[OFFICIAL] GTX 770 Owners Club - Page 916 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[OFFICIAL] GTX 770 Owners Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9151 of 9160 (permalink) Old 04-24-2018, 11:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
feznz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,955
Rep: 74 (Unique: 61)
Quote: Originally Posted by SonicDust187 View Post
Are the 680 and 770 the same cards?
same GPU but the 770 has faster memory than 680 there is a thread where some people have successfully flashed 770 Bios to a 680 but most cards don't really handle the faster default memory speed.

LG 38UC99-Asus Apex X [email protected] 5.4Ghz-2AVX-Asus 1080Ti Strix+Asus GTX770-16Gb RGB G-Skill 3200Mhz-256Mb 960evo OS-1Tb 860evo Programs-Corsair RM1000i-1.5+2+4Tb HDD- Custom Water loop
feznz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9152 of 9160 (permalink) Old 04-25-2018, 12:36 PM
Like a fox!
 
kithylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,056
Rep: 77 (Unique: 58)
Quote: Originally Posted by SonicDust187 View Post
Are the 680 and 770 the same cards?
Technically the "Paper Specs" appear the same, the GTX 680 and the GTX 770 both use the identical same GK104-400-A2 GPU chip, but nvidia shipped the GTX 770 with roughly about +40 Mhz to +80 Mhz faster core speed and max boost, but the big difference is nvidia fitted the GTX 770 with faster ram. The ram speed of the GDDR5 on the GTX 680 defaulted to 1502 Mhz (6008 Mhz Effective), where as the ram on the GTX 770 shipped with GDDR5 clocked @ 1752.5 Mhz reference, 7010 Mhz Effective. Other than that, they both use 256-Bit wide memory bus, GDDR5, and the exact same core. And (From what I can tell) the exact same GDDR5 as well. Just the GTX 770 is effectively a factory-overclocked GTX 680 from the nvidia reference spec, and then some AIB partner cards boosted it even higher for their aftermarket versions of the GTX 770. I don't know the exact differences, perhaps nvidia uses different physical ram chips for the 770's vs the 680's to get the faster ram speed for the 770's. Perhaps it's the same chips and they just overclocked it and locked it in and shipped it as a factory model. That I don't know why or how, but the GTX 770 does have faster ram by default.

Last edited by kithylin; 04-25-2018 at 12:42 PM.
kithylin is offline  
post #9153 of 9160 (permalink) Old 04-26-2018, 11:50 AM
voltage controller daemon
 
djthrottleboi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 5,919
Rep: 294 (Unique: 196)
hhmmmm.

"To be an expert is to know more and more about less and less." Albert Einstein

Club List (Click to show)Proper Thread Etiquette! (Click to show)
People when you come to a thread asking for help you should follow these steps in this order:
1. Know exactly what you looking for as this helps us help you.
2. Check the first page to see necessary steps and requirements and even rules/guidelines if there are any.
3. Read the last 5-10 pages of a thread to check for mistakes that others have made so that you will know what mistakes not to make.
djthrottleboi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9154 of 9160 (permalink) Old 04-26-2018, 04:52 PM
Overclocker
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,544
Rep: 50 (Unique: 37)
So I am looking at maybe upgrading replacing my aging GTX 770 in the near future...

I have this one:
https://www.evga.com/products/Specs/...d-3eb5798e8a68

I also have two PC's here, and one of them is an older i5-2500K with an even older GTX 275 in it.
I plan to replace the 770 in my primary rig, and then use it to replace the old 275 in the second Rig.

The second Rig with the 275 has the following PSU in it:
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...2E16817153040R

My question is, can that PSU support my GTX 770... or will I also have to consider replacing it too?

