NVidia Maxwell/Kepler BIOS editing thread. GTX 2XX to 9XX now supported. - Page 225 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

NVidia Maxwell/Kepler BIOS editing thread. GTX 2XX to 9XX now supported.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2241 of 3758 (permalink) Old 05-12-2015, 04:58 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DeathAngel74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Next to the evil monkey in your closet!
Posts: 5,380
Rep: 267 (Unique: 141)
Everything you want to do is possible. I did it with my 960 and 970, once I sidegraded. Check out the bios, you can see I am running my 970 almost exactly like you want the 960 to run.
1569_GTX_970_baked.zip 234k .zip file
Attached Files
File Type: zip 1569_GTX_970_baked.zip (233.9 KB, 33 views)
DeathAngel74 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2242 of 3758 (permalink) Old 05-13-2015, 01:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
flexy123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 233
Rep: 24 (Unique: 17)
Kithylin,

I know what you're saying and where you coming from, but with a proper BIOS mod or depending on the card, it won't throttle anyway. I mean goal of any overclocking is not only to find your max. stable OC a card can handle..but of course also to keep it, also in demanding games. If boost would be completely disabled you would only end up with silly disadvantages like your card running at full speed the instant you open a browser etc....or running at full speed when you idle at the desktop. Why would you want this?

What could you want more than .. say....you find your card makes 1580...and then you run ANY game or ANY benchmark...and it will keep the 1580. (So basically if you increase power target, possibly rise temp limit if you think that's needed too...you basically already 'disabled' boost because there won't ever be a situation where it throttles). (Look, here I could also mod my entire PC so my i7 CPU and the GTX running at full speed the second I turn on my PC...I wouldn't have any advantage from it whatsoever, in fact I would have a much higher power bill, more noise, heat etc. for nothing...performance in games would be the same)

Bios modding and flashing until the EEPROM smokes!! Yay!!
flexy123 is offline  
post #2243 of 3758 (permalink) Old 05-13-2015, 08:02 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
DeathAngel74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Next to the evil monkey in your closet!
Posts: 5,380
Rep: 267 (Unique: 141)
If your card is running at full speed at the desktop, then you don't have a "proper" bios mod. Also you can use nvidiainspector to prevent your browser from using the full speed of your gpu all the time. I disabled boost and my card idles @ 135/324mhz/0.8620v at the desktop and while browsing with IE11 and hardware acceleration turned off. The card will only run at 1569(or whatever your max stable oc is) during benchmarks or game if you set the 3d clock and boost clock to the same frequency. Noise and heat can also be dealt with at the bios level or setting a custom fan profile in oc software. I don't even use oc'ing software anymore, everything I need is managed by the bios that I edited myself. If you do your homework, research and have a little common sense, anything is possible. I see your point though for those who have a low ASIC score. Make due with what you have and what works best for you.
DeathAngel74 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2244 of 3758 (permalink) Old 05-13-2015, 02:04 PM
Like a fox!
 
kithylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,206
Rep: 80 (Unique: 61)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathAngel74 View Post

If your card is running at full speed at the desktop, then you don't have a "proper" bios mod. Also you can use nvidiainspector to prevent your browser from using the full speed of your gpu all the time. I disabled boost and my card idles @ 135/324mhz/0.8620v at the desktop and while browsing with IE11 and hardware acceleration turned off. The card will only run at 1569(or whatever your max stable oc is) during benchmarks or game if you set the 3d clock and boost clock to the same frequency. Noise and heat can also be dealt with at the bios level or setting a custom fan profile in oc software. I don't even use oc'ing software anymore, everything I need is managed by the bios that I edited myself. If you do your homework, research and have a little common sense, anything is possible. I see your point though for those who have a low ASIC score. Make due with what you have and what works best for you.

This is what I was looking for and I know now it's possible, so thank you.

That's how my 470's work, they're idle 2D in windows, like 140 mhz normally, at least the second one is, and the first one sits around 450 mhz. And in web browsers they run around the same, jump up at first then throttle down.

It's possible to have these new cards throttle down during 2D and web browsing, but go to full speed (1 full speed mind you) during 3D/Load. Also what I -do not want- is one of the "features" of the new cards is this random clock bull****tery, where the clock speeds change up and down during gaming just because the cards get warm or some crap. Probably to keep the fans quiet and the power usage low. I don't care about none of that nonsense, if I have a gaming video card it's going to be powerful, or I'll make it powerful. That means program it for as much power usage as it can take, overclock it as far as it will go and run there all the time, and run the fans higher if necessary.

