HOWTO: nVidia BIOS Flashing - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

HOWTO: nVidia BIOS Flashing

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 507 (permalink) Old 01-31-2007, 10:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tampa
Posts: 1,133
Rep: 115 (Unique: 81)
could you guys suggest a performance based bios for 7600gt (xfx and bfg)...also would crossflashing different SLI rigged cards to same bios be overtly stupid?

HOLY CRAP!!!eek.gif
Its my first build/mod log...thumb.gif
***DELIDDING: A HOW NOT TO***
***DELIDDING pt2: A How to after how not to-ing***
pɐǝɥ ǝɥʇ uı ʎʞuoʍ sı ɹǝǝuoıd ...ʇsɐısnɥʇuǝ 939 ʇǝʞɔos
Poser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 507 (permalink) Old 02-05-2007, 05:53 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: In your computer
Posts: 423
Quote:
Originally Posted by USFORCES View Post
GeForce 7 & 8 Series cards
First some cards have 256mb and 512mb make sure get the correct BIOS, you can cross flash cards like using a BFG BIOS on a eVGA it works some people do it As long as both cards are the same like 8800GTS & 8800GTS, but I prefer to use eVGA BIOS on a eVGA card ECT.

I've only ever had one bad flash when flashing a FX5900GS to a FX5950ULTRA but I had a backup and flashed it back.

1. Download the correct BIO's file you need here NVIDIA BIOS LINK

2. After it's downloaded Rename this file to 1.rom

3. Download this program nvFlash v5.38 nvFlash LINK

4. Unzip nvFlash v5.38 create a folder on your desktop paste all of it in the folder it should look like this,



5. Install a floppy in my computer right click it format and reformat it for MSDOS then open it.

6. open the folder with the nvFlash,cwsdpmi and the new bios 1.rom copy and paste them to the floppy, now the floppy should look like this,



7. Restart the computer with the floppy in.

8. Making a backup once you get to MSDOS and see the {A:\\} prompt next to the prompt type, nvflash -b backup01.rom (This Backs up your stock BIOS, just in case you have to flash it back)
IT' ALWAYS A GOOD IDEA TO CHECK THE FLOPPY TO MAKE SURE THE BACKUP TOOK



9. Normal BIOS Flash, next to the {A:\\} prompt type, nvflash -5 -6 backup1.rom This should flash it if it doesn't you force flash it.

10. Force flashing, next to the {A:\\} prompt type, nvflash -4 -5 -6 backup1.rom
That's it remove the floppy and restart, DONE


Now if for any reason something went wrong you have the backup on the floppy so you just do step 9. again with nvflash -5 -6 backup.01R flashes it back to stock.

nvFlash v5.38 Commands...
"nvflash -b backup.rom" (Backup your BIOS)
"nvflash -5 -6 backup.rom" (Normal BIOS Flash)
"nvflash -4 -5 -6 backup.rom" (Forced BIOS Flash)
Lol Korndog2003 posted this in the faq section of this site sometime ago
Das_GroBe is offline  
post #13 of 507 (permalink) Old 02-06-2007, 09:05 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
USFORCES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: IN, Abox
Posts: 8,505
Rep: 554 (Unique: 419)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Das_GroBe View Post
LoL Korndog2003 posted this in the faq section of this site sometime ago
He didn't post this one because I wrote this one,

I searched for Korndog2003 in the faq section he doesn't give you enough details if you ask me, try FLASHING it the way he tells you and see what happens...

https://www.overclock.net/faqs/97340-...ht=Korndog2003
USFORCES is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 507 (permalink) Old 02-07-2007, 10:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Captain_Cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Hey guys,

Quick question - My GFX card is a XFX nVidia GeForce 8800GTX 768MB DDR3 Dual DVI/TV Out (PCI-E) which has so far been oc'd with Rivatuner to 605 / 982.