CPU
Intel Core i5-4690K @ 4.7ghz
Motherboard
ASRock Z97 Extreme6
GPU
eVGA GTX 770 4GB FTW
RAM
G.Skill Sniper DDR3-1866 8GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 Pro M.2 Series 512GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO M.2 Series 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital WD1002FAEX 1TB 6.0GBs
Optical Drive
LG Blu Ray Drive
Power Supply
eVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2
Cooling
Corsair H105
Cooling
Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850rpm AP-15 x2
Case
Cooler Master Storm Trooper window edition
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Monitor
Acer K272HUL 27" 1440p Widescreen IPS LCD Monitor
Keyboard
Logitech G110
Mouse
Logitech G500
Audio
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional 70SB088600002 Sound Card
Audio
Logitech Z5300e THX 5.1 Speaker System
CPU
Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.8GHZ on DEFAULT vCore!
Motherboard
ASRock Z68 Exteme4 Gen3 w/bios v2.10
GPU
Sapphire Radeon HD6950
RAM
GSkill Sniper DDR3-1600 - 8GB
Hard Drive
Plextor M5S Series PX-256M5S 256GB SSD
Hard Drive
Western Digital 1TB Green
Optical Drive
LG CH10LS20 Blu-Ray Drive
Power Supply
ThermalTake ToughPower W0128RU 650w
Cooling
Corsair H-50 Hydro
Cooling
Scythe Gentle Typhoon AP-15 1850rpm x2 on H50
Cooling
Aerocool SHARK 120mm RED x3 on Case
Case
Cooler Master Storm Scout
Operating System
Windows 7 Home 64bit
Monitor
Acer G246HYL 24" 1080p Widescreen LED IPS Monitor
Keyboard
Logitech G110
Mouse
Logitech G500
CPU
MOS Technology 6502B @ 1.79mhz!
Motherboard
Atari XL Series 8bit w/ 24K ROM
GPU
ANTIC/CTIA - Color Television Interface Adaptor
RAM
64K RAM
Hard Drive
Atari 1050 5½ Floppy Disk Drive
Hard Drive
Atari 1050 5½ Floppy Disk Drive
Hard Drive
Atari 1010 Cassette Deck Tape Drive
Cooling
One 12" A/C Desk Fan.
Operating System
DOS 3.0 on 5½ Floppy Disk!!
Operating System
Atari BASIC on 24k ROM!!
Operating System
Atari BASIC Cartridge!!
Monitor
Samsung 32" LCD Television
Keyboard
Built-In
Audio
Television Audio!
▲ hide details ▲
cjc75 is offline  
post #9155 of 9160 (permalink) Old 04-27-2018, 02:47 AM
Like a fox!
 
kithylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,056
Rep: 77 (Unique: 58)
Quote: Originally Posted by cjc75 View Post
So I am looking at maybe upgrading replacing my aging GTX 770 in the near future...

I have this one:
https://www.evga.com/products/Specs/...d-3eb5798e8a68

I also have two PC's here, and one of them is an older i5-2500K with an even older GTX 275 in it.
I plan to replace the 770 in my primary rig, and then use it to replace the old 275 in the second Rig.

The second Rig with the 275 has the following PSU in it:
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...2E16817153040R

My question is, can that PSU support my GTX 770... or will I also have to consider replacing it too?
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_o...rce_700_series

GTX 770 is only 230 watts. Your system is more than adequate for it.
kithylin is offline  
post #9156 of 9160 (permalink) Old 04-27-2018, 03:55 AM
Overclocker
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,544
Rep: 50 (Unique: 37)
Ok. Thanks! I wasn't sure if a 10 - 12 year old PSU would have enough juice on its 12v rail to support the demands of my 770.