Probably not what everyone wants, but It's what I want to "get the most out of my hardware". Even a "maxed out" gtx 960 is going to use less than 1/4 of the power my two 470's do right now, so that's great, for me.

And I've played with a 2GB version from a friend in a LGA-775 computer with a 12MB quad chip @ 3.75 ghz and I know already that even the 2GB version is going to do the same as my 470's do @ DirectX-9, and lots faster at DX-10 and DX-11 stuff. So.. it'll work for me, and I just need to change em from "how they are normally" in to how I want em, hopefully with a bios mod.
kithylin is offline  
post #2245 of 3758 (permalink) Old 05-13-2015, 06:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
flexy123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 233
Rep: 24 (Unique: 17)
That the card clocks down *if you want to* or if it would be needed is indeed a feature. As mentioned, with a "proper" mod "disabling boost" is not necessary... I want to KEEP this feature, at least this is why went through lengths in my boost earlier explaining how to mod properly without setting some silly, "static" clocks.

What I do when I mod a bios and test: I run very demanding Benches like Heaven Benchmark and in particular Firestrike. Be assured if your power target is set "just right" so it's below 100% in, say, Firestrike, it won't EVER throttle in any game. Out of the box, on default, I admit that some cards may "unnecessarily" throttle since their TDP etc. is set a tad too low, but then Boost also has the feature that you can adjust power target in addition with a slider, or you simply increase it a decent amount in the BIOS should your card's power limit be on the lower side. And almost any BIOS mod means that power target is also increased anyway.

Having to use K-Boost or setting static clocks and "disabling" boost I cannot really see as a smart solution. You do not need to set a static clock for Kepler/Maxwell "to get the max out of your hardware".

Temp throttle would only happen once you hit 85C. Should you ever hit 85C, it's not a problem of Boost...but of your cooling and/or your case. I personally would not want to "mod around" so it doesn't throttle once I were to hit 85C...but then rather look into solving the problem (heat) in the first place. I cannot see ANY Kepler/Maxwell hitting 85C, not even my EVGA SC GTX 970 with it's "meh" cooler..so temp throttling would only ever occur if some significant hardware problem exists like cooler not sitting right or your fans defective or something...

Bios modding and flashing until the EEPROM smokes!! Yay!!
flexy123 is offline  
post #2246 of 3758 (permalink) Old 05-14-2015, 02:03 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Varsis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 16
Rep: 0
GM204.zip 136k .zip file
Stock Poseidon Gtx 980 bios.


This one seems to be locked at 1.212v
I was hoping to get some help to pop that if its possible. Anyone able to point me to the light?
Attached Files
File Type: zip GM204.zip (136.1 KB, 0 views)
Varsis is offline  
post #2247 of 3758 (permalink) Old 05-14-2015, 01:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Rickyrozay209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 61
Rep: 0
Maybe someone can help me out here. I'm currently running my msi 970 with afterburner with a core clock +186 and memory at +500 (1527mhz/8000mhz) with no voltage increase (1.218) and has been stable for the last 2 months with temps never going over 65c and needless to say I'm happy with the results.

However I wanted to try and push the card a bit more but have no idea where to start when it comes to bios modding, so if someone can start me off in the right direction I would appreciate it.


here's my stock bios GM204.zip 137k .zip file
Attached Files
File Type: zip GM204.zip (136.9 KB, 208 views)
Rickyrozay209 is offline  
post #2248 of 3758 (permalink) Old 05-17-2015, 03:22 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
sycron17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 41
Rep: 0
Hello guys..does someone already modded the bios of the 980 Strix?

What kind of results came out?

I7 [email protected]||8GB G.Skill Sniper||Z97 Maximus VII Hero||GTX-980 Strix||256GB SSD&1+3TB HDD||600w E10||Obsidian [email protected] Wings 2
sycron17 is offline  
post #2249 of 3758 (permalink) Old 05-18-2015, 02:25 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
fermthe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 25
Rep: 0
Hello friend. Can i send you a bios from GIGABYTE GTX 980 G1 Gaming gpu ?
Thanks in advance
fermthe is offline  
post #2250 of 3758 (permalink) Old 05-18-2015, 06:02 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
DeathAngel74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Next to the evil monkey in your closet!
Posts: 5,380
Rep: 267 (Unique: 141)
@fermthe,
go here and download the latest bios rev., i think its v7. open both and copy the settings with Maxwell II bios Tweaker from v7 to your bios.
https://www.overclock.net/t/1544574/gigabyte-gtx-980-g1-gaming-h2o-bios-tweaking
DeathAngel74 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off