[Official] EVGA Classified & K|NGP|N Owner's Club - Page 5 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] EVGA Classified & K|NGP|N Owner's Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #41 of 21407 (permalink) Old 07-22-2013, 03:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
pharma57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 436
Rep: 12 (Unique: 9)
@Strong Island1
I agree with your comments regarding the TI bios .... it works better with my SC ACX's and with boost disabled could get higher clocks, it could also have been because the TI bios was originally a SC ACX bios that was modified and not a "generic, one bios fits all models" bios. I did try the bios offered at this site (before boost change) and did not seem to be as flexible.

I'm surprised Skynt3 or this website has not developed a guide on how to make a modified bios with these few, "greyed-out problem" changes. In reality people would prefer to make changes to their own bios using either Kebler BT, and/or a Hex Editor.

Looking to join you in the stratosphere soon! thumb.gif

Edit: Using Kebler BT I was able to increase power target (in this case to 125 but could go higher) using original SC ACX eVGA bios available for download in eVGA forums. I could not change the TI bios since these were greyed-out. Not sure why it's a big secret about how to change "greyed-out" sections but someone soon will be helpful and let us know.
pharma57 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42 of 21407 (permalink) Old 07-22-2013, 04:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
maarten12100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Hillegom, Netherlands
Posts: 10,254
Rep: 369 (Unique: 231)
But how can you run the TI bios on a classified card as it has a custom pcb layout?
Mind is blown
maarten12100 is offline  
post #43 of 21407 (permalink) Old 07-22-2013, 05:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
pharma57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 436
Rep: 12 (Unique: 9)
Probably because the Classified has 2 bios - the (1st) bios is very similar to the 780 SC ACX and has similar power management settings. You can still get very good benchmarks with a modified TI 780 SC ACX bios, but will only get better once the LN2 bios is fully utilized.
pharma57 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #44 of 21407 (permalink) Old 07-22-2013, 05:18 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
maarten12100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Hillegom, Netherlands
Posts: 10,254
Rep: 369 (Unique: 231)
So it can emulate being a reference GTX 780 that is pretty neat.
If I wasn't planing on waiting for a card in q4 of maybe q1 2014 this would be the card for me.
maarten12100 is offline  
post #45 of 21407 (permalink) Old 07-22-2013, 08:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Purgatory
Posts: 2,280
Rep: 125 (Unique: 82)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pharma57 View Post

Probably because the Classified has 2 bios - the (1st) bios is very similar to the 780 SC ACX and has similar power management settings. You can still get very good benchmarks with a modified TI 780 SC ACX bios, but will only get better once the LN2 bios is fully utilized.

assuming that Ln2 bios utilized on Ln2 only? obvious answer, but wanted to be certain

Simplicity
provost is offline  
post #46 of 21407 (permalink) Old 07-22-2013, 08:46 AM - Thread Starter
jonnyblaze
 
strong island 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4,322
Rep: 134 (Unique: 88)
With the TI bios my card is still using 1.35v and all the pcb changes and extra power phases offered by the Classified. The Classified is only an evga acx sc with additional power phases and the opportunity to overvolt. So I really see know reason why the TI bios would hurt anything.

If a custom titan came out I am sure the Titan TI bios would still work fine and I am sure we would all use it. That is all I am doing.

For some reason the TI bios eliminated my throttling that I was getting with the LN2 stock bios and also the bios that another member sent me. The second custom bios someone sent me didn't throttle but I couldn't finish Valley at the same clocks I could finish with TI bios.

I really don't think just because I am using a reference 780 bios that it like by passes all the additional features the classified has and turns it into a stock 780. I am still getting 1.35v and the card is running exactly the same.

<div class="post-sig post-sig-limit shazam usersig-click"><div class="reparse-sig-lineheight"><div style="text-align:center;"><img alt="ph34r-smiley.gif" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/ph34r-smiley.gif"><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1411500/official-evga-classified-owners-club"><b><span style="font-size:12px;">EVGA CLASSIFIED &amp; K|NGP|N OWNER'S CLUB</span></b></a><span> </span><img alt="ph34r-smiley.gif" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/ph34r-smiley.gif"></div></div></div>
strong island 1 is offline  
post #47 of 21407 (permalink) Old 07-22-2013, 08:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
NoDoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 827
Rep: 21 (Unique: 20)
NoDoz is offline  
post #48 of 21407 (permalink) Old 07-22-2013, 08:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
LukaTCE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 846
Rep: 8 (Unique: 8)
No 14xx Ghz confirmed ? i was so happy every card will go 14xx Ghz
LukaTCE is offline  
post #49 of 21407 (permalink) Old 07-22-2013, 08:55 AM - Thread Starter
jonnyblaze
 
strong island 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4,322
Rep: 134 (Unique: 88)
I have been using the LN2 bios this whole time. The problem is at 1.35v 1359mhz core and 7450 memory the power percentage goes thru the roof. The LN2 bios caps at 115% and so I constantly hit 115% and the card throttles. Some people modded the LN2 bios for me but for some reason I was still hitting the new limit they set and it throttled again. All the sudden I decided to flash the TI bios and my throttling was completely eliminated. it disables boost 2.0 so I set the clocks manually in precision. As soon as I used that bios I finally finished Valley at 1359 7450mem, which was my highest run for the day at 84fps. If you check that score on the Valley thread it beats a ton of titans. That is all I did yesterday was flash bios's and test them. The TI bios gave me my best results yesterday. I still have a lot of testing to do.

That's why I really like this card. The last few cards I had I found the max clocks really fast. When you have extra voltage to play with it makes it a lot more fun because you can keep pushing your card. I can't wait until the evbot gets here. Although I think I am temp limited now. If I was hitting 80c yesterday I don't have much room left for extra voltage until the blocks come.

<div class="post-sig post-sig-limit shazam usersig-click"><div class="reparse-sig-lineheight"><div style="text-align:center;"><img alt="ph34r-smiley.gif" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/ph34r-smiley.gif"><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1411500/official-evga-classified-owners-club"><b><span style="font-size:12px;">EVGA CLASSIFIED &amp; K|NGP|N OWNER'S CLUB</span></b></a><span> </span><img alt="ph34r-smiley.gif" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/ph34r-smiley.gif"></div></div></div>
strong island 1 is offline  
post #50 of 21407 (permalink) Old 07-22-2013, 08:58 AM - Thread Starter
jonnyblaze
 
strong island 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4,322
Rep: 134 (Unique: 88)
Quote:
Originally Posted by LukaTCE View Post

No 14xx Ghz confirmed ? i was so happy every card will go 14xx Ghz

Nope. I have not gotten to 1400 yet. Yesterday I hit 1359 and +750memory which is pretty amazing I think with such high memory. I think this card is not great though, asic is in the 60's. I have another card to test also. I think with evbot and a waterblock I could hit 1400 with it.

<div class="post-sig post-sig-limit shazam usersig-click"><div class="reparse-sig-lineheight"><div style="text-align:center;"><img alt="ph34r-smiley.gif" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/ph34r-smiley.gif"><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1411500/official-evga-classified-owners-club"><b><span style="font-size:12px;">EVGA CLASSIFIED &amp; K|NGP|N OWNER'S CLUB</span></b></a><span> </span><img alt="ph34r-smiley.gif" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/ph34r-smiley.gif"></div></div></div>
strong island 1 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off