Anyway i was looking through the XFX bio's category on mvktech.net, and found this one - XFX 8800GTX (XXX) PCIe 768MB - Rev 01 which was submitted on 08 January 2007.

I was wondering what benefit would this actually bring flashing my xfx card, and is it actually recommended for someone who knows very little about oc'ing. Also can we trust that the bio's files from mvktech.net are actually geniune and not half arsed files that could seriously damage our cards.

Thanks

CC
Captain_Cannon is offline  
post #15 of 507 (permalink) Old 02-09-2007, 12:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Nelly1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 88
Rep: 0
is there any way of doing this through windows or do i have to do it in msdos

I have a Gainward 7800GS+ AGP 512MB the 8255 version and my standard clocks are 450/1250 and should be 500/1400 Gainward say they sent some cards out with the wrong bios mine is 5.71.22.12.GP and i have found 5.71.22.12.03 i assume it should knock it up to the proper settings and looking at the 71 i think this means G71 chip which should have 24 pipes and 8 vertex so will i be able to unlock the 4 pipes i'm missing.

http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=146861
(\__/)
(='.'=) This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your
(")_(") signature to help him gain world domination
Nelly1 is offline  
post #16 of 507 (permalink) Old 02-09-2007, 12:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Nelly1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 88
Rep: 0
Using NiBiTor i found that the bios is the same 1 that i've found so there is no point flashing that is there.

http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=146861
(\__/)
(='.'=) This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your
(")_(") signature to help him gain world domination
Nelly1 is offline  
post #17 of 507 (permalink) Old 02-09-2007, 12:33 PM
Retired Staff
 
Robilar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 20,306
Rep: 675 (Unique: 477)
You have to do it in dos only. the only benefit to flashing bios on an 8800gtx would be to go to a factory overclocked bios (this will invalidate your warranty if the card dies before you have an opportunity to flash it back).l Also, you can overclock the card manually.

Home PC
(13 items)
CPU
Intel G3440
Motherboard
Asus B85M-E/CSM
GPU
EVGA GTX 950
RAM
Patriot Viper 3 - 2x8GB 1600hz
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 850 - 500GB + 4TB x2 / 3TB x 2 - WD
Optical Drive
LG CH12LS28 Bluray
Power Supply
Corsair CX430 V2
Cooling
Scythe Big Shuriken 2 w/Corsair SP120 Fan
Case
NMEDIAPC HTPC 6000B w/ Pro LCD Module
Operating System
Windows 10 64 Bit
Monitor
Samsung 75" TV....
Keyboard
GooBang Doo MX3
Mouse
GooBang Doo MX3
▲ hide details ▲
Robilar is offline  
post #18 of 507 (permalink) Old 02-09-2007, 12:35 PM
In VB's Basement
 
ENTERPRISE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: England,UK
Posts: 63,996
Nice an Informative.

Good work.


Need help with your account or something forum related ? Please use our Contact Us form



ENTERPRISE is offline  
post #19 of 507 (permalink) Old 02-10-2007, 07:18 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Nelly1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 88
Rep: 0
Cool, now i've sorted my standard clock settings they should have been 500/1400 but Gainward reckon they sent out some with the wrong bios so i ended up with 450/1250. Now all i need to do is unlock the 4 pipes i'm missing. How do i do that?

http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=146861
(\__/)
(='.'=) This is Bunny. Copy and paste bunny into your
(")_(") signature to help him gain world domination
Nelly1 is offline  
post #20 of 507 (permalink) Old 02-12-2007, 11:24 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
USFORCES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: IN, Abox
Posts: 8,505
Rep: 554 (Unique: 419)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robilar View Post
You have to do it in dos only. the only benefit to flashing bios on an 8800gtx would be to go to a factory overclocked bios (this will invalidate your warranty if the card dies before you have an opportunity to flash it back).l Also, you can overclock the card manually.
It doesn't void eVGA's warranty,
I like it because I don't have to mess with it, also it's good for vista since you can't OC with vista yet.
USFORCES is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off