NVidia Maxwell/Kepler BIOS editing thread. GTX 2XX to 9XX now supported. - Page 224 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

NVidia Maxwell/Kepler BIOS editing thread. GTX 2XX to 9XX now supported.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2231 of 3737 (permalink) Old 05-10-2015, 08:58 PM - Thread Starter
165 Hz
 
Cyclops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada, Ontario
Posts: 5,167
Rep: 681 (Unique: 475)
Quote:
Originally Posted by strong island 1 View Post

I got it up to 1500 core but the core clock fluctuates since its such a light benchmark. In win 7 and 8 with firestrike it will run at the clock I set, especially with k-boost. But not in xp with 3d 01. I gotta keep trying to mess with it. I appreciate the reply

Again, that card doesn't have any boost functionality. If it did, it would have a TDP table.


No Bottlenecks
(22 items)
LAN Rig Revision 4
(21 items)
File Server
(10 items)
CPU
6700K @ 4.7 GHz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X Gaming 7
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 TI Sea Hawk EK X @ 2.1 / 12 GHz
RAM
32GB G.SKILL Ripjaws 3333 MHz 15-14-14-34-2T
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
Hard Drive
WD Red 8TB NAS
Optical Drive
Go away
Power Supply
Raidmax RX-700AT 80+ Titanium
Cooling
EK-FB GA Z170X Monoblock
Cooling
EK/MSI Waterblock/Backplate
Cooling
2 * Dazmode Darkside LP360
Cooling
MCP355 DDC @ 7V
Cooling
9 * Noctua NF-P12
Case
Fractal Design Define S
Operating System
8.1 Pro
Monitor
ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
Monitor
2 * BenQ GW2765HT
Monitor
LG 34UM58-P
Keyboard
Corsair Vengeance K60
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Mouse
HyperX Fury S Pro XL
Audio
Asus Xonar DSX
CPU
4770K @ 4.5 GHz 1.3V
Motherboard
Maximus VI Gene
GPU
ASUS GTX 1080 Reference
RAM
16GB G.Skill Sniper 2600 MHz 11-14-14-14-2T 1.65V
Hard Drive
Intel 750 400GB PCIe
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 8TB
Optical Drive
I will end you
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Cooling
Dazmode Darkside Maple Leaf Special Edition
Cooling
EK GTX 1080 Reference Block
Cooling
Feser TFC Admiral 240
Cooling
Black Ice GTX Xtreme M92
Cooling
6 * Silverstone SST-FN121-P
Cooling
2 * Noctua NF-B9 Redux
Case
NZXT Vulcan (With Attached Handle)
Operating System
8.1 Pro
Monitor
Dell S2417DG YNY1D
Monitor
Samsung U28D590D
Keyboard
Corsair Vengeance K60
Mouse
Logitech G500
Mouse
XTRAC PADS Ripper XXL
CPU
E5-2670
Motherboard
Supermicro X9SRA
RAM
64GB Samsung ECC 1333 MHz
Hard Drive
Mushkin Ventura Pro 32GB (Boot)
Hard Drive
10 * 6TB HGST Deskstar NAS (RAID Z2)
Optical Drive
I will harm you
Power Supply
Corsair RM650 (Passive)
Cooling
Corsair H60
Case
Fractal Design Define R5
Operating System
FreeNAS 9.10
▲ hide details ▲
Cyclops is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2232 of 3737 (permalink) Old 05-10-2015, 11:04 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
nickifroisig's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
hi can you unlock the voltage for my gigabyte gtx 770 oc 2gb here is the bios bios.zip 125k .zip file
i want to get pass the 1.212v op to like 1.300v or more if possible biggrin.gif
thaks in advance thumb.gif
Attached Files
File Type: zip bios.zip (124.9 KB, 5 views)
nickifroisig is offline  
post #2233 of 3737 (permalink) Old 05-11-2015, 10:08 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
flexy123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 233
Rep: 24 (Unique: 17)
Can someone explain something about the voltage table to me? I mean I am pretty familiar with MBT & BIOS editing now, but no matter how I change my voltage table, the card still ignores the upper entries in the voltage table when boosting down. It runs fine at the max clock CLK at 74, but when I reduce power target (for testing), it jumps down to CLK 62 when it wants to reduce voltage and ignores everything above. (When it boosts down in the upper CLK, 63-74 ranges it only changes freq but not volts)

It's like that the card "internally" still assumes it's at CLK63 (where it boosts to at default). No matter what I do, I cannot get the card to use the entire voltage table for "proper" downclocking over the entire range, 74 and down. Does anyone else notice this? (Shifting my max boost CLK to CLK 63 would mean I have to edit and increase V for the entire table which I dont want to). I dont understand this behavior.