CPU
Intel Core i5-4690K @ 4.7ghz
Motherboard
ASRock Z97 Extreme6
GPU
eVGA GTX 770 4GB FTW
RAM
G.Skill Sniper DDR3-1866 8GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 Pro M.2 Series 512GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO M.2 Series 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital WD1002FAEX 1TB 6.0GBs
Optical Drive
LG Blu Ray Drive
Power Supply
eVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2
Cooling
Corsair H105
Cooling
Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850rpm AP-15 x2
Case
Cooler Master Storm Trooper window edition
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Monitor
Acer K272HUL 27" 1440p Widescreen IPS LCD Monitor
Keyboard
Logitech G110
Mouse
Logitech G500
Audio
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional 70SB088600002 Sound Card
Audio
Logitech Z5300e THX 5.1 Speaker System
CPU
Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.8GHZ on DEFAULT vCore!
Motherboard
ASRock Z68 Exteme4 Gen3 w/bios v2.10
GPU
Sapphire Radeon HD6950
RAM
GSkill Sniper DDR3-1600 - 8GB
Hard Drive
Plextor M5S Series PX-256M5S 256GB SSD
Hard Drive
Western Digital 1TB Green
Optical Drive
LG CH10LS20 Blu-Ray Drive
Power Supply
ThermalTake ToughPower W0128RU 650w
Cooling
Corsair H-50 Hydro
Cooling
Scythe Gentle Typhoon AP-15 1850rpm x2 on H50
Cooling
Aerocool SHARK 120mm RED x3 on Case
Case
Cooler Master Storm Scout
Operating System
Windows 7 Home 64bit
Monitor
Acer G246HYL 24" 1080p Widescreen LED IPS Monitor
Keyboard
Logitech G110
Mouse
Logitech G500
CPU
MOS Technology 6502B @ 1.79mhz!
Motherboard
Atari XL Series 8bit w/ 24K ROM
GPU
ANTIC/CTIA - Color Television Interface Adaptor
RAM
64K RAM
Hard Drive
Atari 1050 5½ Floppy Disk Drive
Hard Drive
Atari 1050 5½ Floppy Disk Drive
Hard Drive
Atari 1010 Cassette Deck Tape Drive
Cooling
One 12" A/C Desk Fan.
Operating System
DOS 3.0 on 5½ Floppy Disk!!
Operating System
Atari BASIC on 24k ROM!!
Operating System
Atari BASIC Cartridge!!
Monitor
Samsung 32" LCD Television
Keyboard
Built-In
Audio
Television Audio!
▲ hide details ▲
cjc75 is offline  
post #9157 of 9160 (permalink) Old 04-27-2018, 11:10 AM
Like a fox!
 
kithylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,056
Rep: 77 (Unique: 58)
Quote: Originally Posted by cjc75 View Post
Ok. Thanks! I wasn't sure if a 10 - 12 year old PSU would have enough juice on its 12v rail to support the demands of my 770.
Well actually that I don't know and it's questionable. With capacitor degradation over time it may not work correctly.. a 10 year old PSU won't hold as much power as it originally did new. So it may actually not, even at 650 watts.. only way is to try and see.
kithylin is offline  
post #9158 of 9160 (permalink) Old 04-29-2018, 11:53 AM
voltage controller daemon
 
djthrottleboi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 5,919
Rep: 294 (Unique: 196)
Quote: Originally Posted by cjc75 View Post
Ok. Thanks! I wasn't sure if a 10 - 12 year old PSU would have enough juice on its 12v rail to support the demands of my 770.
Only one way to find out as there is no stable graph of degradation to follow. Try it out as the system should be able to work on 500w if its not overloaded with fans and hdd's and stuff.

"To be an expert is to know more and more about less and less." Albert Einstein

Club List (Click to show)Proper Thread Etiquette! (Click to show)
People when you come to a thread asking for help you should follow these steps in this order:
1. Know exactly what you looking for as this helps us help you.
2. Check the first page to see necessary steps and requirements and even rules/guidelines if there are any.
3. Read the last 5-10 pages of a thread to check for mistakes that others have made so that you will know what mistakes not to make.
djthrottleboi is offline  
post #9159 of 9160 (permalink) Old 11-15-2018, 08:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
marcgarcia322's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 230
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
hello looking for fans for evga 770 2gb sc any help
much appreciated
marcgarcia322 is offline  
post #9160 of 9160 (permalink) Old 11-22-2018, 01:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Tim Drake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 452
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Ok so 2 BIOS' only got me 1.162v and the MSI one got me 1.18v but my card has used 1.212v before and I can't seem to replicate it as I can't remember how I did it.

Any ideas?
Tim Drake is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off