pages ago.

I'll launch 3Dmark11 and once its finished brb. once back I'll find it out and quote it here for you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tiaolipa View Post

Originally Posted by Lumme View Post

Good question on how to test both cards. I havn't got SLI but I suppose that you could try 1 card at that time (take out each card to test individually?).

To alter that .cfg files you have to give you self administrator rights in the folder (and supfolders) C:\Program Files (x86)\MSI Afterburner.
Then go to folder "profiles". There you will properly have 2 files ie. "VEN_10DE&DEV....1&DEV_0&FN_0.cfg" - one for each card.
Those are the file you want to alter (both of them):

"
[Startup]
Format=2
PowerLimit=
ThermalLimit=
ThermalPrioritize=
CoreClkBoost=
MemClkBoost=
FanMode=
FanSpeed=
CoreVoltageBoost=
CoreVoltage=
[Settings]
VDDC_Generic_Detection=0
VDDC_NCP4206_Detection=3:20h <- (or VDDC_NCP4206_Detection=4:20h)
CaptureDefaults=0
[Profile1]
Format=2
CoreVoltageBoost=0
PowerLimit=100
ThermalLimit=
ThermalPrioritize=0
CoreClkBoost=0
MemClkBoost=0
FanMode=1
FanSpeed=26
.
.
"

I'm not sure if it's also nessassary to alter the "MSIAfterburner.cfg" file. If so that should look something like this:
"
[Settings]
VDDC_Generic_Detection=0
VDDC_NCP4206_Detection=3:20h <- or VDDC_NCP4206_Detection=4:20h
LastUpdateCheck=520FFC92h
UpdateCheckingAllowBetas=1
UpdateCheckingPeriod=3
LowLevelInterface=1
MMIOUserMode=1
HAL=1
Sources=+Power,+GPU temperature,+GPU usage,-FB usage,-VID usage,-BUS usage,-Fan speed,-Fan tachometer,+Core clock,+Memory clock,+Memory usage,-Temp limit,-Power limit,-Voltage limit,-OV max limit,-Framerate,-Frametime
Skin=default.usf
.
.
.
"

This is sweet ...
I got my card to go over 1300Mhz finally. This really minimizes my covetousness of the classified HC now.
I got my water block installed on this reference card and I'm stoked now on my original choice to buy this card. I should be good now till next generation.


UNOE is offline  
post #7746 of 24982 (permalink) Old 08-18-2013, 11:45 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
friskiest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 441
Rep: 38 (Unique: 32)
Quote:
Originally Posted by UNOE View Post



This is sweet ...
I got my card to go over 1300Mhz finally. This really minimizes my covetousness of the classified HC now.
I got my water block installed on this reference card and I'm stoked now on my original choice to buy this card. I should be good now till next generation.

Awesome! Glad it worked for you.
But as mentioned earlier, your mileage may vary. We do not know if the components used in the ref models can handle this in the long run.

My card started clicking when i threw more than 1.212v at it, which I am hoping is just coil whine. redface.gif

.
friskiest is offline  
post #7747 of 24982 (permalink) Old 08-18-2013, 11:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
NateST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,354
Rep: 66 (Unique: 61)
Quote:
Originally Posted by friskiest View Post

Awesome! Glad it worked for you.
But as mentioned earlier, your mileage may vary. We do not know if the components used in the ref models can handle this in the long run.

My card started clicking when i threw more than 1.212v at it, which I am hoping is just coil whine. redface.gif
I've smacked my card around with probably 30+ 3dmark11 and Heaven runs, and an 8 hour gaming session. Hopefully those a bit more knowledgeable will pop in with some more info about the longevity of the VRMs, is it the heat that kills it or the voltage?
NateST is offline  
post #7748 of 24982 (permalink) Old 08-19-2013, 12:02 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
UNOE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: So Cal
Posts: 3,591
Rep: 128 (Unique: 116)
Quote:
Originally Posted by friskiest View Post

Awesome! Glad it worked for you.
But as mentioned earlier, your mileage may vary. We do not know if the components used in the ref models can handle this in the long run.

My card started clicking when i threw more than 1.212v at it, which I am hoping is just coil whine. redface.gif

I tried 1.3v and looks solid. I only game about 3 or 4 hours a week usually a hour at a time, and with a water block on the card in a loop with 3 radiators, 2 pumps, 1 GPU, 1 CPU, and 1 Motherboard block. I'm not to worried about it, any modern card VRM's should be able to withstand 1.3v to the core with water block cooling the VRM's if something goes bad it was probably already something weak on the card anyway that would have failed within its warranty window.


UNOE is offline  
post #7749 of 24982 (permalink) Old 08-19-2013, 12:07 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Pandora's Box's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cleveland Ohio
Posts: 849
Rep: 40 (Unique: 37)
We need someone to test the temperature of the voltage regulators. I have a feeling they are going to be roasting

AMD Ryzen 9 3900X || Corsair H150i Pro 360mm Rad || Asrock X470 Taichi || EVGA RTX 2080 TI XC Ultra Gaming || 16GB G.Skill DDR4 3200MHz 14-15-14-28-1T || Samsung 840 EVO 1TB SSD || Samsung 840 EVO 750GB SSD || Inland 1TB NVME || EVGA SuperNova 1000W T2 Titanium PSU || Fractal Design R6 || Sennheiser PC37X Headset || Asus PG348Q 3440x1440 34" UltraWide 100Hz GSYNC
Ryzen
(15 items)
CPU
Ryzen 2600X
Motherboard
Asrock X470 Taichi
GPU
Titan Xp
GPU
Titan Xp
RAM
G.Skill 32GB DDR4-3200
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G3
Cooling
Corsair H150i Pro RGB
Case
Fractal Design R5
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus PG348Q
Keyboard
Logitech G710+
Mouse
Roccat Kova
Audio
Corsair Void Pro Wireless
▲ hide details ▲
Pandora's Box is offline  
post #7750 of 24982 (permalink) Old 08-19-2013, 12:29 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
NateST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,354
Rep: 66 (Unique: 61)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pandora's Box View Post

We need someone to test the temperature of the voltage regulators. I have a feeling they are going to be roasting
After looking at where the location of the VRMs reside I might be inclined to disagree. Apparently at least on reference cards, they are behind the intake fan where the finned section is along the back of the card. Presuming that gets decent airflow going over it from the intake fan, I would at least think they're being cooled down considerably from a case that has good cool air coming in.
NateST is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off