Bios modding and flashing until the EEPROM smokes!! Yay!!
flexy123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2234 of 3737 (permalink) Old 05-11-2015, 11:23 AM
jonnyblaze
 
strong island 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4,322
Rep: 134 (Unique: 88)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyclops View Post

Again, that card doesn't have any boost functionality. If it did, it would have a TDP table.

ok cool man, thanks for taking a look.

<div class="post-sig post-sig-limit shazam usersig-click"><div class="reparse-sig-lineheight"><div style="text-align:center;"><img alt="ph34r-smiley.gif" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/ph34r-smiley.gif"><a href="https://www.overclock.net/t/1411500/official-evga-classified-owners-club"><b><span style="font-size:12px;">EVGA CLASSIFIED &amp; K|NGP|N OWNER'S CLUB</span></b></a><span> </span><img alt="ph34r-smiley.gif" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/ph34r-smiley.gif"></div></div></div>
strong island 1 is offline  
post #2235 of 3737 (permalink) Old 05-11-2015, 04:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
artins90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 39
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Guys I am having vdrop issues on my gtx 970 Windforce OC that came with bios F2.

I edited the bios and the max tdp now is 385W but the card still throttles, it drops 10-20 hz from the overclock I set and I could live with this abysmal throttling but the real problem is that when it throttles the voltage goes down to 1.190 v which is not enough to keep the card stable at 1550mhz. When the vdrop occurs I lose stability and I get random glitches.

This is the first time I have a card with decent ASIC 75,5% and I can't push it. I am going to attach my modified bios and my GPUz log . I tried multiple clocks above 1500 you can clearly see the vdrop in the voltage column, the TDP is well below 100% and I set the target temperature to 80 C° but the card doesn't go past 70 anyway. Please take a look at them and let me know if you find something wrong.

GPU-ZSensorLog.txt 227k .txt file OCmoto.zip 137k .zip file
Attached Files
File Type: txt GPU-ZSensorLog.txt (227.5 KB, 7 views)
File Type: zip OCmoto.zip (137.0 KB, 3 views)
artins90 is offline  
post #2236 of 3737 (permalink) Old 05-11-2015, 04:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
flexy123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 233
Rep: 24 (Unique: 17)
When your card(s) throttle...PLEASE either use MSI Afterburner (look at the "limiting" graphs) or GPUZ which you installed as a service. (Right click GPUZ in the middle of the title bar, there is an option "install"). Then GPUZ provides sensors with reasons that show why the card is throttling. Just from looking at your numbers I don't see why the card is throttling.

Bios modding and flashing until the EEPROM smokes!! Yay!!
flexy123 is offline  
post #2237 of 3737 (permalink) Old 05-11-2015, 04:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
artins90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 39
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
I had never installed GPUz before, I always used it as a portable exe. So the reason is logged as number 4 and in the graph it shows as Vrel.

EDIT: I figured out what was wrong, this is my first Nvidia card and things work quite differently from AMD cards. Basically I thought that the value inside the voltage table for each clock speed was already set so let's say CLK 74 was set to 1.128 I though the the GPU would automatically switch to that frequency once I set the clock in afterburner but that's not how it works, basically that is only the max value and the GPU doesn't use it unless you push the voltage slider in afterburner all the way to the right.

I was basically voltage starving the gpu, now with the voltage slider all the way to the right GPU z doesn't report Vrel anymore and the GPU doesn't downclock. However, the bios still behaves in a strange way, when Vrel occurs shouldn't it drop to the lower CLK voltage table? Mine goes straight to 1.190 v, it picks this arbitrary voltage out of nowhere, non of the voltage tables in my bios are set to 1.190.

How do you guys determine which is the lowest stable voltage with nvidia gpus?
With my 7950 I used OCCT error checking and I gradually lowered the voltage until the first error showed up and then I used to set the voltage on step above the one reporting errors and I tested it again until I found the lowest stable voltage. That card had only 1 clock to worry about but here there is an entire table to take care of, do you know any convenient way to find the best voltage for each CLK table?
artins90 is offline  
post #2238 of 3737 (permalink) Old 05-11-2015, 06:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
flexy123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 233
Rep: 24 (Unique: 17)
Messing with the voltage table and especially DOING IT RIGHT to not screw up down-clocking and the voltages for lower clocks is NOT easy, by a long shot. In fact, I don't think I haven't seen the "correct" way posted anywhere and I just figured this out and will post a tutorial here in this thread in a minute.

For testing I am using Heaven Benchmark on Ultra/Extra, Firestrike, 3DMark06, 3DMark11. I haven't found tools like OC Scanner, OCCT, Furmark etc. helpful these days. In fact, OC Scanner etc. doesn't find anything even if an overclock OBVIOUSLY fails. Therefore Heaven and the others benchies.

Bios modding and flashing until the EEPROM smokes!! Yay!!
flexy123 is offline  
post #2239 of 3737 (permalink) Old 05-11-2015, 07:38 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
flexy123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 233
Rep: 24 (Unique: 17)
*** Tutorial: Advanced BIOS Editing with Maxwell Bios Tweaker ***

Tweaking The Voltage Properly: Getting The Voltages Right All Across the Voltage Table

I am posting this since I haven't seen the "proper" way to do this yet. It took me a long time to figure this out.

One problem with MBT and the normal way of BIOS editing by setting the max stable clock at the last position in the voltage table 74 is that down-boosting for some odd reason will not function properly, at least not in the upper clock ranges, such as 74 down to 63. It seems that Kepler & Maxwell still want or expect their max CLK in the voltage table entry where the card is boosting to at default.

If you use the ENTIRE voltage table for your tweak as is often suggested, when down-boosting it basically "skips" the upper CLKs and (in simple words)...jumps way too low to the next entry with a lower voltage which is already in the 60s CLK range. What I wanted is to make a BIOS that not only holds an OC at desired voltage, but ALSO can boost down properly so it decreases the volts when it would need to. (OF COURSE, the card won't even throttle in a game since the main goal of our BIOS is of course keeping a stable overclock WITHOUT throttling. But I wanted BOTH, an overclock bios and proper throttling and proper voltages all across the CLKS, say if I force the card by setting lower power target. Here are my findings.)

* Requirement

You should have an idea of your max stable core clock and what voltage it needs. For testing I am using Heaven Benchmark on Ultra/Extreme, Firestrike, 3DMark06, 3DMark11.

Don't assume you need the max. voltage your card (VRM) can give to get your overclock. My card is an EVGA SC ACX2.0 which is limited to 1.212V. However, for my desired OC of 1506 I can go as low as 1.187V and this with a rather poor ASIC of 70%. When the voltage is tested (see above) there is no reason to choose higher since you will only use more heat, power, the card will throttle earlier etc..etc.

For my example I am using my desired OC of 1506 and my max. voltage of 1.187V.

* Here comes what is different to other Bios modding tuts:

Test your card at stock and stock bios and establish what its default max. boost clock is. For this you can use GPUZ, the render test, or any other test WHERE YOU KNOW IT DOESN'T THROTTLE. You want to know the max MHZ your card boosts at and at what voltage.

* In my case (and for many cards), they will likely boost anywhere from CLK 62 to CLK 70. A card with ASIC 70% for example will go to CLK 63, a card with ASIC 72% will go to CLK64.

* Look at your default max boost, say it's 1367. You look this up in MBT in the Boost Table and see 1367 is CLK 63.

What we do now, we're actually shifting our Boost Table in MBT so that our CLK 63 becomes our maximum, desired boost clock/overclock, like so:



In the "Common" Tab in MBT you set 1506.5 as Boost Clock and in the "Boost States" tab you specify your 1506.5 as well (see pic). (With most cards 1506.5 is actually already the maximum in the table, but it's possible your max. stable OC is less...or more. Then of course you use your number. I use my 1505.5 here since I tested this freq.




Switch to the "Voltage Table" tab in MBT. Now it's where it's getting interesting.

Since we shifted our entire boost table 11 or more notches "up", we need to adjust our voltage table.

You can ignore all the lower CLKs, the shifted boost clocks only affect clocks 35 and downwards.

Since our max. stable clock is at CLK63 (and not at 74 since we want to have the card "proper" boosting down if it would need to) we set everything from CLK 64 and down to 74 to a "crazy high" value like 1600. This, and the limit we specified earlier in the "Boost States" tab makes sure the card will never go beyond CLK 63.




Getting the voltage table right (from our max CLK with our max overclock down "upwards" upto CLK 35 sure is a thing I could write a book about. I must have tested here for weeks. But I found the "easiest" way is actually the best way to do it:

* FIRST, make sure that all values in the voltage table that are higher than your max. desired voltage ARE changed to your max. desired voltage.
In your voltage table, there will be many sliders on the right going up to 1281.3 or higher even. Change all those to 1187.5
(This is important since when the values exceed your max. voltage the card won't use the entry)

(Setting your max voltage BELOW your max.possible voltage also has the advantage that your card won't ever throttle due to voltage limit! As I mentioned earlier, it has several benefits NOT using your absolute max. voltage and is usually not even needed!)

Now, we're already ignoring all those at the bottom which I set to 1.600V since we don't use anything beyond CLK63.

Now you adjust the sliders on the LEFT, the so called "entry voltages".

CLK 63, your last valid entry in the table I set to 1.187V - 1.187V (both values the same).

Now you go upwards on the left and while you go up, with each step you decrease the left slider by ONE NOTCH.


This is why I said "easy" since this is easier than figuring out some elaborate curve. You simply go up the table on the left, one value less with each step and you do this from 64 upwards to and including CLK35. (Everything above ignore again since we only shifted boost CLKS which go from 35-74)

(I found only one little notch better than a steeper curve since with a steeper curve you might end up supplying CLKs at the lower end not enough voltage. Just going up and one notch less each time seems to be just right. As said, this is a topic where one could write a book about smile.gif )

For the sliders on the right, note that the last 18 or so up from 63 are all at the maximum 1.187V.

(You can also look at your stock bios and imagine that we just shifted the entire boost table 11 notches up and can look at the default bios. In my case, in the stock bios, the last 18 entries are LARGER than 1.187V. And now we shifted it so entry 74 has become 63, entry 73 has become 62..and so forth. This so you understand sort-of what I did).

*** Last but not least, of course we adjusted our power limits in the BIOS as well. I don't go into detail there since this has been covered many times elsewhere.

If all went right, you now have a bios that will have your max. OC stable, without throttling....but it CAN throttle down properly if you want to. Say, you can test this running a Benchmark and then run the Benchmark at 100% , 90%, 80%, 70% Power Target etc. and you will see how it will decrease volts/clocks..and most importantly...IT WILL BE STABLE also at the lower clocks. With other ways to mod BIOS, it will not decrease voltages properly at higher clocks. I tested many times with max boost clock at CLK74, but was not satisfied how it downclocked without reducing volts)

Bios modding and flashing until the EEPROM smokes!! Yay!!
flexy123 is offline  
post #2240 of 3737 (permalink) Old 05-12-2015, 04:32 PM
Like a fox!
 
kithylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,056
Rep: 77 (Unique: 58)
I'm looking for someone with experience with the new maxwell bios's that might could either do what I ask for me, hopefully.

I was thinking of getting one of the EVGA GTX 960 FTW 4GB cards, does anyone have any information on these cards?

One of the biggest thing I want with these cards is -DISABLE BOOST COMPLETELY-, no "variable clocks", I want it to jump right to max boost all the time when I go play a game or load a benchmark. I don't care how much power it uses or if I have to run the fans at 100% or 80%, if that's what it needs I'll do it.

I'm coming from a pair of GTX 470's that when I load a game they go straight to 850 mhz and just run there no matter what, regardless of how hot it is, or how much power it draws, it has one "under load" clock speed and never changes. That's what I want from the new cards.

Basically what "KBOOST" in EVGA PrecisionX does, but KBOOST disables gpu load % monitoring, so I'd rather do it via bios instead so I can still monitor it.

Is any of this even possible?

I also plan to do deep overclocking, and hopefully raise the thermal throttle to something like 90c, so it doesn't throttle from running hot. I don't care how hot it runs, gpu's don't take damage until they get to 90c+, so there's no reason to let a card "throttle" before that. I'm hoping for at least mid-1500's clock, and try to get it near 1600 if possible. A friend of mine has a msi gtx 960 2GB and he has his stable at 1580 mhz with just afterburner, so hopefully I should get near that or maybe if I fiddle with bios and raise power limits a little and such, get a bit more. At least I'll do my best to push it as far as it can and remain stable.

I have a 1000-watt power supply and the only other things in the system are 3 x 7200 rpm hard drives and a xeon version of the i7-920 @ 4.4 ghz, so power isn't an issue.
kithylin is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off